2002 Aurora

Consumer Reviews

2002 Oldsmobile Aurora

$1,474 - $7,182  MSRP Range
2002 Oldsmobile Aurora

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Oldsmobile Aurora?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Driving Car, even better than my CadillacSTS

by Had from Wausau, WI on Tue May 08 2007

Seem like Aurora Engines start to leak oil approx 70-80K--repair cost approx $600. And, back window motors have to be replaced--not cheap. I've had two Auroras and 3 back window motors have had to be replaced--approx $400 each time. Love how vehicle handles and is quiet with very good gas mileage--27mpg on highway. I know others had to replace back window motors--which should be known to GM and fixed free by GM.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome... just awsome

by bigboi4.0 from Baltimore on Mon Feb 01 2010

best car i have ever had, got mine with very low miles and its still running like a champ. my wife, our 3 month old, and myself feel safe in it also.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A good car for the money

by Car Enthusiast from Lorenzo, IL on Sat Aug 04 2007

I bought this car used, and I've loved since I got it. It handles great has good perfomance, lots of luxury and all of this at a good price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Used Car

by BamBam from Troy, Michigan on Tue Jun 15 2010

Bought this car 2 1/2 years ago from a friend, who was the 2nd owner. It had 57,000 miles on it. 40,000 miles later, at 97,000, it's still going strong. With the exception of replacing a cam sensor & secondary air pump, I've only invested in tires, breaks, fluid & filter changes. The combination of White Diamond exterior, tan leather interior & factory chrome wheels, makes this car a real looker. The 3.5 V6 has ample power, and gets 23 mpg overall. I leased new cars for years prior to my Aurora. Being this is the last body style, it makes the car age less. This has been a good used car experience.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very nice car

by Aurora 2002 from Seattle on Mon Apr 02 2018

Picked up a brand new 2002 4.0 Aurora back in autumn 2001. Black with dark gray interior and 17" chrome wheels. Loaded expect for navigation because the Bose stereo was only available w/out the navigation. She's still going strong and has been a reliable car. The fuel pump failed once, and I've replaced the rack and pinion twice as well as the subframe. The front end and rack and pinion issue could have been from the pot holes and rotting roads. There were issues with the weather seals leaking water but its fixed now. It also leaks a little oil. But overall its been a GREAT car, very luxurious with great Bose stereo and killer exhaust note from the 4.0 V8. The only performance gripe is that bigger brakes would be nice. It gets HORRIBLE 12.5 mpg in city with regular fuel, slightly better milage using recommended but optional premium gas. If you cruise at about 45mph in 4th gear the engine runs about 1500 rpm and returns over 30mpg even with the v8. But if you drive it hard it sucks fuel fast as the v8 roars and you can basically watch the gas gauge drop. The gated shifter is fantastic for dropping into second gear for passing or going up hills fast. The handling is great for a full size 2002 model, although it would be better if it was rwd. The torque from the v8 is less than optimal to run through the front end, and torque steer can be vicious under full throttle on wet pavement or going uphill - it yanks allover the place. But on dry and flat pavement the torque steer isn't too bad.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by bignate from stilwell on Sat Aug 09 2014

i brought this kind of car a year it 12,0000 now 14,0000 i love this when i first got it needed some work but all that bad great on gas for young people in college like myself great sound system i hate the DIC it drives me crazy!! i cant get over how i pull some where and it out does other cars with its looks and power the v6 olds aurora is a great car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Olds Aurora

by Bob from Louisville on Sun Aug 07 2011

Bought this car for my wife. It is in nearly perfect condition. Got a very good deal on it, and she will keep it probably forever. Absolutely beautiful car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

nicest car i've ever owned

by cupcake from EAST on Thu Nov 06 2008

I bought this car for weekends and trips.It is luxurious and gets great gas milage. I almost got 30 m.p.g. on a summer trip to myrtle beach.This car is a great value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Stylish interior and exterior

by Car Nut from on Fri Sep 17 2010

Very comfortable car with good milage and reliability. The only concern I have is that the seat belt is not comfortable. I wish it had the adjustable slide on the exterior post.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Last of the Great Oldsmobiles

by Oldsmobile fan from Ohio on Wed Jan 30 2013

Just purchased what will probably be my last Oldsmobile, an '02 Aurora - one owner, trade-in at Dunn Chevrolet, (Olds), Buick in Oregon, OH. This car has exceptionally clean interior and appears to have been well taken care of.... typical of what you would expect from someone who would buy a new Aurora. I traded in a '96 Olds 88 with 222,000 miles. This also was a truly great & reliable car. Hope the Aurora is as good!!! Too bad GM killed a great car!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2