2006 G6

Consumer Reviews
2006 Pontiac G6

Change Vehicle
4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

69 Reviews
2006 Pontiac G6
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 69 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by FBG6Coupe from Sherman Oaks, CA on July 28, 2015

I bought this car brand new on January 1st, 2006. It has been a dream! Fun to drive, beautiful styling, comfortable, powerful and quiet engine. I have replaced the radio twice, fixed a steering shaft issue, and a wheel bearing. Other than that, just normal maintenance. I'm approaching 90k miles, and it still gets the fuel economy on the sticker (21.29), I actually average 30 and above on the freeway. I don't know why others have had so many problems, my only guess is that the first owner really put the car through alot, then got rid of it, so the second owner is dealing with the fallout. In any event, I can't imagine loving another car as much. Exterior styling is classy and elegant yet sporty and youthful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable and good car for the money.

by Who told you that? from DeKalb, Il on August 23, 2011

Overall gas milage sitting at 31 mpg. The 3.6 V6 has plenty of power. Smooth ride, nice handling. Other than basic maintanance I haven't had to put any money into it what-so-ever. It's a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First ever Earth Bound Rocket! G6 GT

by fjlogic from Jacksonville,Fl on July 29, 2006

This car is what America Should be simply put. It looks sportier in all black/crome, with the retractable roof feels like i'm about to take flight. It also feels and rides like a luxury car, I sometimes forget that it's a 4 door sedan. The leather quality isnt bad. everytime I get into mine I have the feeling of conformity. like it was built just for me. KITT eat your heart out, G6 GT is King...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned

by John from Depauw,In on January 26, 2007

I was really surprised when the salesman brought the g6 up for me to test drive. I had told him what I was looking for and he showed me a 2006 g6 gt leather seats moon roof ect. all the bells and whistles .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by Car Enthusiast from on August 17, 2009

I love this car. I own the GTP version, and it is a blast. I have also owned the v6 version of the Mazda 6 and this is a much better car all around. I can't speak to the other models but the GTP is has plenty of power and great suspension and powerful if not over powered brakes. The governor does stop the car at 115 but be sure it reaches it quickly. It has been a great car and I've had it for 2 years now and haven't had any problems with it. You wont find a better price to power ratio than this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 G6 base 4 cylinder

by Cheryl from roch. ny on May 23, 2006

pro's -nice cockpit -exterior styling -4 cylinder performance and fuel economy -quite interior, nice ride -good handling -sweet red backlighting Con's -seats not up on luxury -no airbags, abs, or traction -not a lot of interior storage -no center pull down armrest in rear -rear visiblity overall---above average car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

bad car

by JMDaniels from port henry, ny on March 23, 2017

the design is beautiful, the rest of it isn't worth having. bad on gas. expensive to register. awful electronic gas pedal.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An actuall great touring car!

by Chris from Cincinnati, OH on November 1, 2006

This car is great on long trips. No fatigue at all. The only thing that I don't like about the interior is I can't find a comfortable place for my left arm to rest. But other than that, PERFECT CAR!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

high-maintenance, expensive upkeep, reliable

by FreshHajicek from Coon rapids, MN on June 27, 2017

Car is spacious, comfortable ride, upkeep is expensive to maintain but worth it when its been 9 years and counting and the car still runs like brand new. Quick acceleration is always a plus! Trunk is decent size. Overall - car is not bad at all as long as you take care of the maintenance and dont run it into the ground!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent first car

by Car lover from Milwaukee, WI on July 23, 2008

This is the first new car I have ever owned and it has been absolutely spectacular. I bought it after test-driving 16 other cars, ranging from the Ford Fusion to the Chevy HHR, and I have not been disappointed in my choice. The engine is exceptionally quiet even at highway speeds. The transmission has no problem picking the gear I want, which is unusual for me, given that all of my cars prior to this one had had manual transmissions. The rear seat has ample leg room for friends and family. The fuel economy is pretty good, as I generally get around 30 mpg in combined driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Our Expert Review: 2006 Pontiac G6