2017 Frontier

Consumer Reviews

2017 Nissan Frontier

$18,390 - $36,800  MSRP Range
2017 Nissan Frontier

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

87 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2017 Nissan Frontier?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 87 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Purchased from excellent product reviews

by Jim and Lisa Seahawk Fans from New Symrna Beach, FL 32168 on Tue Jan 30 2018

Our new truck is so comfortable and rides like my BMW sedan! Our personal mechanic of 14 years recommended the quality of the Nissan Product.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nissan Frontier

by joshran from Fredericton, NB on Wed Mar 29 2017

I almost bought a Ridgeline but with the financing deal and the dealer add-on's I saved almost $6000.00 by choosing the Nissan, I don't regret it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my new Nissan Frontier!

by DollerBill from Bethesda Md. on Fri Feb 02 2018

My Frontier has more power, four wheel disk breaks and a smooth comfortable ride that is better than my last truck. The powertrain and V-6 engine are great. The frontier handles very well in the city and excellerates fast on the highway.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2017 Nissan Frontier SV 4.0L engine

by chevimp58 from lakeland, fl on Tue Jun 19 2018

2017 Nissan Frontier SV 4.0L engine. Good performance--oversized tires will be expensive when replaced. --industry trend is oversized tires with oversized rims. do not like a tire for a pickup that is more trendy than usable. vehicle has good space inside--room for 4. Bed is small--but extender for gate works nice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Family Man from Los Angeles on Fri Jun 30 2017

Overall the Nissan Frontier is a great truck. It's 4 cylinder engine gets good gas mileage. It has a long bed to haul most items. However, I wish Nissan had allowed more arm space to access the reclining lever on the driver's side of the seat. When the door is closed, I find it difficult to reach the lever due to narrow space. Time to get rid of the CD player.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Took it for a test drive

by droadrunner from erie pa on Wed Mar 21 2018

The frontier is a nice simple Mid size truck . Not everyone wants the latest hard to understand Trucks , we were looking for something simple for an older family member that has a good reliability rating , it doesn't get much simpler than a 2wd King cab Frontier , It was new and had great rebates , He is happy with his new truck .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable! This is our second Nissan Frontier!

by SandraM - bama fan from Bessemer, AL on Sat May 06 2017

This vehicle is perfect for us. We have the extended cab so there is always room for grand-children. And the hauling capacity meets our everyday needs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

What a Truck should be, a Truck.

