2002 Diamante

Consumer Reviews

2002 Mitsubishi Diamante

$384 - $7,768  MSRP Range
2002 Mitsubishi Diamante

Review Score

3.6 out of 5 stars

3.6

8 Reviews
75% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Mitsubishi Diamante?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car!

by LRV from on Sat Jul 17 2010

I have owned one for over 4 years and have NEVER had an issue with it, but I have also kept up with my car's maintenance on a regular basis. Have already gotten 127k miles on it and plan to run it until it breaks down. This is higher mileage than I have seen on many other car models!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Comfortable Highway Cruiser

by Devon from Bowie, MD on Fri Mar 16 2007

Refined and unique is one way to describe this car. No other car in this class looks quite like a Diamante. From its frameless door glass, quad headlamps and sneaky look, this is a nice looking vehical. The interior is very spacious, with more than enough room to carry four 6 footers in comfort. Controls are placed in the proper area's and the electro-luminescent gauges provide excellent illumination at nighttime and in direct sunlight. Noise levels are kept to a minimum, as is shift shock. Performance is pretty good for a car of this size and weight. Off the line response and merging are done quickly and smoothly. The engine has a deep authoritive exhaust note, sounding great and smooth all the way up to the redline. About 7.8 seconds gets you to 60mph. Improvements should've been done to the transmission. The tranny sometimes wont downshift into a lower gear when you need sudden bursts of power and the interior could use 8 airbags instead of four. The engine could use another 40 horses and navigation system would be nice as well as auto up/down on all four windows. Again ,this is a great car to own, if cruising around the highway or around town is your thing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Used Car.

by Benazar from Michigan on Tue Aug 25 2009

I bought my 2002 Diamante about 2 years ago and fell in love, I was a solid GM man but after having this car for the past 2 years I will never go back. True the resale is bad but you can get a great price on them now. I have had great luck with mine and would not trade it in for anything on the road right now..... Maybe a Lancer in a few more years ... I will drive this one til the end and have no plans on selling it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good rig

by Bill from spokane wa on Thu Aug 15 2013

had this 02 dia for 6 yrs 81000 had no problems untill i got to the 143000 mark the trans went out cant complain i know a lot of people with diff cars whith trans problems alot sooner on the ticker the trick is to keep up on the maint its been a good car and for its period dont know of a better lux car in its class with better quality record

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mitsubishi Diamante LS

by Nate from St.cloud, MN on Mon Jun 05 2006

The Mitsubishi Diamante LS is a smooth ride. No problems, great gas mileage, luxury, performance, reliability, what more can you ask for?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst car I've owned

by 67 mustang from houston, tx on Sat Mar 14 2009

looked at the Diamante in 1992, bought an Acura instead. 2002 decided to go with the Diamante, worst decision I made. Ride is rough, lots of road noise, tires changed out, no differnce. no resale value. I would not recommend this car.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Comfort, versitel Town Car .

by T.H.Hill from Dallas on Sun Jul 23 2017

This town car is of a simulation ,of Lexus and Jaguar ,Smooth ,great on gas .ok ,as like Burick Country Car .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Outdated idea of a lower-end luxury sedan

by Mitsu-Bee-Shee from New York on Thu Aug 24 2017

This was my first car. I found it had a lot of technical problems and there was not a lot of support to get it repaired as it was already discontinued when I owned it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1