1999 Eighty-Eight

Consumer Reviews
1999 Oldsmobile Eighty-Eight

Change Vehicle
4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

10 Reviews
1999 Oldsmobile Eighty-Eight
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.9 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.1 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

"BUY ONE"

by Peewee from Texas on June 19, 2010

Super Value, last of an american favorite. I purchased my 1999 Olds 88 with 96,000 miles on it. I travel a lot thus I have put 17,000 plus miles on in 6 months. The car has had NO PROLBEMS only gas and oil. The seats are like driving your sofa around town. The 205HP engine scoots pretty good.I have had Bimmers all my life but was very impressed with my 88. THE OLDS ROLLS!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

grandpa's preferred ride

by dollar conscious driver from Vicksburg, MS on November 24, 2009

Traded a '95 Eighty Eight for my '99 Eighty Eight with exactly same equipment. It's simple style, comfortable ride, and very efficient gas mileage make it an excellent fit for someone with "conservative" values. Although my brother says it looks like a "grandpa's car" (and I'm not one), my Eighty Eight has been a superb value for my hard-earned dollars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Car

by Bon from Knoxville on July 25, 2007

This was the first dealer bought vehicle I have ever owned and she was such a joy to have. Extremely comfortable, I had very few problems with her. I only wish they still made them.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ever

by american worker from oklahoma on September 7, 2011

we bought this car used. All round great car!!! style,comfort,performance-all hard to beat. Too bad GM did away with this one and others similar to it. This is a car anyone would be proud to own. I can't say enough good things about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1999 olds LS

by Touring sedan enthusiest from Sebring, FLA. on June 3, 2006

I purchased this car in 2003, with the LSS pkge. and am extreemly satisfied with it. The performance and fuel economy have been beyond my expectations. I have a few more rattles than I anticipated.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Jul-06

by Nanoo from Grand Rapids, MI on July 27, 2006

Nice car. only thing I do not like is the turning radius. Otherwise, fits 5 people comfortably, six people a squeeze, especially with two car seats. good family car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My First Look At The Vehicle

by Mark Kightlinger from Sioux Falls, SD on March 14, 2018

I was happy how clean the vehicle was presented. My test drive was an good experience to learn more about the vehicle. Everything went smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Drives Well, but Always Needs Little Repairs

by ArizonaDriverMan from Phoenix, AZ on July 24, 2017

It drives incredibly well, and I've never had a problem with how the car runs. However, the ac has gone out two times in the past two years, the windows usually don't roll down in front, and never in the back. Car is very comfortable for long rides. Handles speed bumps and bad roads well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great gm car

by endowebber from nyc on February 3, 2018

BOUGHT CAR NEW. 170,000 MILES. ONLY HAD TO CHANGE AC COMPRESSOR, RADIATOR AND MAF SENSOR. STILL GOING STRONG.FULL SIZE CAR, SMOOTH RIDE, GREAT 6 CYL3.8 ENGINE

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

a car not bought

by Dr H from central gulf coast Florida on June 11, 2014

I chose not to buy this car mostly because it smelled bad . I was also not comfortable in the split bench seat. Lastly to me it wasn't worth what the dealer was charging for it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1
Our Expert Review: 1999 Oldsmobile Eighty-Eight