by Frontier Guy 23 from Hollins, VA on Fri Aug 17 2018

2017 Nissan Frontier SV 4WD Crew Cab Review For those looking at a midsize truck there are plenty of great options out in the market from the Chevy/GMC Colorado/Canyon, Toyota Tacoma (Taco), the upcoming 2019 Ford Ranger and the Honda Ridgeline platform. As many of you readers already know the Frontier hasn?t seen a major refresh since 2004 and whiles that might be boring to many, it indicates a few things about this Nissan D series platform. First, the pricing. Since most of the dies for the Frontier have been long paid for in the mid 2000?s, the Frontier is truly America?s Best Value in a truck regarding price. Second, it?s quite reliable, I mean beyond the normal complaints and small issues that any sort of vehicle might have, the Frontier in many ways is like the Taco, solid, reliable and overall good. Now, the Frontier is not going to give you the ?wow? factor like many of the competitor models will provide you, many professional car reviewers online will tell you that the truck is seriously outdated and for 2018 they?re right. But honestly, the Frontier is doing something that most of the others are forgetting, simply being a truck. In a world filled with car tech, as people flock to SUV?s rather than cars, the Frontier is a truck-truck. A truck is supposed to haul stuff, not ride like a Cadillac. If I wanted froo-froo bells and whistles, then get an SUV like the rest of America. Exterior This SV trim level is a run of the mill level trim that comes with a few features, the model I purchased came with a tow package, 4-wheel drive, cargo lamp and bedliner. The overall body of the truck is pretty good, but its not an aggressive design like the GMC Canyon in my opinion. It?s not going to wow your friends when you drop into their driveway, but then again, a truck is supposed to be a truck, rough, rugged, feeling the road bumps and heavy. Yup, Frontier does just that. This model is a 4-door crew cab and the doors are pretty solid, more so than the Honda Ridgeline and Chevy Colorado I tested before buying it. The facia is right in line with that V motion look Nissan is trying to build across the model lines too. Powertrain The Q series 4.0 liter V6 powerplant is a pretty nice motor, it?s actually the same block at what?s in the 370Z and some of the Infiniti products they make and it?s a pretty solid motor. Making 261hp and 285pft, the engine in the Frontier is going to allow you to tow some decent RV?s, boats and trailers but nothing serious, that?s where a full sized truck comes into play. The transmission, while proven pretty solid over the years could really benefit from being a 7 or 8 speed in 2018, but still uses the 5 speed automatic. Now its not a bad tranny, but it does hurt the wallet with your mpg. Around the city I get about 17 and on the high recently on a 250-mile trip to Williamsburg from Roanoke I was scoring 24mpg. EPA rated 17/21 which is right in line with what I?m getting on average. (Used less than � tank of gas btw) Those numbers are bad today but 8 years ago they were standard with the midsize truck market. Interior Inside the cab you will find a dated interior with hard plastics and faux metal trim, unlike others in the market. The trim reminds me of the recent Tacoma trim just perhaps a step behind it. While you will find some great features inside the truck, the next Frontier will seem lightyears ahead when they debut it for the next generation. My model same standard with tilt wheel, wheel controls, 4.3? screen with XM radio, no backup camera but I put one in myself for about $45, A/C, power windows and door locks, keyless entry, rear windows, power windows and a few other small creature comforts. The Pro4X which is a couple of trims ahead of this adds some other features like leather, heated seats, nav, dual climate controls and a sunroof. The thing I do like about the Frontier is its rugged insides. Most people don?t like the hard plastics, but I do, it?s easy to wipe off with the dust or dirt when you take it off roading. Off Roading Speaking of off roading, I can say without a doubt the SV trim is just as capable as a Jeep Wrangler Sport or Sahara edition, even without lockers (those Jeeps don?t have them either) you will find yourself being able to keep up with them just fine. Now, a Wrangler with lockers like the Rubicon, no the SV Frontier will not be able to keep up but upgrade to the Pro4X and you?ll be on equal footing with it on paper and in the field. The shift on the fly 4WD is nice and well suited for the truck, I?ve used it several times without any major issues. You do need to put it into neutral for 4WD Low then put it into drive, but nothing major. You will be surprised that the 4WD system is better than Chevy and GMC and on equal par with Tacoma. My only real complaint here is that I wish it wasn?t a switch and an actual lever. The Fronty is actually far more capable than the Chevy/GMC counterpart, especially on it?s entry angles when hitting the backroads. In many ways the Frontier is like having a truck frozen in time and for people that don?t really need a 125 way power adjusting seat or a climate zone for each of your passengers then this is the truck for you. The Frontier isn?t for everyone, I get it. But I wish manufactures would keep trucks, well truck like. The Frontier reminds me of why I wanted a truck to start with. It?s got a great price point compared to the others (I noticed that the Frontiers would sell faster on the used lots than the Tacoma?s), it has just enough features to make me happy and I can haul stuff, the main point of a truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck Ever

by doughobbsfl from on Mon May 01 2017

I love the versatility of this Truck ,it keeps everything in the right place and allows the versatility of a car for easy driving and parking.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love at first drive

by The new frontier from Willow grove on Fri Feb 16 2018

The frontier felt like my truck from my first test drive. It was like new with only 10000 miles but not the price of a new truck. It has just the right amount of comfort without all the bells and whistles I don't need. I feel safe due to the FWD when needed. My dog loves the spacious cab! I love to garden and come spring the bed will be delivering endless loads of soil to my my yard.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2017 Nissan Frontier

The verdict:

The off-road Pro-4X version of the Nissan Frontier is more suited for slopping around in the mud or exploring trails than for daily use.

Versus the competition:

The Frontier is many years outdated, lacking the refinement, features and versatility of other mid-size trucks, but it is inexpensive.

The new Nissan Frontier is the last small, affordable pickup truck. Its starting price of just $19,365 (including destination) is the equivalent of an entry-level Honda Civic or Toyota Corolla but with rugged utility and a bed. It's a classic case of "you get what you pay for," however, with a dated, small interior lacking the refinement, features and quality found in the Chevrolet Colorado, GMC Canyon, Honda Ridgeline and Toyota Tacoma (that is, all the other mid-size trucks).

That may sound damning, but the Pro-4X off-road variant I drove is actually a lovable little truck. The Pro-4X is a classic off-road package with meaty tires, off-road shock absorbers, skid plates, a two-speed transfer... Read More