1996 Porsche 911
1-9 of 9 reviews
Test drive review

Simply no substitute

by from Dallas, TX on June 2, 2007

Outstanding performance. Incredible braking. Until you've driven you can only imagine. The most fun I've ever had in a sports car. I've owned many sports cars, and nothing even comes close to the Pors...
Outstanding performance. Incredible braking. Until you've driven you can only imagine. The most fun I've ever had in a sports car. I've owned many sports cars, and nothing even comes close to the Porsche 911. The accelleration in this car is awesome. The 911 requires high octane fuel and I highly recommend it. Lower octane fuel does adversely impact performance. If you are in the market for a true sports car experience the 911 is a must see.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Porsche 911 - Accept no substitute

by from Los Angeles on May 31, 2012

I have had my 993 for about 5 years and use it as a weekend fun car. Even though mine has over 95K miles, it looks, feels and drives like a brand new car. People cannot believe that it is a 95. If yo...
I have had my 993 for about 5 years and use it as a weekend fun car. Even though mine has over 95K miles, it looks, feels and drives like a brand new car. People cannot believe that it is a 95. If you have never owned one of these 993s, do yourself a favor and drive one and you will be hooked. You will have a smile on your face from the minute you get in it.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

It's Reliable But Small

by from New York, NY on February 18, 2013

This car is great. It's got great handeling and is great fun to drive, but it has its downsides. The gearbox is starting to get noisy and it's starting to feel cramped but overall 5 stars. Why? Well i...
This car is great. It's got great handeling and is great fun to drive, but it has its downsides. The gearbox is starting to get noisy and it's starting to feel cramped but overall 5 stars. Why? Well it actually has a pretty big boot and it as I said is really fun to drive. Ours is a Standard Carrera Hardtop that's black on black and it's great!
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

I own one

by from on September 5, 2009

If you modify these cars with the German OEM springs and put onBilstein shocks you get a better appearance, sup0erior handling and -depending on which suspension you install (standard German or Sports...
If you modify these cars with the German OEM springs and put onBilstein shocks you get a better appearance, sup0erior handling and -depending on which suspension you install (standard German or Sports) you will have a car that looks and handkes even better than the original US model. Checvk if the secondary air injection ports are clogged with a simple On Borad Dianostic II check (96-8 have OBD II). The sports suspensionm has better balance in the sway bars underneath and makes the car handle like a true sports car by modern standards, but it is firm. Normally the SAI ports clog up if oil consumption is even wuite satisfactory (say, 1000 miles per qt). If you get a car with 3-6ooo miles per quart I would say this will not happen. This model (the 993) is superior for the 911 enthusiast to the 1999-2004/5 996 model in excitement and handling, and is just as fast. The latest models (the 997) is, however, a superior car and replaced the slab-sided apperance of the 996 model.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Saved the best for last

by from Ma. on May 24, 2011

Have owned many nice cars; SHO, RX-7,BMW,C55AMG,but the 993 turbo is just a thrill to drive.Wish i had got it sooner!!!
Have owned many nice cars; SHO, RX-7,BMW,C55AMG,but the 993 turbo is just a thrill to drive.Wish i had got it sooner!!!
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Oldie but Goodie

by from on April 23, 2009

Perfect for middle-aged car people... I myself am a middle-aged guy who just loves true sports cars.
Perfect for middle-aged car people... I myself am a middle-aged guy who just loves true sports cars.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Looks good, but...

by from Seattle, WA on January 23, 2010

I hope there's a lot of cushion in that price. 993's were the last and best of the air-cooled's, but a '96 with 87K miles is closer to a $22K-23K car.
I hope there's a lot of cushion in that price. 993's were the last and best of the air-cooled's, but a '96 with 87K miles is closer to a $22K-23K car.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Last and Best of air cooled porsche 911

by from Mission Viejo Ca on June 9, 2017

Great looking car with plenty of power. Stylish and classic car at the same time. It can be a weekend or daily driver car. Price for this car is going up rather down. Roughly 2100 unit sold in USA.
Great looking car with plenty of power. Stylish and classic car at the same time. It can be a weekend or daily driver car. Price for this car is going up rather down. Roughly 2100 unit sold in USA.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Owner

by from Orange county, California on April 19, 2017

Fast, good looking Reliable car. Low mileage for the age of the car. Actual mileage with no modification or tempering. Have to sell due to medical reason.
Fast, good looking Reliable car. Low mileage for the age of the car. Actual mileage with no modification or tempering. Have to sell due to medical reason.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
See Model Details
Our Expert Review: 1996 Porsche 911