Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1999 Eighty-Eight

Consumer Reviews

1999 Oldsmobile Eighty-Eight

$1,249 - $2,461  MSRP Range
1999 Oldsmobile Eighty-Eight

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

10 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Oldsmobile Eighty-Eight?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

"BUY ONE"

by Peewee from Texas on Sat Jun 19 2010

Super Value, last of an american favorite. I purchased my 1999 Olds 88 with 96,000 miles on it. I travel a lot thus I have put 17,000 plus miles on in 6 months. The car has had NO PROLBEMS only gas and oil. The seats are like driving your sofa around town. The 205HP engine scoots pretty good.I have had Bimmers all my life but was very impressed with my 88. THE OLDS ROLLS!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

grandpa's preferred ride

by dollar conscious driver from Vicksburg, MS on Tue Nov 24 2009

Traded a '95 Eighty Eight for my '99 Eighty Eight with exactly same equipment. It's simple style, comfortable ride, and very efficient gas mileage make it an excellent fit for someone with "conservative" values. Although my brother says it looks like a "grandpa's car" (and I'm not one), my Eighty Eight has been a superb value for my hard-earned dollars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Car

by Bon from Knoxville on Wed Jul 25 2007

This was the first dealer bought vehicle I have ever owned and she was such a joy to have. Extremely comfortable, I had very few problems with her. I only wish they still made them.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ever

by american worker from oklahoma on Wed Sep 07 2011

we bought this car used. All round great car!!! style,comfort,performance-all hard to beat. Too bad GM did away with this one and others similar to it. This is a car anyone would be proud to own. I can't say enough good things about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1999 olds LS

by Touring sedan enthusiest from Sebring, FLA. on Sat Jun 03 2006

I purchased this car in 2003, with the LSS pkge. and am extreemly satisfied with it. The performance and fuel economy have been beyond my expectations. I have a few more rattles than I anticipated.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Jul-06

by Nanoo from Grand Rapids, MI on Thu Jul 27 2006

Nice car. only thing I do not like is the turning radius. Otherwise, fits 5 people comfortably, six people a squeeze, especially with two car seats. good family car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My First Look At The Vehicle

by Mark Kightlinger from Sioux Falls, SD on Wed Mar 14 2018

I was happy how clean the vehicle was presented. My test drive was an good experience to learn more about the vehicle. Everything went smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Drives Well, but Always Needs Little Repairs

by ArizonaDriverMan from Phoenix, AZ on Mon Jul 24 2017

It drives incredibly well, and I've never had a problem with how the car runs. However, the ac has gone out two times in the past two years, the windows usually don't roll down in front, and never in the back. Car is very comfortable for long rides. Handles speed bumps and bad roads well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great gm car

by endowebber from nyc on Sat Feb 03 2018

BOUGHT CAR NEW. 170,000 MILES. ONLY HAD TO CHANGE AC COMPRESSOR, RADIATOR AND MAF SENSOR. STILL GOING STRONG.FULL SIZE CAR, SMOOTH RIDE, GREAT 6 CYL3.8 ENGINE

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

a car not bought

by Dr H from central gulf coast Florida on Wed Jun 11 2014

I chose not to buy this car mostly because it smelled bad . I was also not comfortable in the split bench seat. Lastly to me it wasn't worth what the dealer was charging for it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1999 Oldsmobile Eighty-Eight

They gave it gold paint and a pat on the roof. They bestowed honorifics: "Best Buy," "Time Honored" and "Valued." Then they kicked the Oldsmobile 88 off the assembly line. That was it. Kaput. Finished at 50. No pension.

It's a new world at General Motors Corp., which rolled out the first Olds 88 in 1949. The company now supports winners, drops has-beens. The 88 was a has-been, a former Champion of Bloat that couldn't stay afloat in a fast, new stream of lighter-weight, more attractive family sedans and wagons.

Read the numbers: Oldsmobile 88 sales fell 2 percent, to 65,877 last year from 67,190 sold in 1997. That's barely enough to support an annual one-shift production run in one U.S... Read More