2015 Outlander

Consumer Reviews
2015 Mitsubishi Outlander

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

26 Reviews
2015 Mitsubishi Outlander
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Roomy Comfortable Reliable

by Mitsubishi Believer! from Chicago, Il on July 21, 2016

I purchased this car in 2015 and absolutely love it. I live in the Chicago area and use the car for long vacation road trips. It has been to Winnipeg Canada and back. It has been to Orlando Florida (twice) and back. It has been to Kentucky-Ohio a few times, Mississippi and back and it has been completely reliable. The car was loaded with 4 passengers, coolers and luggage and we got incredible gas mileage sometimes reaching 31 mpg hwy. I don't need a lot of bells and whistles however the heated seats is nice in the winter. The drivers side cabin area is laid out well with everything at your fingertips. Went to the Chicago Auto Show and looked at all SUV's. Because of the storage we decided on the Outlander and am very glad we made the purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top pick of all suv's

by Dave from Liberty lake on March 20, 2017

We just got back from a 4000 mile trip to California. Got between 30 and 35 mpg. The quietest interior of them all. I researched all suv's for two months to pick our Mitsubishi Outlander. We bought the 2.4 cylinder with the CVT transmission. The motor has a lifetime steel timing chain. No belts to replace. Super easy to change oil and filter in driveway.. 100,000 power train warranty. The wife and two small dogs and I can sleep in it also. It's has the third row seating . We got the front wheel drive model and have been driving in snow all winter. All this for twenty thousand dollars plus tax and license. We had the drivers seat heated for $250 aftermarket and our outlander is perfect. (For us)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, great value

by 4th Mitsubishi from TX on December 12, 2014

We had bought a new 2004 Outlander and never had any problems with it for 175,000 miles. So we bought a 2015 Outlander. It has a 10 year 100k powertrain warranty. We got the SE model which has the back-up camera, 18" alloy wheels, a FAST key for keyless entry and starting, heated seats, and dual climate zones. We also got the premium package with leather seats, sun roof, 710-watt Rockford-Fosgate sound system, power tailgate, etc. We went with the 4 cylinder which is rated 31 mpg highway. It has a eco mode to save gas. It is slow in eco mode but you can give it more gas to go faster or push a button to take it out of eco mode and then put it back in eco mode when you get up to speed. If you need to pass someone it has the power to get up and go. The 2.4-liter 16 valve 4 cylinder engine has 166 hp and 162 lb-ft of torque. It has a continuously variable transmission (CVT). Contrary to some of the reviews, the transmission is quiet and smooth. All the Outlanders have the 3rd row seats which we did not want, so we just leave them folded down. The ride is smooth and the seats are comfortable. The controls and hands-free phone are easy to use. We think it is very stylish. We only have 1200 miles on it and have not had any problems.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It was a great fit for our family

by Juan-cas from Knightdale, NC on December 31, 2015

I own a 2015 Mitsubishi Outlander since summer of this year, we needed a bigger car with the option to sit at least 7 people to move around with our visitors. We are exremely pleased with this car so far, it is very confortable and versatile, you can actually sit 7 adults and all of them confortable, The gas mileage is amazing. Since we you don't have a lot of trunk when the 3rd row is open, I installed a cargo roof box and it solved the problem. We love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Put your foot into it and you will like it!

by Rick O from Ohio on September 1, 2015

I really like my Mitsu. I had to learn to put my foot in the gas peddle to get it reving to between 4-5k rpms to get the performance. In town if I'm jumping through an intersection I slap the stick over in sport mode and it helps a LOT for beating traffic etc. I just traveled to KY with 4 large adults and blasted right up a very steep hill increasing speed as I went up it. Get on the gas.. People who don't think it is fast don't know how to drive it. I am also 6' 4 and near 300lbs. and I fit ok in it. One of the few I did fit in. I love it.. too soon to tell on reliability so could only give it 4 stars. A lot of features though for the money. Apples to Apples it is the best value and looks pretty good too.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You will NOT be disappointed! BUY IT TODAY!

