2017 Frontier

Consumer Reviews

2017 Nissan Frontier

$14,114 - $36,655  MSRP Range
2017 Nissan Frontier

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

92 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Nissan Frontier?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 92 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Purchased from excellent product reviews

by Jim and Lisa Seahawk Fans from New Symrna Beach, FL 32168 on Tue Jan 30 2018

Our new truck is so comfortable and rides like my BMW sedan! Our personal mechanic of 14 years recommended the quality of the Nissan Product.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nissan Frontier

by joshran from Fredericton, NB on Wed Mar 29 2017

I almost bought a Ridgeline but with the financing deal and the dealer add-on's I saved almost $6000.00 by choosing the Nissan, I don't regret it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2017 Nissan Frontier SV 4.0L engine

by chevimp58 from lakeland, fl on Tue Jun 19 2018

2017 Nissan Frontier SV 4.0L engine. Good performance--oversized tires will be expensive when replaced. --industry trend is oversized tires with oversized rims. do not like a tire for a pickup that is more trendy than usable. vehicle has good space inside--room for 4. Bed is small--but extender for gate works nice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Family Man from Los Angeles on Fri Jun 30 2017

Overall the Nissan Frontier is a great truck. It's 4 cylinder engine gets good gas mileage. It has a long bed to haul most items. However, I wish Nissan had allowed more arm space to access the reclining lever on the driver's side of the seat. When the door is closed, I find it difficult to reach the lever due to narrow space. Time to get rid of the CD player.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck Ever

by doughobbsfl from on Mon May 01 2017

I love the versatility of this Truck ,it keeps everything in the right place and allows the versatility of a car for easy driving and parking.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Took it for a test drive

by droadrunner from erie pa on Wed Mar 21 2018

The frontier is a nice simple Mid size truck . Not everyone wants the latest hard to understand Trucks , we were looking for something simple for an older family member that has a good reliability rating , it doesn't get much simpler than a 2wd King cab Frontier , It was new and had great rebates , He is happy with his new truck .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable! This is our second Nissan Frontier!

by SandraM - bama fan from Bessemer, AL on Sat May 06 2017

This vehicle is perfect for us. We have the extended cab so there is always room for grand-children. And the hauling capacity meets our everyday needs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my Frontier!

by JDP from McGregor, Texas on Thu Feb 01 2018

Quiet, car like ride, quick response, love the Bluetooth audio for my iPhone playlists, my fave vehicle out of my 10 previously owned..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

More Truck than the competitors

by Wayne from Embrun on Mon Jul 23 2018

Unbelievable value. Great handling, ride and styling. Interior is dated but does the job. Gas mileage @ 9.0 lt/100 is far better than reviews would lead you to believe. It's quiet and solid, a real truck compared to it's far more expensive and gadget ridden competitors. Usual high quality Nissan fit and finish.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my truck

by funsize from Winnpeg on Mon Aug 13 2018

I just bought this truck, so far I am really pleased with it. I do personally want to get a Tonneau cover for it tho for my personal preference. Leg room in the back is not for a tall person. otherwise I am satisfied with my purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2017 Nissan Frontier

The verdict:

The off-road Pro-4X version of the Nissan Frontier is more suited for slopping around in the mud or exploring trails than for daily use.

Versus the competition:

The Frontier is many years outdated, lacking the refinement, features and versatility of other mid-size trucks, but it is inexpensive.

The new Nissan Frontier is the last small, affordable pickup truck. Its starting price of just $19,365 (including destination) is the equivalent of an entry-level Honda Civic or Toyota Corolla but with rugged utility and a bed. It's a classic case of "you get what you pay for," however, with a dated, small interior lacking the refinement, features and quality found in the Chevrolet Colorado, GMC Canyon, Honda Ridgeline and Toyota Tacoma (that is, all the other mid-size trucks).

That may sound damning, but the Pro-4X off-road variant I drove is actually a lovable little truck. The Pro-4X is a classic off-road package with meaty tires, off-road shock absorbers, skid plates, a two-speed transfer... Read More