2000 Xterra

Consumer Reviews

2000 Nissan Xterra

$1,124 - $6,552  MSRP Range
2000 Nissan Xterra

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

28 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Nissan Xterra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Xterra at 200k and strong

by small4x4guy from Central Michigan on Fri Aug 05 2011

My 2000 X-Terra XE just turned 200K miles and it is still tight and strong. Repairs so far; recommended services per Mfr. Maint Schedule, all. Cut the rattling heat shields off the stainless exhaust. Aluminum shield welded to a stainless exhaust. Bad idea, good news is the ORIGINAL exhaust is fine at 200k! New rear leaf springs at about 60K, I wrestled with the factory Nerf bars and paint not sticking to them for the first 6 months I owned it then the dealer got tired of repainting them and asked if they could have them Rhino-coated, I agreed and they look and perform great. This was a first model year vehicle that despite the caution of a lot of friends turned out better than I could have ever imagined. I'm so happy I just had it painted and some surface rust repaired and plan to drive it till it melts down. It is the only vehicle that at over a couple of years old everything still works, e-locker, windows locks etc. One complaint, the key fobs both broke at around 50K and were a poor design. All things considered I can live with it (unless there is a Nissan exec reading in which case fix them for me, this was a great review!) also the engine could have used a few more horses (New model has 230, 2000 had 170) and the seats are in need of some padding they are like the racing seats in a cafe car, and with the stiff 4x4 suspension it wears your but out after about 3 hours in the truck. I have since owned a Titan (sucked), and am back at long last to a Jeep. My wife drives the X-terra now and when I mentioned selling it she gave me the wife look. If you have one, keep it, If you are considering one, consider that the price has only gone up less than 2k in 11 years. Buy it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Reliable and quality throughout, but....

by Xterrany from Syracuse, NY -- Seattle, WA on Sun Aug 20 2006

I do enjoy this vehicle. It has never left me stranded or without room to transport friends or items. The same cannot be said for the 1997 Pontiac Grand Prix that it replaced. The seats have proven to be very comfortable even when it became the home for my 6 foot frame on a drive across the country. No failures or gremlins have plagued this car either. It certainly did deserve its Motor Trend award at the time of its creation. However, in this time of gas crunching and environmental responsibility, I cannot help but feel a little guilty driving the Xterra even when cargo needs warrant it. This vehicle has been a trustworthy companion for 6 years, it is with heavy heart that I part with it, but times have changed as have my needs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good vehicle for 11 years

by ex terra driver from Tallahassee, FL on Mon Dec 12 2011

Xterra was what it was sold to be: a rugged SUV that could do most anything. It had good ground clearance and sufficient power to do what needed to be done. Repair record was worse than expected and eventually lead to my getting rid of the vehicle though 11 years of service is pretty good. Utility was better than expected with good towing capabilities and other cargo storage. Gas efficiency was underwhelming.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

stylish but terrible gas mileage

by nija boy from Lagos on Mon Aug 06 2007

handles fairly well. could use more power especially since it consumes so much gas. overall a decent suv for the money.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The last real suv

by xtremexterra from fort worth,tx on Sun Sep 16 2012

i have had my xterra for about 6 months now,i must say its not for those who want a luxury car ride. It is for those who want a rugged, no frills suv that can take them to work, and take them on a weekend adventure in the same package. This truck has been nothing but reliable in the half year i have owned it, only 1 thing has broke, and it was a $130 fix an an hour of my time, not bad. the only other expense is gas, and routine maintenance, great suv for those who are tired of the car based ones and want a real capable true to its roots suv, I recommend it to everyone in the 4x4 market

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

rugged,fun,relaible

by kms1990 from fort worth,tx on Mon Jun 25 2012

bought my xterra with 145000 miles on er and she runs strong exterior is great if you find one that the plastic bumpers have faded put tire shine gel on it let it dry just like new those bumpers are my only complaint on body, the tires are an odd size 265/70 15 so not many choices but there are good ones and not that expensive interior the cruise control main button could be in a better spot but not bad love it all round great suv real bumpy ride but its built on a truck frame and built to go off road so bumpy means its fun

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

tough truck for those needing an offroader

by nismofan from texas on Sat Jan 12 2013

i have had my x for almost a year now and not much wrong so far, it has 155,000 miles on it now and had 144,000 when i bought it. the starter died, factory 13 years old so didnt surprise me, the distributer also went out 2 months later but once again a factory part so after seeing that didnt surprise me, its got moving parts and moving parts fail eventually. but i have found out i am not good at mods as every mod i have done to this truck caused issues. such as "fixing" the sunroof noise caused it to leak(now fixed with silicone) and trying to rig up my own battery hold down left me on the side of the road. but so far no issues from the manufacture process of this car just things that eventually wear out that have had to be replaced and preventative care. and the other things that have broken or leaked were of my doing from trying to fix what wasnt broke. great truck deserved its motor trend truck of the year award!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Xterra, simpley amazing

by robbie m from Grand Haven, MI on Thu Mar 03 2011

100% sure, best car/truck i have ever owned very fun for offroading, and the fact that it is a stick shift makes it amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent reliability

by mike from atlanta,ga. on Sun Jul 27 2014

I have had this car for about 5 years now. The only thing i had to do in that time is change the alternator. Only flaw is gas mileage.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Cheaper than a Toyota

by Nota 4Runner from Chicago on Wed Sep 07 2016

I bought this because it was thousands less than a comparable 4 Runner. It had 139k on it and has 206k on it now. The check engine light on due to fuel injector that acts up now and then but drive it 106 miles a day and it keeps going. It leaks some oil and radiator support about rotted away but I paid 3100.00 for it and its givem me 3yrs and counting so can't complain. Cheap alternative to a Toyota or Honda but not as well built.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2000 Nissan Xterra

When Anita took a group of 18- to 25-year-olds through the Detroit auto show in January, the all-new 2000 Nissan Xterra was the hands-down favorite - after the $90,000 AM General Hummer. The Xterra's simple but rugged good looks and affordable price tag were among its most appealing features with the blue-ribbon panel of young consumers.

Now the compact sport-utility has finally gone into production at Nissan's Tennessee plant, and we've had a chance to sample one of the final prototypes. Our initial impression is that the vehicle has some flaws, but its simplicity and affordability still count for an awful lot in our book.

He: The Xterra is based heavily on Nissan's compact Frontier pickup truck... Read More