1999 Sunfire

Consumer Reviews

1999 Pontiac Sunfire

$230 - $5,046  MSRP Range
1999 Pontiac Sunfire

Review Score

3.2 out of 5 stars

3.2

8 Reviews
63% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.6 out of 5 stars Performance
3.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
3.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.2 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 1999 Pontiac Sunfire?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

hi

by jessie from mississippi on July 29, 2006

i love this car its great i think every girl should have one it looks great and handles nice and when you drive with the top down omg i love it thats all i can say i donno why ppl don't like it but i do

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Little Car

by Crystal from Columbus, IN on September 10, 2007

Got a real deal with this little car. It's very reliable and gets great gas mileage. It has the appearance of a sports car without the loss of Gas mileage. It's really a perfect high school car or a couple. My few complaints... The back seat is kinda small so carrying passengers back there isn't that comfy. There's only one cupholder up front. My biggest complaint is that mine didn't have power windows/locks. :( But, it was comfortable to drive! And you just feel good driving it. Loads of storage, huge glovebox, huge trunk, center console. And the gear shift is super nifty. So, I really like it and I think it's a great little car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A great car

by bearkatkitten from Austin, Texas on July 23, 2007

I've had my Sunfire for eight years now. She's well traveled and have no problems with her really. First year, the starter failed, but got that changed. Had to get the brakes fixed about three years ago, but if you've had the car for that long, brakes do go out. There was one recall for the ignition... easy fix. All and all, I've had no problems with the car. She's got a quick get up and go speed. She handles curves easily. My only complaint might be there's only one cup holder in the front and it's in a weird spot. And, it's also small. It's too close to the gear shift. The trunk is plenty big. I like, the fact, that you can collapse the back seats to make more room in the trunk should you have something long to put back there. Plenty room, especially for us tall, long legged types. The fuel gage is a little funky. When you've got maybe a quarter of a tank left, the lever keeps moving below the line to where it says it's empty. So, you don't know exactly how much you have left until you push on the brake and it moves back up but then moves back down just second after you push the brake. Gets great gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good First Car

by Karp from Cleveland, OH on March 2, 2011

This was both my sisters car before it was mine. I really was not looking forward to owning it and calling it mine. However, with how cheap you can find parts for an older car like this, changing the appearance was very easy and its very easily customized. An all around good car for the money.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great value

by branchscorpion from WV on October 8, 2009

Have had the car for better than a year and a half, no problems other than those corrected after purchase. Average 30 miles per gallon open road with no down time or unexpected surprises.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

It's Ok Not the Best Not The Worst

by SportyGuy from Phoenix, Az on July 27, 2013

The car will get you from A to B, but is uncomfortable at best. Expensive to get the guage fixed. Most work that needs to be done is cosmetic at this point, but will be looking for something better a few months down the line. Don't think I would recommend this car to a friend unless it was an absolute must have a vehicle.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Would not recommend

by 99Kay from Detroit, MI on January 31, 2014

1999 Sunfire SE. This car was given to me for free as a surprise in 2011. I was happy to have a free car considering my 1992 Saturn wasn't doing well. However, the car, off the used lot, had a transmission problem - it slips whenever parked on sloped/non flat surfaces. Also, I had to press down on the gas to start the car - maybe a vacuum leak. Over the years it needed general repair like battery, alternator, brakes. But unexpectedly need brake lines because they rusted, serpentine belt broke, then head gasket blew, and needs a muffler! After reading forums, I found that blown head gasket and other problems are common among GM brands, especially Pontiac.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Don't Waste Your Money

by Never Buying Another Pontiac from Eastern U.S. on December 19, 2006

Extremely unreliable. I've had the car for 3.5 years, and for the past 2.5 years, significant problems appeared quite often. These include problems with the transmission, ignition, anti-theft system, and engine. In the last 4 months, I've had problems with the ignition, anti-theft system, and engine and spent about $2,000 to fix these problems. Of course, it didn't end there. The car seems to be having engine problems again, and I refuse to spend another $500+ to fix it, so I'll be buying a new car as soon as possible.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1999 Pontiac Sunfire

This is no place for wimps. The speed limits run from 55 mph to 70 mph. But everyone drives 80 mph and higher, including me.

I'm no scofflaw. But going slower than the actual median speed on this road is an invitation to the coroner's office. I'd rather go to court.

It's nerve-racking civil disobedience, particularly in the car I'm driving, the 1999 Pontiac Sunfire SE coupe.

I got it from National Car Rental at Detroit-Wayne County Metropolitan Airport. The car is generally in good shape, with a bit more than 2,300 miles on the odometer. But it's wheezing in high-speed traffic, struggling to breathe.

In fairness, this is not the best of the Sunfires, the structural and mechanical twins of... Read More