1999 Aurora

Consumer Reviews

1999 Oldsmobile Aurora

$879 - $6,015  MSRP Range
1999 Oldsmobile Aurora

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

12 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Oldsmobile Aurora?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

What a great car!

by Aurora driver from Albany, NY on Mon Feb 05 2007

I bought a used '99 Aurora and it has been a great car! It has good power and is the smoothest car I've ever driven! My friends all think it is a better ride than their Caddy, and it is better around the corners. I get about 22 mpg and the car hasn't had any problems even past 90,000 miles! I love the engine and how it drives, and it is so comfortable on trips you almost forget you are driving it. Its hard to believe such an expensive car is now so cheap as a used one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Baby J from St. Louis, Mo. on Sun Sep 17 2006

I was really happy when I purchase this car. The car is very comfortable, with A lot of features that is useful. People look at the car like they never seen it before. The car is a smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Olds Aurora, best car I have owned.

by Family, Mom from Indiana on Sat Sep 25 2010

I owned a 1995 & 1999, loved both cars, have driven Oldesmobiles for years, great cars! Very little upkeep, 1st car had over 106K on it went to California, no problelms.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Olds Aurora-Best Car I have Had

by Daily Car Driver from Sioux Falls,SD on Wed Feb 24 2016

I have 1999 oldsmobile aurora with 234k, and it runs perfectly, I didnt have to do anything to it until about 230k ( a little engine work). 10 out 10 would recommend to a person buying their first car or looking for a car just to drive for a while. Love the interior of the car, it is so different that you won't find it in any other car you find, all of the dashboard is facing you so you feel like your are in a cockpit of an airplane. I may have just gotten lucky with this car, but the enigne is a very reliable engine: 4.0 liter V8 Northstar is one of the best engines that Cadillac put out!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not your old man's Oldsmobile

by Aurora 5150 from Chicagoland, IL on Tue Aug 20 2013

I bought my Aurora used and have really enjoyed the car. Even with being over a decade old, it feels brand new when cruising down the road. Sporty yet refined, it should've been considered a pinnacle of the American car market. Plenty of horse under the hood and corners well for a bigger car. Feels like riding on a cloud thanks to the plush seating and the comfy suspension. Great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This makes number 4

by JUST A CAR GUY from Marlette Michigan on Fri Aug 09 2013

This is the fourth AURORA I have owned, Although I had to drive 350 miles one way to see and buy the car it never would have happened without cars .com. The dealer was very helpful and answered all questions I had about the car even after I had viewed the car fax.The best thing about these cars are the value for the money as both my daughters drive one of these and they both love the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beauty and Beast

by mikelooch from West Hartford, CT on Mon May 22 2017

With the smaller Northstar V* (approx 280 HP), this car performs well in all situations. Also, great ride and surprisingly good handling (Michelin MX4's). The reliability of the car has been good but it does have some electrical system gremmlins that occassionally surface (heated seat swith for driver side works sometimes). Love the body design and the quality of interior surfaces. Great sound system for a 1999 vintage car. Terrific gas mileage (25 mpg on highway when driving normally). I would buy a newer version but, of course, Oldsmobiles have gone out of production. Parts are easy to get and any mechanic who knows GM can work on the car since it shares heavily with Cadillac and Buick.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Aurora great performer

by adarsh from ashburn, virginia on Fri May 06 2016

I owned this car for 16 years. Its very reliable and stable car with great performance and safety features. Car maintenance was normal all along.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

My first car...

by L from indianapolis on Fri Mar 14 2008

When I first got my Aurora, I loved it. I really do like it still but wouldn't recommend it to anyone. It has only about 86k on it and the head gaskets are bad in it. I don't know if that is the fault of the owner before me or not but I had it for about 6 months before I had any serious problems with it. Also the headlights would blink on and off by themselves. Other than those things...it runs really good and it is a really pretty car. Labor is pricey on this vehicle. My boyfriend has a 97 Aurora and his timing chain needs to be replaced. They have motor issues, I guess.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

car i owned

by sport car enthusiast from chicago IL on Sat Jan 23 2010

need to be fixed. i had so many problems with this car, i was going to pay someone to take it off my hands. Before buying a car make sure you dont get a lemon, like this one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2