1999 Pathfinder

Consumer Reviews

1999 Nissan Pathfinder

$618 - $5,886  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

15 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Nissan Pathfinder?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Eternal Nissan

by SkiGirl from Durango, CO on Wed Apr 23 2014

I bought my Pathfinder used a few years back. I have driven it 100 miles a day to work, up icy and snowy winding roads, and on roads that really aren't roads at all. Right now I am at 413,000 miles - yes, that is real, not a typo - and I have only had to replace a front axel. I love this car, it is the perfect, reliable mountaineer/commuter/road trip/mom-mobile.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I Have Ever Owned

by War Eagle from Auburn, AL on Tue Nov 27 2012

I purchased a 99 Pathfinder used with 77,000 miles on it. I was originally concerned with the mileage being so high but I needed a vehicle and I loved the layout, handling, and obscenely smooth ride. I traded in my Pathfinder 5 years later with an odo reading of 199,896 miles and not so much as a flat tire the entire time I had it. Trading that car in was a huge mistake and am currently looking for another one. Amazing vehicle, engine is bullet proof (as long as you keep up with maintenance).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love my Nissan

by Nissan Lover from Omaha, NE on Fri Oct 21 2011

I bought my 99 pathfinder in 2004 with 68,000 miles. It now has 170,000. I have had one major repair (fuel injector system in 2008). This vehicle handles well, has a great Bose stereo system, and is an overall great value for the money. I've had no trouble with this vehicle before or since the injectors. I love my pathfinder and I will keep it until it's no longer drivable. The only downside is that I live in Nebraska where salt is frequently applied to the roads during winter months and my metal side step boards have rusted. They have since been removed and I've had no more problems with rust.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i love the pathfinder

by odbdirtymoosey from on Thu Mar 06 2014

I have put 200000 miles on mine! And it doesnt burn a drop of oil! I love this truck! I will drive it till it dies!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

it's a great value for money compared cars i owned

by jc Robinson from on Sat Sep 09 2017

Great room for front leg space drives so well no engine or gearbox issues it has a smooth drive the handling is so excellent.it also has a good balance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

You can easily get well over 200k with this car.

by Mr. Stixxx from Baltimore, MD on Thu May 11 2017

The Nissan Pathfinder is a well made car. It's build is reliable and parts can be found everywhere. There is also a lot of room to modify this car to your liking. I recommend this car to first time buyers and anyone that is looking for a fun car to drive that is durable.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car i've owned.

by Smorvant22 from New iberia on Fri Aug 04 2017

Im able to fold the back seats down so it gives lots of space to haul things. We bought the car second hand and put a little work into it and it has proven to be a very dependable car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Sedaliamom from sedalia, missouri on Sun Jul 01 2018

Its a gas hog but a great vehicle! Katy motor was great! Needs a radio but all and all a great suv and it has a tow package!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My buddy

by Outdoor lover from Menlo Park, CA on Fri Mar 19 2010

I have purchased this SUV in 1999 from a Nissan dealer after looking into the car for a few years. The Nissan is definitely an excellent SUV. Often I drive it for my outdoor activities (skiing, camping, backpacking, etc). It has been providing a comfortable ride and handling in those occasions. What I really love is the design. It looks good inside out. Sure. Also, the functionality is well thought out. It has most things I need. They are really useful. But it does not have things I do not really need. It is not a minimalist, though. I love the Bose stereo system :-) It sounds wonderful. I have compared it with Toyota 4Runner and Subaru Outback (the same year models). The Nissan provided better ride and handling than the Toyota. The Subaru consumes less fuel. However, it has much less cargo capacity. Probably the Toyota and Nissan gets pretty close in their reliability. The Subaru had somewhat questionable reliability records. My Nissan has a stellar reliability record with over 165K miles. I do the recommended regular maintenance at a repair shop I trust. The original battery was defects so that my dealer replaced it free in the first year. Obviously I had to replace consumables (lubrications, tires, shocks, brakes). Finally I had to replace a muffler last year. Still that is it. A weakness is the engine in my mind. I wish it had a bit more torque when pushed. Also, the fuel consumption is a bit behind its competitors. Usually I get 18 mpg (HWY) and 16 mpg (City). Anyway, over all I could not have been happier. It is a rugged, dependable, and comforting buddy that goes with me anywhere I go carrying a bunch of cargo. It has never let me down. I wish Nissan had kept the same line of SUV in the lineup.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1999.5 Nissan Pathfinder Limited 4x4

by Jose A_C from New Jersey USA on Sat Sep 02 2006

I personally found that Nissan Pathfinder is a great SUV and nothing compare to comfort to a coupe.. I had mine just a few days now and I am Loving it as days passed by.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 Nissan Pathfinder

My brother worked in the newsroom of a television station for a while. His advice to me was simple. "Never ride with a photographer," he said. "They're always looking for the next picture, rather than down the road."

Certainly my boss can vouch for that. He spent three terror-filled hours in the backseat of a Pathfinder driven by a photographer going at least 70 mph over glare ice a couple winters back. To say that the interior of the truck was resculpted with fingernail indentations wouldn't be too far off the mark. That my boss is still alive rather than road-kill on I-95 also speaks volumes about why so many people are stepping up to the all-weather capabilities of SUVs. And make no... Read More