2002 Firebird

Consumer Reviews

2002 Pontiac Firebird

2002 Pontiac Firebird

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

44 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Pontiac Firebird?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Owned

by 2002 WS6 from Tampa, FL on Wed Aug 24 2011

I've owned many cars, but this 2002 WS6 is the best performing, most reliable car I've ever owned. 20mpg with the A/C on, it will pass anything(even a gas station), looks great, has been very reliable, & cheap to maintain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Last year of the Trans Am.

by Trans Am Lover from on Wed Mar 28 2012

Last year of the Trans Am. Awesome car ! Best handling car I have ever owned. Ride is a little firm, but I can live with that. Ram Air and LS-1 , 5.7 engine has eniough power to eat most other cars on the road !

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

7 Great Years

by Gentech from Detroit, Michigan on Sat Aug 01 2009

Car has been a pleasure in most ways. Only repair other than normal maintenance has been starter motor and both power window motors. 75,000 miles. Interior could have been higher quality materials. 3800 engine and transmission are a great match. Wish front ground effects would be higher off the pavement as it gets hit by almost anything even when backing out of driveway.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1998 Firebird

by Kris_xtreame from Springfield, Missouri on Fri Jun 12 2009

Great car, very comfortable seats. Few electrical issues but it still worth it. Fell in love with as soon as i drove it. Dont ever wanna get rid of it!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Summer Toy

by J J from KC on Wed Jul 14 2010

I love this car. I have owner many sprts cars including corvettes, etc. I traded my Corvette for this and would do it over and over again. It is almost as fast as my Corvette but I can take my kids with me now for summer cruises with the top down, which I could not do with my Vet. Performance is top notch, exterior looks better than most other sports cars out there. Interior is comfortable, but no tall people in the back seat. Has ample trunk space and is just sexy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Weekend Warrior

by JETZON627 from Lehigh Valley, PA on Thu Jan 28 2010

Great car, always turns heads. I am a big fan of vehicles that aren't often seen on the road, I can honestly say I am a proud owner of a 2002 Trans Am WS6. Too often do I see mustangs and corvettes on the road! The only downside I see to this vehicle is the Turnsignals, there are ways to fix this problem i.e. drilling holes or replacing the housing, but originally the bulbs popped everytime moisture made its way into the housing. Besides that, its the greatest vehicle I have ever owned and I don't plan on getting rid of it anytime soon!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Firehawk.

by DBeck from Milwaukee, WI on Wed Jan 10 2007

If you want an amazing American muscle car, then any of the Firebird models will make you happy. I have a 2002 Firehawk and absolutely love it. It's fast and beautiful. One downside is the fact that it uses so much gasoline.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Soooo much fun!!!

by TA Girl from Kansas on Tue Jan 18 2011

I have owned this car for about 4 months. Im in love! This car packs some serious power and wont disappoint. This car is alot of fun to drive and is super cool!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

mean machine

by gear head girl from watuaga, tx on Mon Dec 04 2006

if you see this car in your rear view mirror, MOVE! with the meanest looking front end, you'll feel like there's nostrils breathing down your neck....there is! if looks could kill, you'd be dead! this car not only looks awesome, it has the muscle to back it up! recommended to ANYBODY looking for the car of their dreams!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good mix of power and gas milage

by Camaro Man from N.C on Tue Dec 04 2007

I currently own a 2002 Firebird base V6. It has over 200 horsepower and still gets an average of 26 MPG. Very aggressive look on the outside but the interior lacks the quality of most imports. Visibility takes some getting used to but once you are comfortable with the car you wont drive anything else! Pros: - Gas mileage (V6) - Acceleration (V8) - Cornering / Handling - Race car feel Cons: - Gas mileage (V8) - Interior materials lack quality - Rough ride at 80+

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2002 Pontiac Firebird

Squeal a tire, shed a tear, do what you must do to honor a legend worthy of legendary mention.

The Pontiac Firebird is flying away for good.

May it rest in peace. May your neighbors finally gain some peace and quiet.

When the final bird rolls off the Quebec assembly line later this year, critics will say the Pontiac sports coupe's time has finally come. Sales charts will show its biggest rival couldn't stop hitting its stride. Where the Firebird, and its F-body Camaro cousin, couldn't hold a candle to the Ford Mustang in recent showroom muscle, both were worthy tire-shredding competitors. No more.

And what a shame.

Six months ago, we spun the Camaro out for a... Read More