2005 Lancer

Consumer Reviews

2005 Mitsubishi Lancer

2005 Mitsubishi Lancer

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

9 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2005 Mitsubishi Lancer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've ever Owned

by A. from on Wed May 11 2016

Let me tell you a quick story. I've had the pleasure of owning this car for many, many years. Not only can she conquer any terrain with ease (the mountains of Pennsylvania, the arctic tundra that is Illinois, the dessert that is Florida, etc) but she also does it with both style and comfort. I have never had any problems with this vehicle, she is built to last--better than a Toyota even. If you take good care of her she'll take good care of you. This car can even exceed 200,000 miles, trust me I know. This car has been through many potholes, black ice situations, storm like situations and she overcomes all. If you want a champion, a reliable steed, then look no further--this is your car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by james from florida on Thu Jul 03 2014

owned many cars but the lancer has been perfect. over 100k miles and only thing I have done is change the oil and belts.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The best car i have ever owned

by white gost from brodheadsville PA on Fri Jan 25 2008

i have the Ralliart and i love the car, it is fast i went over 130 and it didnt even feel like i was going that fast. it also takes the turn so good it is just all around a good car. ps good on gas only 25 dollers to full up at $3 a gal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This was my first car and I LOVED it.

by me on Wed Oct 25 2017

I really loved this car. It's a 2005 but feels newer. It is super easy to drive and comfortable. It was my first car and I loved it. I bought it for $3500 with over 140,000 miles which was a steal for a car this nice. It had no signs of wear and tear at all. Highly recommend this car if you can get your hands on one! I miss mine so much.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A far better car than I'd hoped for

by Bruce B from Chehalis, WA on Sat Jun 03 2017

In 2012, I had a Ford Ranger pickup that was adequate but uncomfortable to drive, so I traded it in on a 2005 Lancer O-Z Rally automatic. It had nearly 160,000 miles and I wasn't familiar with Mitsubishi's car lines so it was a roll of the dice at the time. Five years and 55,000 miles later, I have nothing but good things to say about this car. It's an attractive ride, a white 4DR yet rather sporty-looking with a spoiler in back...one of the easier-on-the-eyes cars I've had. Nothing really stands out but it looks good. The interior is pretty roomy, especially the legroom up front. I'm 5'9" so don't need a lot but there's more than enough. Have been told there's decent room in the rear seats. Front seat is comfy and easy to adjust. The steering wheel can also be adjusted so your positioning while driving is not a problem. Stock stereo isn't super, but speakers seem to handle about 30-40 watts apiece and are more than adequate. While it isn't huge and doesn't open into the back seat area, the trunk is fine and holds a fair amount of luggage, et al. The engine is a 2.0-liter 4-banger running on 120 hp. It doesn't roar (although it can get a little noisy like many 4-cylinder engines), but has more power than you'd think. Just to see how fast it goes shortly after I bought it, I hit 108 mph before backing off but it felt like I could've taken it higher (note to police: I haven't done it since). It can take hills pretty easily as well. I often use cruise control and it works well. The MPG is so-so; I generally get 31 per gallon on the highway, 26ish in town. The thing that stands out for me is that in the five years I've had it, there has NEVER been a problem with this car. Oil change every 5K miles, a periodic tuneup and an A/C charge (the A/C works well, BTW), and that's pretty much it. All in all, since I didn't really know what to expect, this is easily one of the best cars I've ever owned for many reasons. I've considered trading it in on a 3/4-ton or 1/2-ton long bed pickup to put a camper on, but I'm holding off because it makes so little sense to get rid of a car that's been a better vehicle in almost every way than I'd hoped for when buying it. Why let go of that?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best 10 years with this car

by DarkBee from Seattle,Wa on Sat Mar 18 2017

I had the Lancer Oz Rally version and it was fantastic. It was bright Yellow with dark tint and black wheels. I owned the car for 10 years and over 100k miles, with no major repair to it. I add several modes to the Lancer and they were easy to install with great output. Drove this car cross country and in ever condition and it still held up great. Also being 6'3 in that small car, still had leg room for the driver. Got enough room in the back seat of the car if you and someone else wanted to have fun back there lol.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ES Sport Style-N-Profile

by Vinnie V from Maryland on Fri Nov 21 2008

Great Car for the value. Comfort zone is a plus for my never ending painful back. Plenty of room for the lady and our 2 teen boys. Plastic looks a little on the cheap side but the plastic is strong and never broke from our boys abuse. The engine is a little louder than the normal 4 cylinder cars, but it is not a big issue with a 5 speed manual. Handles better than the Mazda 3 and Civic SI... Interior style is different from the rest in the mid level car. Give this car a try. I Love it and I am glad I bought this rather than the civic or the Mazda 3.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR, awesome buy...go get it.

by West Virginia OZ rally lover from Barboursville, WV on Mon Nov 24 2008

I currently own this same car "in lightening yellow. I bought mine 2 years ago. Still haven't had any problems with it. "Reason why there aren't may for sale? because people are still getting their moneys worth out of them. I get great gas millage (up to 40 interstate) and last i filled up it cost me a whole $21. I love that. I drive this car everywhere, threw the mountains (takes curves well and has awesome control going up and down steep hills) and threw the busy city (which millage drops to about 35 MPG) GREAT factory speakers. I had the automatic and i hardly hear the engine except in the cold mornings when it has to warm up. I work and go to classes day and night. Im a college student. Having a compact car that's reliable like this has been wonderful for me. Every day i have to parallel park at least two times. The only down fall for me was that taking long trips in the car could get uncomfortable if i was driving over 2 hours or more. WORD of advice. Once you do buy one, careful because even with a 4cylinder, its hard to tell how fast your driving that little beast. So quiet and so smooth.I'm surprised i've never gotten a ticket. its a complement pleaser too..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great

by people from Davis, CA on Sat Apr 24 2010

got a 05 lancer for $6400 great deal for its price stylish design good performance but average on comfortable

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1