2007 G5

Consumer Reviews

2007 Pontiac G5

$1,895 - $8,123  MSRP Range
2007 Pontiac G5

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

23 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2007 Pontiac G5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car ive owned and great on gas.

by Hopelessly Driven from New Jersey on Thu Oct 08 2009

I would def, recommend this car to any one. The drive is great especially in manual transmission. Its a fun whip around car and also a great family car. Very reliable never had any problems. And great on gas!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pleasant Surprise

by I love Bikes from Maryland on Tue Aug 28 2012

What a great car. I bought mine used with 78,000 miles. I love the displays for gas economy and oil usage-very cool. I have been really pleased with this car so far. I get 35.6 mpg on the highway-which is higher than the rated mpg. I am 6 ft, so it took some time to find the right spot, but when I did, it was perfect. Plenty of head room. The rear passenger room is a bit small, but I have 3 kids and the fit fine. I love the height adjustment feature as well. The trunk opening is small, but it is a car, not a truck. If you need to haul something that big, maybe you need a different vehicle. It handles very well. Mine was lowered by the previous owner, so the ride is a little rougher, but it still drives great.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Pontiac I've Ever Owned

by Enix from Akron, OH on Wed Aug 18 2010

This car is an awesome, inexpensive, and sporty little ride. I bought my G5 used and it came fully loaded with the 2.4L engine, remote start, heated leather seats, premium sound system and a 5 disc cd changer. For a 4 cylinder engine with an automatic transmission, this car has some power, and it sounds great when you floor it. Fuel economy is great too, I rarely have to put gas in this thing. Handling feels great, steering is very tight and the tires just grip the pavement. The seats are very comfortable, even the back seats, which can surprisingly seat 3, with full over the shoulder buckles. My only gripe with this car is the front seat belts can be hard to get to because there really is no space between the seat and the door, so I've had to open the door to get to the seat belt buckle. This car has not disappointed me yet. It's a shame pontiac is gone because I really like their styling with this car, much better than the cobalt.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Buy

by newg5 from on Mon Jun 04 2012

Was hoping to buy the gt model. Deal fell through and i found a base model.. Took it for a test drive and never looked back. Great car for starter or everyday commuter

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Real Head Turner

by Millionairekjb from Sioux Falls, SD on Sat Feb 19 2011

Great car. Has a very good turning radius. Fun to drive. Smooth shifting. Very tight car. Enjoy this car immensely.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great for city driving

by GT Chicago from Chicago, IL on Sun Apr 05 2009

Getrag 5-speed is smooth-shifting and a great match for the 2.4L engine. Good gas mileage, especially on the expressways. Great value for money. I like the steering wheel sound system controls and iPod jack. Sunroof is great, too. So far (after two years) this car has been totally reliable. No repairs and only oil changes for service. Exterior gets lots of compliments, especially the 17 in. wheels. Seat fabric could use an upgrade, but seats are comfortable. Trunk opening is very small, but if I wanted to buy things in bulk I'd buy a minivan.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

by J.M. from Ontario on Sun Mar 23 2008

My gas milage is great, avg about 29-30mpg. I love the look of the car. I'm about 6' and it tuff getting in and out. The front seat takes some getting used too especially the head rest. Drives and handles great. Lots of trunk room for it's size. A little tight in the back seat.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Ride

by B from Florida on Sun Sep 07 2008

Great car for the price and lots of sporty options. Even the base coupe has great performance. Fuel economy is good too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by Dom Torretto from New York, NY on Thu Apr 24 2014

It's worth every penny! Not only are they cool, sports car but they run great and they last a really long time! Pontiac G5's are great cars, especially for teenagers!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome little car

by 19 year old car guy from Ohio on Fri Aug 10 2007

I have had the car for about 2500 miles now and average 28.5 mpg in mostly city driving. The manual transmission is smooth, handles great, not powerful but quick when it is needed to be. I have no complaints at all!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2007 Pontiac G5


The vast majority of vehicles that automotive journalists test come from dedicated fleets maintained by the manufacturers, but once in a while, a new vehicle never makes it into that fleet. Such is the case with Pontiac's new-for-2007 G5, a car I waited for but never got my hands on.

A friend recently bought one, though, and after spending an afternoon with it, I'm not sure why Pontiac is hiding this light, flickering though it may be, under a bushel.

When Chevrolet was building the Cobalt, Pontiac had its own version, the Sunfire. When Chevy replaced the Cavalier with the Cobalt, Pontiac declined the offer for a version of that car, leaving dealers without an entry-level model. The dealers did not... Read More