2000 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2000 Nissan Maxima

$14 - $6,498  MSRP Range
2000 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

43 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car ever owned by far!

by Maxima Fan from MA on Mon Jan 18 2010

I have had this car since 2003. I used t drive around for my work and used this car as my work car and everyday driver car. It has just passed 300,000 miles and is still running great except for the wear and tear look of a 300,000 mile vehicle. I would recommend this car to anyone it's been great to me for the many years I have driven it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car EVER!

by MAXiMA GUY; from Laurens,SC on Fri Feb 12 2010

I brought my Nissan Maxima SE,brand new.It has 152,000 miles on it,its the best car i've ever owned, i have never had major problems out of it.It has always been dependable to me and my family.Its now 10 years old and still has all it power and eveything.I have drove this car to Missipi,Flordia (4) times, and just everywhere.It was used as a family vehicle which now i have passed on to my son.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST ALL ROUND!

by MaximaJunkie from New York on Fri Jul 22 2011

The 2000 Maxima SE feels like a spacecraft on steroids! - My car was fully loaded 222hp, can even smoke a bmw. Acceleration is amazing! Comfort - great! Space - outstanding. Styling- Super! - I do have a tasteful body kit though. Con- slightly wider turning radius compared to some other 4d sedans. - Never been an issue unless your trying a 1point u-turn in a narrow alley. Reliability - amazing, done nothing except routine maintenance and this car has never failed on me. If you want BMW performance, spaciousness of a luxury car but half the price!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Phenomenal

by Maxpower from on Tue Dec 29 2009

The car has about 140,000 miles on it now, and with the exception of a battery and starter replacement, there have been very few problems. This car has been driven to death, including many questionable roads after 8 years in Europe. The 5-speed manual is fun to drive, pushes out some good hp, and the car is still pretty despite being 9 years old. The only complaint I have is that the turning radius is comparable to a truck in my opinion. Overall, I love driving this car and would recommend it any day.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty yet Classy car

by Motorguyinchicago from Chicago, Illinois on Mon Feb 28 2011

I am a proud new owner of a 2000 Nissan Maxima Gxe it is an automatic. This car is very responsive and sporty i love the handling this car has on any surface and any speed it is definatley a drivers car the wheel is the best feeling wheel ive ever held, the car has lots of power but yet good fuel economy for those like me that want it. it is my first car and it has 215,000 miles on it but there is no way you can tell by driving it because the transmission is so smooth and responsive. The seats are so comfortable and the stereo is more than enought to satisfy the ear. this car is about as close as you can get to a luxury sports car wtihout breaking the bank to much, and you do not have to use premium that is just recommended mine is perfectly fine using regular just make sure it was used in the car its whole life. You cannot go wrong with buying this car it is very reliable and the value for your money is great these will run a long time with the normal maintnance. All's i can say is its a beautiful car gets lots of compliments and it is a beauty to drive i wouldnt trade this car for any other its perfect. Lots of room for kids and friends as well no cramming in this Maxima.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

18 years young

by jeffinaustintx from Austin, TX on Mon Jan 01 2018

When introduced, Motor Trend cited the 2000 Nissan V6 engine to be "possibly the best engine ever built" and they were absolutely correct. For all these years (and miles!) this car has been rock solid. The engine and transmission continue to shine and I think I can easily get another 5-10 years out of this car without issue. And why would I get another car? It still looks and drives exactly like it did the day I purchased it new. It continues to deliver and only asks for regular maintenance. Sure, stuff wears out - just like any car, but the car is still stock, has never been rebuilt and runs like a champ. Plenty of power and decent gas mileage. The only downside is the plastic connectors in the engine bay are getting old an brittle, but so far I have been able to replace them with parts from Amazon or Autozone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love it!

by zae, from rochester ny on Wed Feb 01 2012

Very reliable , great engine, and I love the way the car handles at a fast speeds . It's my third maxima

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Truly the 4 Door Sports Car

by Mets Fan from Woodbridge, NJ on Wed Jul 18 2007

The Maxima has power to spare, particularly in the high end, making passing on the highway no problem. Acceleration off the line is good as well. The car handles well and the suspension feels sporty, not your typical sedan play in the wheel. Overall great value and performance, this car hooked my family on Nissan for years to come.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This was the best car I've owned.

by Kpalmer from Ca on Fri Jun 02 2017

Great buy for a mechanic or body man. Beautiful car when repaired. Needs some TLC. Rims alone are valued at twice the amount I'm asking for.the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable and fun to drive.

by Rishi Bafna from Harrison, NJ on Mon May 22 2017

being a 2000 model vehicle, it is extremely well equipped and has amazing performance. It has features more than most of the basic cars today.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2000 Nissan Maxima

Imagine being one of the venerated Japanese automotive nameplates being reduced to having its future dictated by a French car company.

After all, the French have designed some beautiful automobiles that are a joy to see. Getting a French car to move down the road is another matter entirely.

Japanese cars are just the opposite. There are some truly memorable Japanese car designs, but they are, for the most part, uninteresting in appearance. But they always start in the morning.

This is especially true at Nissan, where Nissan's California-based Nissan Design International chief Jerry Hirschberg has come up with better design theory than with great designs. However, senior management at... Read More