Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2000 Sunfire

Consumer Reviews

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

$5 - $4,413  MSRP Range
2000 Pontiac Sunfire

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

13 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.5 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Pontiac Sunfire?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Decent car for the money

by JRGofLO from Attica Indiana on Thu Feb 12 2009

I bought my 2000 Sunfire se 2.2 bran new in April of 2000. I now have 235,000 miles on it and she's still going strong on many original parts. I've only replaced the Trans (due to misuse, not faulty trans), fuel pump & headlight harness electrical issues and of course the usual wear n tear items (brakes, tires ect..) still has original engine, exhaust, suspension components, altenator, starter. Not bad for a car originally retailing for $14,000

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great

by College Gal from Indy on Fri Jul 10 2009

Although I have replaced things such as the battery and brakes there has not been any super expensive work that has been needed. There are about 110,000 miles and its still going strong!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE MY SUNFIRE!!!!!

by Lovemysunfire! from Rhode Island on Thu Jul 10 2008

I've been driving my Sunfire for a little over two years. I have had a few minor problems with it since I purchased it, but nothing life threatening; my windshield wiper fluid wasn't spraying, the dash lightbulb blew (I replaced it with an LED light). It's the most comfortable two door that I have been in and all of my friends want me to sell it to them. It's a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2000 Sunfire Coupe

by Philly from Philadelphia, PA on Sat Dec 18 2010

I got the car used in 2002 with about 38,000 miles and have since gotten it up to 143k. I drove until a month ago when I got a knock in the engine. Car was very reliable, it never broke down on me. Over the years I used it equally as a (major) city car (DC/NYC/PHL) as well as a highway commuter. Was relatively low maintenance over the years, and I took pretty good care of it mechanically and ran it on synthetic. I had hoped it would last a bit longer than it has mileage-wise, but I abused it a lot and also drove with a roof rack/bikes for a large portion of the miles. Not a bad vehicle for the money though.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car!!!

by JD from Manitowoc, WI on Tue Mar 27 2012

I have the GT versoin that i got in 2011 with 161,000 miles on it and it still runs great! Very smooth riding car with an excellent sounding engine! Very little maintence required. Very nice car! If you keep excellent care of it, it will take excellent care of you!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

most reliable car i know of

by pontiacs all the way from binghamton ny on Mon Mar 21 2011

i had one as well as my sons teenage friend my car rolled 300,000 miles and was running strong when i sold it and my sons friend put his to the limits with taking it off road, speeding, jumping, and playing with the e brake it was running when he sold his to get a pick up

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great car for what I spent

by Cindy from Newton,Iowa on Tue Mar 05 2013

I got more than I was expecting, with a little cosmetic work when I have it painted all will be good as new. The salesmen were extremely helpful, polite & knowledgeable throughout the entire transaction. I'm very happy with my car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Good Car

by Smokin Joe from Pittsburgh, PA on Tue Oct 30 2007

This car has been great for me. It handles well and drives well in the snow. It is a good car for it's value.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Over 200K miles and going strong

by LB on Thu Nov 02 2017

Other than poor exterior clearcoat and paint, this has been the best car I ever owned. Reliable, economic, sporty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2002 Sunfire SE Coupe. 2.2L SFI OHV. 4 Speed Auto.

by Sunny from Alberta, Canada on Tue Dec 16 2014

I bought my 2002 model Sunfire in 2013 with 187,000 Km on it. All original and in amazing condition for the year. Mostly highway km. Only parts replaced so far; O2 Sensor (Before I owned it.) I installed new front brake discs and pads, new headlight, 4 new winter tires and just Oil Changes every 5000 km. It will go through pretty much anything if you take it easy. Deep mud or crazy snow, it just goes and goes. Super hard to kill these little Sunfires. I now have 222000 km on the vehicle and it still runs and drives like a champ. Starts every time and even starts up perfectly in the dense cold. Maintenance is very easy on the wallet and easy on yourself as it is quite simple to repair the vehicle on your own. Fuel economy is excellent as well. Average of $35 to $45 to fill the tank with 87 Regular and it will last for over a week of steady driving. If mine ever died, I'd definitely be getting another! :) I highly recommend the Pontiac Sunfire, it will always get you to your destination safely and on time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2