Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2012 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2012 Nissan Maxima

$6,570 - $16,970  MSRP Range
2012 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

53 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 53 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

impressed

by candy from on Tue Jul 19 2011

I just leased a base 2012 Maxima 3.5 CVT its my 3rd Maxima. It now accompanies our 2009 Maurano and replaces a 2008 Avalon lease. Before that I had a 2005 Saab 9-3x Turbo and 2 other Maximas a 98 and a 2002. around that same time we also had 2 Chrysler LHS sedans 1995 and 2000. some of them were better in some ways but the Maxima has alot of strengths and great built quality and the gas mileage is impressive for a car its size, and the fact its a performance car which is why it requires premium gas. The ride is superior, quiet and very quick. Great brake performance and its roomy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Wolf in Wolf's Clothing

by dave from Houston, Texas on Sat Sep 15 2012

I travel a lot (2000 miles a month). Needed something comfortable. I got a great deal on a white Maxima with the limited addition package. Cloth seats, no navigation, no sat radio. Dealer gave me a great deal. Car has been flawless in its first 6000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Ride

by chinolino from Greenville Texas on Fri Dec 16 2011

My Previous car was a 2001 Maxima 136000 miles no mechanicals problems . this new Maxima is very quite and Great performance . Downside use premium gas !

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not bad for a Maxima

by Car Guy from Charleston, SC on Fri Sep 06 2013

Had a 2004 Maxima SE. Bought a 2012 Maxima SV. Loaded, all options including Sport Package, Tech Package and Entry Lighting etc.... It's a big car with a small car feel. Drives and handles well. I would say its a "Infinity Light". I would like more power and a all-wheel drive option. (GTR)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Owned

by R. Echevarria from Scottsdale, Arizona on Wed May 22 2013

It's been 3 weeks since I bought this car and so far my experience has been satisfactory. The car is so quiet and so smooth when you accelerate. The only gripe I have is the paint. I have to touch up some areas especially on the front bottom caused by flying small rocks. Also, the power passenger seat is different from the driver's side where you can also adjust the seat in so many ways. The power passenger seat is only capable of reclining and moving it forward & backward and you can't raise or lower the seat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR I EVER HAD!

by luvmyMAX from New Jersey on Tue Jan 08 2013

I just purchased my 2012 Nissan Maxima on Dec. 10, 2012. I love it! The car I traded in was a 2003 Maxima, and I bought it brand new. I owned it for nine and a half years, and it was the best car ever OWNED! It had 137,000 miles on it. The reason I purchased another Maxima, is because it was a great car! I love my new one, and PRAY TO GOD it lasts as long, or even longer, then my 2003.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever own

by Jluv2515 from Gulfport ms on Mon Aug 27 2018

I love it drives very well and have good power in it as well which I like. I drive it daily and it gets me back and forth with no issues.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Maxima SV

by Macima4Life from on Wed Apr 19 2017

Total adore this car. From interior to exterior. Totally love it. Seats are so comfortable. The boss system is amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very nice car but leather seats are hard

by xanadu from Tennessee on Thu Aug 23 2012

We enjoy the car and its features but find the leather seat hard and gets uncomfortable on a long drive. We are hoping the seats will soften up over time.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable and Very, Very Fun To Drive!!

by D. Webster from Versailles, Indiana on Sun Sep 10 2017

It's a great car. Very reliable and fun to drive. Great handling and very powerful. It's a true sleeper. Quicker than most!! No problems thus far. It just turned 102K and it's not noticeable. Although I wouldn't buy it new, I would truly recommend this vehicle. The Maxima is a fairly expensive car to buy new, but the resale value is horrible. About 40% of the cost to buy it new will be lost in the first couple years. I would definitely recommend buying it, but buying one a couple years old with low miles vs buying it new. If buying one new, I definitely recommend getting the gap insurance with your loan. All in all, it's a great car. My 2012 Maxima has been back and forth to the most southern part of Eastern Alabama several times, and I'm still not afraid of its reliability one bit to travel there again. It's just a great, fun car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2012 Nissan Maxima

Editor's note: This review was written in October 2010 about the 2010 Nissan Maxima. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2012, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the three model years.

The large sedan is making a comeback these days, and the Nissan Maxima succeeds because it doesn't equate lots of interior space to whalelike exterior dimensions, making it enjoyable to drive.

It has sporty ambitions, despite the fact that it's a front-wheel-drive car that packs a continuously variable automatic transmission. The Maxima is also comfortable and well-equipped, and some trims have extremely competitive pricing.

While 2011 versions of the full-size... Read More