2001 Altima

Consumer Reviews
2001 Nissan Altima

Change Vehicle
4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

23 Reviews
2001 Nissan Altima
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Back is Ugly, but It's a Great Car

by Cutie01 from Fort Lauderdale, FL on May 31, 2007

This car is the most reliable car I've had. I love the fact that it has cruise control which really helps on gas cause I travel on the highway a lot. Another thing that is great about this car is that I have trunk access from inside the car which also makes for more trunk space when needed.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Loran from RI on October 22, 2009

Purchased car used in the spring of 2008 with about 85,000 miles. Now has 108,00 The only problem has been a wheel bearing that went, certainly normal wear and tear. I fully expect to get it to 200,000 or more. Awesome car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Almost zero maintenance

by Tom from Lynchburg, VA on February 10, 2013

I've owned this 2001 Altima GXE for 80,000 miles(it now has 140,000 miles). Got as much as 32 mpg on the 4 cylinder. Replaced the intake gasket(common problem due to one hot cylinder) and the alternator. Been a wonderful car and obviously treated me right. Thanks Nissan!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A Smoooooth ride in a Mid-Size Car

by Style from Los Angeles, CA on July 19, 2006

The Altima is a nice vehicle. I have the GLE and it is like riding in luxury. When people get inside, they compare it to the Lexus IS300. It is very sporty like as well as luxurious.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ive bought so far

by opened my eyes a bit from Ithaca, NY on September 28, 2013

bought my altima used for cheap! with 98k on the dash. have put 10k since then. never had a problem with it. the rear deck feels a little smushed, and the car seems sluggish at times, though the mere addition of a cold air intake ($60 or so) seemed to pep it up. great car, definitely a fan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A very reliable car

by Roy from Spokane on July 31, 2007

My 2001 Nisssan Altima has never had a mechanical problem and currently has 81,100 miles. I have changed all fluids and filters myself according to the maintence manuals (factory) and have changed all belts once.. I have no complaints about this car purchased new in Mrach 2001.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top quality Nissan

by Bama Rob from Madison, Al on June 9, 2017

This car is like Jason Vorhees, it won't die. The engine is still strong after 16 years & the body is in impeccable shape. I haven't had to replace any parts under the hood beyond the spark plugs & wires. If you treat this car nice, it will serve you twice as well. The maintenance is cheap & the car is easy to work on yourself. It's a perfect car for someone that's just starting out. The only drawback to this Altima is how low it sits to the ground, it's sport car low for no reason.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No repairs auto

by I want a Jeep Cherokee from Souther Nevada on January 1, 2013

This car has never needed road repairs. It has always had unequalled preventative maintenance. It has 207K miles, and many, many more left. I do not want to sell it, however I must now start going into hills off road in my treasure hunting hobby so I need a 4 whell drive Jeep Cherokee.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by George from Hudson, OH from Hudson, OH on November 28, 2009

I leased this vehicle in 2001 and purchased it after the lease expired. I just surpassed 231,000 miles and would like to keep driving it but feel it's time for a new Altima. The only maintenance has been oil changes, brake pads, wiper blades, belts and hoses. This is a great vehicle and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Owned

by Love the Altima from Northern Kentucky on July 15, 2010

Bought the car in 2001, slightly used, on a lease agreement. Purchased the car at the end of the lease and finally paid it off a few months ago. It is without a doubt the best car that I've ever owned. It has just over 100,000 miles on it and unless something unforeseen happens, we plan on keeping on keeping on with it. Repairs have included regular maintenance, new axles and belts and that's about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3