2003 Sunfire

Consumer Reviews

2003 Pontiac Sunfire

$28 - $5,120  MSRP Range
2003 Pontiac Sunfire

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

20 Reviews
80% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Pontiac Sunfire?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Sunfire - Owned three of them

by Sunfire Lover from Irving, TX on Wed May 02 2012

Great car - I step on the gas and it moves. Fun car; love the looks that's why I've owned three of them. Only problem I've ever had was the auto-window switch that I replaced on one car. Very dependable; so sorry they don't make them any more.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Don't listen to the experts

by isotope01 from Albuquerque, NM on Sat Aug 29 2009

the experts keep ragging on it as being a 20,000 dollar car and not worth the money. I bought this car for 13,000 brand new, and well equipped. The FEW issues I have encountered have been minor and easily/cheaply fixed! Driving is wonderful! Really smooth ride, and excellent handling. Where other American manufactured cars turning radius' are very limiting(**FORDS**) the sunfire is excellent. It can easily pull a u-turn in a wide residential street without having to reverse at all. Acceleration is excellent. In the 5-speed standard transmission there is a lot of speed control that can be done purely by laying off the accelerator, there is absolutely no need to be on the brake all the time in city traffic. Gas mileage is excellent. Interior is nice. Bucket seats in front are comfortable. All controls are easily reached and well placed. Drawbacks? rear passengers need to be aware of very little head room, but if you are like me and rarely have more than one person in your car, this is not an issue. As for the front seat belts strangling you when you get in the back seat I have one thing to say... IT'S A COUPE!!! WHAT DID YOU EXPECT???

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great first car!

by My First Car from Virginia on Sat Oct 10 2009

We have needed absolutely no repair work on this car in almost 100,000 miles of operation! (of course we've replaced the tires) This was a great first car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable & Great gas mileage

by SPICE1952 from Spanaway, WA on Mon Oct 13 2008

I have not had any problems with my car INTERIOR, STYLE, DUAL EXHAUST AND SATELLITE. GREAT VALUE FOR THE COST.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Pontiac EVer

by Sunfire is tha best from Mphs,TN on Mon May 10 2010

I have had this car for 5 years and it has over 100,000 miles on it. It still runs like new! I love this car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best First car a person could have

by Love My Sunfire from on Tue Apr 19 2011

i love this care. its the best standard car i've ever driven. its small but i love that about it. its perfect for me. It also saves a ton of money on gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2003 sunfire

by splicer7 from Alsip, Illinois on Wed Aug 13 2014

A great little car that does just what its suppose to do and that is to get from point a to point b and use as little of gas as possible. Had the 2005 and sold it to my daughter. Seating in this car is much more comfortable as the seats are much more padded. (giving up about 2 inches to the wheel because of the padding. Drives perfect as did my 2005. If you have 80k you might consider changing out the struts. You'll be glad you did. my 2003 also has abs,traction control,and a moonroof.Also, if you've got a little extra cash i would advise bigger tires. 205-55r or 60r 15's for the front and 215's for the back. Handles a whole lot better when you get this done as well. Will i buy another one. maybe not because when I'm done with this one their probably wont be another one out there with less than 50k.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My Ride or Die

by Demarii06 from Atlanta, ga on Sat Dec 09 2017

I just hit 250k miles on my car last week and it is still running great. I?ve only had to replace the alternator on it in the 10 years I?ve owned it and replace the shifter link). It?s survived the 4 accidents (never at fault), Atlanta?s commute and traffic and is always reliable. I absolutely love my car and will keep driving it even though I can afford a new one. I can?t wait until I hit 300k.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first Pontiac

by Ozz from Frankfort, Illinois on Thu Apr 19 2018

I loved my Sunfire, it was fun to drive,reliable, good on gas, sporty styling, and a beautiful shade of blue. Shortly after buying this car Pontiac went under, so this was my first and last new Pontiac. Unfortunately age and climate took it's toll and had to put the Sunfire into retirement

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Long Lasting Vehicle

by cjb27898 from Delaware on Wed Oct 04 2017

This car is cheap and lasts a long time. My car has 205k miles on it and still works. It has its ups and downs, but what car doesn't when it gets to that many miles? It is fairly cheap to repair any of the damaged parts, and it is a smooth riding car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2