by Too Trendy Chic Mom of 2 from Chicago on April 9, 2015

I am totally blown away by my new Outlander! It is such a perfect family car for the perfect family price! It has a third row, the Bluetooth, backup camera, IPOD station...etc..etc... I LOVE it! It rides so nice, there is so much leg room. I have two carseats in the second row, and there is still so much room! The push start, and push button on the handle to unlock the car is so helpful, especially when I am juggling two little ones, my purse, and shopping bags....I also decided on getting the 10 year bumper to bumper warranty offered.. PLUS 5 years 24 hour road side assistance! Run out of gas, call them, have a flat?, call them...this is through Mitsubishi...what a deal! The ECO MODE is fabulous, and the touch screen radio is perfect. I really like how the dash is simple, but everything you need is at your finger tips.. the voice activation system works perfectly! If considering buying this one, go ahead and get it! You will lOVE IT! Very happy buyer!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2015 outlander 2.4 liter AWC

by Mitsubishi believer from Minneapolis, mn on September 6, 2014

1000 miles into ownership. Commuting 36 miles one way in city and interstate roads. On the interstate averaging 70 the cabin is quiet and very comfortable, being 6 ft I have great head room and love sitting up. View of the road and blinds spots are good. Handling is solid and responsive. MPG, so far in mixed city roads and freeway getting 25, in normal front wheel drive mode. Freeway driving this thing is pushing 30 and it is still so new. The CVT provides nice torque from a dead spot and passing it is good. The inside materials are like most cars, lots of plastic. The SE model has all the toys I need for this commuter vehicle, nice stereo, heated seats, power windows, locks and really easy to use steering wheel controls. If have not thought about Mitsubishi, you should take a hard look. 5 year bumper to bumper or 60k warranty plus a 10 year, 100k power train warranty is really nice. I've been a Ford guy for sometime, looked at an Escape but they are expensive, a little confining and the core warranty is not even in the same league as the Mitsubishi. CRV and RAV4 are nice and you can't go wrong with either, but the Outlander is every bit a match to them and if you take one for a drive you probably will buy one. Hope this helps you make a decision.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Much more of a car than the older GT

by AJ from Louisville, Ky on June 11, 2015

I owned a 2010 Outlander GT and now have the 2015 version. Never mind what Car and Driver or Edmounds or Consumer reports says, the 2015 is a significant improvement, quieter, smoother and can get up and go when needed. Third row seats while still not large are now really usable for small kids. I put 70K miles on the 2010 and all I needed to replace was tires and brakes, the first time in all the many cars i have had over my 55+ years f driving. The 2K rebate from Mitsubitshi was a nice bonus as well. They should have advertised that a lot more loudly than they did. This car came with the Lane Warning feature and while philosophically I can see its usefulness, in reality it is like having a 2nd wife in the car .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It might be an SUV but I call it my "BoneBus"

by AnytimeAnywhere from LOS ANGELES on January 31, 2017

Great car for doing the deed with the wife while the kids are at Soccer practice. Do you like to Bone with plenty of room to spare? Get an Outlander.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my SE 4x4, not the "eco" option

by NZ from kansas city on April 24, 2015

First off, beware what size the engine is... My Galant has the same size engine as my new Outlander (I have the SE 4x4 model). So I knew it would be sluggish. Driving with the "eco" on irritates me, because it takes off super slow, forget about passing quickly on the hwy, and if you are on an uphill... somebody needs to get out and push. So... I pushed the button to turn it off and it's much better. Another option you have to speed it up, is switch it from D to Ds (sport), which revs up the engine by at least another 1000 rpm and THEN it goes when you push on the gas pedal pretty fast. It's very stylish, elegant, comfy ride. I love the backup camera and the blue tooth for my phone. Also, the 4x4 has a few options on it as well, like "snow" and I don't remember the other two. The crash test results were good, and had a very good ground to clearance (which comes handy when the snow plow comes and piles snow you have to drive over. Before I decided on this particular car I also researched the Honda CRV and the Toyota RAV4. They have more powerful engines, but are lower to the ground and have less passenger volume. So far I have only 1200 miles on it, so in a few years I'll update my review. I have a 9-year old Galant, so so far I've been very happy with Mitsubishi performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2015 Mitsubishi Outlander