2017 718 Boxster

Consumer Reviews

2017 Porsche 718 Boxster

$56,000 - $68,400  MSRP Range
2017 Porsche 718 Boxster

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

23 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2017 Porsche 718 Boxster?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Solid Vehicle - Responsive.

by Tiffany from Boston, MA on Wed Jul 05 2017

I am thrilled to be the new owner of a 718 Boxster S. With 350 horsepower this car moves on a dime. The car is tight/solid. I recommend this car to female executives like myself that want the thrill of a sportscar but the reliability, comfort and safety you feel with a larger vehicle. This baby packs it all in! Go for it! -- I've driven porsches for 18 years...never disappoints.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car to drive

by Jay9999 from South plainfield, nj on Sun Aug 20 2017

Have had it for a week and love it so far. The top comes down easily and every time I have take the car out.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not the ultimate driving machine

by Q-Tip from Pennsylvania on Tue Sep 06 2016

I believe the BMW M cars Handel as well or if not better than the Porsche Boxer S. Exterior styling is not as interesting as a new C-7 Corvette, and the Corvette for my opinion is a better buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 7th Porsche

by SeanC64 from Cali Robles on Fri Sep 15 2017

this is my 7th Porsche and by far, the best Porsche I have ever had. I love the new engine and the performance of the car. The engine and sound are great and I think there is way too much emphasis on the new 4 cylinder being not as good as the outgoing 6 cyl, The new 718 is a phenomenal car and is the fastest Porsche I have ever owned. I love this car and recommend it to anyone looking for an all around great sports car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing upgrade in some aspects exceeds my 911.

by Rastet from on Fri Jun 09 2017

Instrumentation, handling, value and quality Provide a Hallmark vehicle standard for Porsche Sportscars.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Porsche tribute to the 718

by Interpath from FORT MYERS on Tue May 15 2018

The Boxster S 718 version has 350 (underated) HP, and 309 Ft. Lbs. of Torque, which combined with a sport chronometer and 7-speed automatic PDK transmission provides a real world sports car experience, especially with the top down (in Florida). The mid-engine design layout provides unique, balanced handling characteristics. The car, that is, engine/transmission and tire/suspension combination work in complementary manner to deliver an unequaled performance relative to cost. After reading numerous reviews, USA and abroad, it seemed the only handicap for this 4 cylinder Turbo engine was the exhaust system. I installed an aftermarket Fabspeed full turboback system and not only decreased weight (from the OEM) by 36 Lbs., but also improved power (10 whp+), not to mention acquiring a new, low frequency (bass) exhaust note with burbles, and pops that turns heads and receives many compliments, including from 911 owners- no doubt because of the Boxster engine design layout. Exhaust note problem solved. Finally, some concluding comments - This car exceeds my driving capabilities while being so forgiving and actually improving my driving skill level. Acceleration, handling, and braking (20 inch Carrera 911 S wheels), and, other systems make for an experience that Porsche owners revere, and return to...time after time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice try even with blown Subi engine

by Tote from Dallas tx on Sun Jun 18 2017

Engine borderline acceptable styling nice handling almost as good as Miata but non tacky styling and more hip room Overpricedad all Porsche hopefully as reliable and sage

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best drivers car!

by joe the stud from ballston spa on Sun May 14 2017

read the reviews from most any mag, this car is the car to own. if you look at it as i had in the past you would over look it being price to power is weak but this car is truly the total package. PS the sound is great the only real whining you will hear is die hard.... most of which cant or wont buy the car. great job Porsche!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A home run for Porsche

by Sports Car Enthusiast from Dallas on Tue Jun 06 2017

Off the line, the 350-hp 2.5-liter shoves a little harder, particularly when you activate launch control (Porsche only stock Boxsters with PDK dual-clutch automatics), and chases the red line with more zeal. In the mid-range, the 2.5L and old flat six cylinder are remarkably similar. Its just fun and full of performance surprises.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

3rd Porsche I have owned and by far the best

by Andy from Cranbury NJ on Tue May 02 2017

The car does all that I ask or need. I have always been partial to smaller, historic British sports cars but for a weekend or longer drive it is perfect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2017 Porsche 718 Boxster

The verdict:

Incredible balance and a new turbocharged four-cylinder engine make the 718 Boxster two-seat convertible a joy to drive.

Versus the competition:

The 718 Boxster’s mid-engine, rear-wheel-drive setup makes it unique among competitors.

For the Boxster's 20th birthday this year, Porsche gave it a revised name and a full redesign. The 2017 Porsche 718 Boxster has revised styling and interior technology, plus two new engines. The engines are turbocharged horizontally opposed four-cylinders, replacing the naturally aspirated flat-six-cylinders found in all previous Porsche Boxsters. Compare the 2017 718 Boxster with last year's model here.

The new engines give the 718 Boxster even more performance, making an already engaging car even sharper. The Boxster competes against the Audi TT and Mercedes-Benz SLC-Class, as well as its fixed-roof stablemate, the Porsche Cayman GTS coupe. Compare the Boxster with those vehicles here.

What We... Read More