2002 Lancer

Consumer Reviews
2002 Mitsubishi Lancer

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

22 Reviews
2002 Mitsubishi Lancer
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4.1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

I like it

by Ken from NY on October 8, 2009

Just bought my 02 lancer oz a week ago. ALways loved the look to them. The best thing about the car is the handleing, i love it. Wish it was faster, but thats what aftermarket parts are for. Comfort, it's alright, i have to get used to the seats, but everything else is fine. Cars at 102xxx miles now and runs fine. You won't be disapointed.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned

by Dee from Four Corners on May 16, 2012

I was originally interested in this car when the salesperson told me it got 33 mpg. After buying it, I returned two weeks later to inform the salesperson that he was wrong because the car was getting 37/40 mpg. It has the original engine and transmission, never broke down along the road, handles well, looks good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

just got it

by funmaxx from santa rosa ca on February 14, 2010

I test drove one about 4 years ago and love it, I didn't have the money until the next day and when i went to get it it was gone but now i have one and love it. It might not win alot of races but its the driver that dose that and the aftermarket parts that you can get and i have a list already, its a good starter car for some one that wants some thing inexpensive and fun to drive, and some one that is looking for a car to build on this is the one for you

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

its a good starter car

by steve from on September 2, 2009

the lancer is a great car, but the problem is the performance. a 120hp 4g94 engine is not really eye popping,but there are alot of aftermarket parts for the lancer. the suspension is really great for a fwd car, the interior is great also. i just think if they put a little more power into the car people would buy it. and its a good starter car for a high school hot rodder.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing ride for a low cost!

by Little joe from Minneapolis,Mn on November 22, 2011

This car is amazing. It runs smooth. Gets great gas miles. The shocks are great. They make the best shocks and struts for asian cars. I wanted a corolla but not now. After I tested a lancer I was just amazed by it's handling and high power mivec 160 hp engine. Ding it was fast & furious. This car won't dis any body who want a fast little sucker. Leave you in the dust!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Shane from on November 29, 2008

This car is great... had it since it had around 90k miles. It now has around 108k. The Transmission was giving me trouble right when I had 100k but I put some transmission fix/helper in it and it has fixed most of the problems. The car does run higher on RPMS now and burns more gas than I think it should be. Other than that this car is great! It handles so well! I would reccomend this car if you can find it below 90k!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned

by Driver from Here, USA on August 25, 2008

Bought in 2004 and have had NO problems with it (other than routine maintenance). I drive my cars hard and this one has taken everything in stride and is still running great at 100K+ miles. Fuel economy is unbeatable at around 32/hwy and 26/city. Not a big engine, but designed to seem much bigger than it is. Great car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

kenny

by kenny from madera, CA on July 13, 2006

it is a great car i would recommend it to anyone. I had no problems with it and it was fun to drive.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lowest Maintenance Cost of All My Peers

by Charde from Chapel Hill, NC on August 14, 2013

I am the second owner bought in 2004 my freshman year of college. I have owned the car for nearly 10 years with little to no problems, other than basic maintenance (tires 1x, steering wheel cover, fan belt etc.). In those ten years, I have witnessed several friends buy new and used cars all of which have since had extended stays in auto-repair shops, brands include Honda, Toyota, Chevy, Ford (most mainstream basic run-of-the-mill brands), for all kinds of odds and ends I had never even heard of setting off the check engine light for. Many have had problems beginning after 40K mi and repeatedly after 5 years at which time they sell - buy new. I have never had a reason to, I cruised on right by those problem milestones and just had my 100K mi birthday this past year with no problems present or expected. :D The manufacturer has many service stations and even replaced the catalytic converter at no cost. I do not expect any problems in the near future, I just wanted to express my complete satisfaction in this car. Also, my brother bought a Corolla for the same price a year later (2004), and i must admit, my grill-style-dashboard are much more attractive. Often in a grocery store parking lot, surveying for my car, I have thought to myself - hmm, that's a really nice-looking car ;) it's so cute and just looks very nice in comparison.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE AND MISS MY LANCER

by lancer lover from Houston,TX on April 13, 2014

The Lancer was my 2nd car I've ever owned. I bought it back in 2003. Ran like a dream. This car can take a licking and keep on ticking. I drove back and forward from Houston to New Orleans at 6 times. Then in 2005 I moved from Houston Atlanta all in this lil wonder. PS I moved back to Houston with the same car. This car was also in 2 accidents and still worked like a charm, before it was totaled by an Expedition. Had about 150k miles I would buy this car over again in a heart beat

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2002 Mitsubishi Lancer