Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 Frontier

Consumer Reviews

2008 Nissan Frontier

$5,554 - $16,006  MSRP Range
2008 Nissan Frontier

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

33 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Nissan Frontier?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best value for my money

by trini42 from Ft Lauderdale, FL. on Sat Oct 02 2010

100% satisfied with my 2008 Nissan Frontier. It is definitely the best value for my money in mid-size pick-up trucks. Very powerful and very reliable. The only slightly negative is the back seat can be a bit too upright in respect to comfort.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1st Nissan truck I've owned

by L. C. from Tennessee on Mon Aug 30 2010

I agree with several other reviews about all the plastic. Other than the seats and the arm rests, everythind from the floor to the glass is plastic, dash and door panels. And there is almost no console or driver's right arm rest. Love the styling and overall looks tho. Nice peppy pick-up / acceleration, good handling, and fairly comfortable. Haven't checked gas mileage yet. Idles a little roughly while stopped and with the A/C on.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A good truck

by Curaga from OKC, OK on Sun May 04 2008

The Nissan Frontier is a good truck for the money. The 4.0 is very smooth and the 5 speed shifts very well. It does however lack power in the low end, and cannot hang with most trucks in the 0 - 60. The fully boxed frame is very nice to have if your towing or hauling. And the truck handles the road very nicely. The interior is horrid IMO. To many plastics and everything scratches to easly. The seats are confortable and the room is nice. The Frontier does lack some features like aux input, trip computer (on SE trim), Locking Diff, stablilty control. But it does make up with a few standard features like utility bed, bed liner, 4 - wheel disc brakes. Pros: - 4.0 VQ engine is awesome - My MPG is 17.5 with a 4.0 Crew Cab 4x4 with auto - utility rail system in bed. - interior room is great for big guys like me - Fully boxed frame - A great value on price compared to the Tacoma which cost 5K more Cons: - To many interior plastics - Center armrest is a joke - Turning radius is horrid

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sporty and Useful Go Anywhere Truck

by OddsNEnds from Honolulu, Hawaii on Thu Apr 24 2008

2008 Nismo Frontier CC 4x4 4.0L V6 5 Spd Auto - owned 1 month Performance on and off road is excellent, smooth and fun to drive on pavement. Acceleration is more than I expected, peppy off the line and more than enough power to pass on the freeways. Off road, it won't disappoint as well. Especially with the locking rear differential. It's high clearance, bigger 32" BFGoodrich tires and Bilstein shocks help as well. Interior is a little plain looking with a lot of plastic trim. But, imo, most of the Nissans are made this way. I am planing to fix this issue with a dash cover and trim kit, so, no big thing, imo. The big plus in the interior is that it is much more roomy than it's previous model. I owned a '03 crew cab before purchasing this truck, at 6'3" and tipping 250+ lbs., I could not fit in the back. Even with someone smaller driving with the front seat up, I had a hard time sitting up straight due to head room issues. Now, that is solved, I can fit in the back. With the wife driving I have great leg room and can comfortably sit up in the back seat without my head touching the headliner. Front interior is also more roomy as well. Overall, a solidly built truck with the best of performance that Nissan offers, for a mid size class truck. (if you want a more refined look the LE will be where to look)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nissen Frontier LE 2008

by Engineer17358 from Atlanta on Mon Mar 12 2012

With the exception of gas mileage on the V6, am very impressed with the truck. The jump seats on the King Cab are essentially useless, should have an option to delete and just have flat space behind front seats. Ride is good and seats are comfortable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nissan has what I needed

by truck to buy from st paul , minnesota on Mon Dec 05 2011

great truck especially after being a ford guy. I like it even as a small size truck and has more interior for those in back seat than oter truck I researched. great handling and good service records for the long haul.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by Bubba from Alabama on Mon May 02 2011

Plenty of power, 22-24 mpg, very comfortable, pulled a utility trailer with no problem. Nissan requires a full 30,000 mile maintenance but its worth it for a great running vehicle. Well designed with two glove boxes. As i read from other reviews you must account that for wide steering but that is about it. I like the dealership and the folks are very professional.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Frontier-Solid, fun and power packed

by Truck man from Augusta, GA on Mon Jan 07 2008

This is my first frontier and I love it. It handles well and is very fast from the stop light. The only changes i would suggest is that the power seat controls be recessed and that the armrest be extended towards the dash a bit. I really like the powerful V-6 and the suspension gives it a sedan- like ride.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

4th review @ 59,000 miles and 6.5 yrs of ownership

by white knight from cedar rapids, iowa on Fri Oct 24 2014

Still a great vehicle, Wide turning radious. very reliable. Not one mechanical failure in 6.5 yrs of ownership. This is the XE 4cylinder,& manual tranny,2wd.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not too big Not too small Just right

by First Time Nissan Owner from Honolulu on Sun Jan 27 2008

Just bought the 2008 V6 Frontier SE and man am I pleased. It is a solid well handling truck that has a very smooth ride. Acceleration is quick and responsive. Cab is very quiet. Minor downsides: The rear seating area is a bit cramped but I use it for storage anyway - The interior is a bit plastic and very utilitarian - Right arm rest needs to extend out further

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4