NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Altima

Consumer Reviews

2019 Nissan Altima

#6 Most Popular Sedan
$24,000 - $35,750  MSRP Range
2019 Nissan Altima

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

108 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Nissan Altima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 108 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

Beware if you drive in bumper to bumper traffic!

by francoamerican from Buckeye, AZ on Tue Mar 26 2019

I loved my 2013 Altima S. I have not been happy with the 2019 Altima SR. When in bumper to bumper traffic, the car does not coast well and constantly "downshifts" (CVT) and creates a jerky ride and it's even worse if you accelerate before coming to a complete stop. It's terribly frustrating and disappointing. Make sure you test drive at speeds below 20mph while stopping and going. I've taken it in for service twice and there was some improvement after 2nd visit but still not great. The driver's seat is very uncomfortable if you are not a petite or "skinny" person. Noticeable after 15 minutes or so of sitting in the seat. The side of the seats are raised and very uncomfortable to me so I have to sit on a small pillow to prevent pain in my legs. Interior design and technology is great.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable and functional so far

by Alsoon from Burbank, IL on Thu Jun 06 2019

I just owned this car 3 weeks ago and have driven it around 400 miles so far. It is pretty comfortable and each button is easy to touch. Also pretty good gas mileage. I like this car a lot except some kind of little annoying engine sound when it starts. Smooth handling, suspension and braking. Very nice car generally.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Blows me away!

by Nissanlover from Bristol, TN on Sat Apr 27 2019

This is my first ever new car. For someone who has worked for several dealerships, this is my favorite car! I loved my 01 and now i love my 19! Its incredibly comfortable and stylish! I actually dont like the propilot option like many folks do. It messes with the tranny performance. I love the speakers in my SV with the windows down and sunroof open. Its a pricey car but worth it. I think they could make their warranties better like other manufacturers but of course its a reliable nissan

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfort/Styling/Performance

by Mikehawk from Dallas Texas on Sun Jan 27 2019

This car checked all our boxes. Feels like a luxury car. The exterior redesign sold me. A great value for all the options you get.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Mountain man from Roanoke, Virginia on Thu Nov 22 2018

Great look, great gas mileage and smooth ride. The display screen is a nice size and responsive. I would recommend this vehicle for someone who especially has long commutes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Handles very well and is sporty with a lot of room

by Lovemycar60 from House Springs Mo. on Mon Feb 04 2019

I had my Altima for 5 days and then found myself going home in a snow storm. It handled beautifully !! Still getting to know my car but I couldn’t be happier. I also think it has about as much room inside as my other car did.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great sedan

by Joel860 from New Britain,CT on Sun Dec 02 2018

Exterior better up grade from previous years and the plus side is AWD as well as comfortable . Apple car play is a plus cause I saved a few grand instead of upgrading for nav

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sportier than any other

by Svbg16 from Gulfport, MS on Thu Nov 08 2018

The car has a very sporty interior and exterior. The ride is very smooth. It has all of the features that I could ever want or need.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever purchased.

by DGoodie from Birmingham, Alabama on Sat Jun 15 2019

I think that Nissan and Toyota are to of the most reliable vehicles anyone can own and I’m proud to be the owner of a new 2019 Nissan Altima!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most dependable car I've ever owned.

by Pastor W from Norfolk, VA on Tue Apr 16 2019

This car exceeds all of my expectations. Smooth, quiet and comfortable ride. Impressed by all of the new technology! This is my fourth Altima and I am a forever customer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2019 Nissan Altima

The verdict:

The redesigned 2019 Nissan Altima packs much-needed technology and drivability, but some versions shine more than others.

Versus the competition:

Stuck playing catch-up to its redesigned rivals, the overhauled Altima hits a lot of the right notes, and it’s a vast improvement over its predecessor. Whether that sparks enough interest in a sedan in an SUV-mad market remains to be seen.

Available in six trim levels with two engines and front- or all-wheel drive, the Altima gives shoppers a smorgasbord of variants. The availability of AWD — a first for the nameplate — distinguishes Nissan in a largely front-drive class. We tested three Altimas: a mid-level front-drive SV and well-equipped AWD Platinum, both with the base 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine, as well as a loaded Edition One with the Altima's uplevel engine: a turbocharged 2.0-liter four-cylinder that replaces last year's V-6. The 2019 Altima is on sale now, with prices ranging from about $25,000 to around $37,000.

Exterior and Styling

Nissan's sixth-generation redesign is all grille with... Read More