1999 911

Consumer Reviews

1999 Porsche 911

$10,568 - $32,392  MSRP Range
1999 Porsche 911

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

27 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1999 Porsche 911?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Everyday Sports Car

by Porsche Enthusiast! from Washington, DC on Tue Jul 31 2007

Porsche does an amazing job at bringing the everyday car and the high end exotic sports car together. The power, handling and braking is unparalleled in it's class. Once you drive one, you'll never turn back. Make sure you purchase colors like Black, silver, gray and red... other colors tend to be harder to resell. Steer clear of automatics/tiptronics. Who wouldn't want the 6spd manual!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

a real hot rod

by micro from orangecounty on Mon Jan 21 2013

a great car , very sound n fast, mass air sensor goes out every 3 years, know one knows why.I drive it daily.It is a very reliable car,its my first one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Found the car at last

by Limey from Maine on Sun Sep 02 2012

I have spent several years looking for the combination of 911, Carrera 4, cabrolet, manual shift and low mileage (<30,000). Finaly found the vehicle. I have owned a couple of Porsches in the past, but was always impressed with the "964" vehicles produced by Porsches. Great power, great fit and finish...a true sportscar. This vehicle is extremly (show room clean). The only issue was the tires..alittle worn with flat spots. She runs great with new skins. My only concern was the potential IMS issues. I gave the owner a new oil change so that I could analyze the oil for potential debris. There was no problem, but I do plan on having the IMS bearing changed soon.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pure Pleasure

by Sai from on Mon Jul 01 2013

The only thing I wish was the new headlight styling which is why I gave a 4 star. These cars are best driven on either narrow windy roads or highways. Sheer pleasure when I join highways at an intersection as I can get the pleasure of both. You gotta drive a Porsche if you like to drive. I have owned two Porsches. A 1984 944 and now a 1999 911. I'd rather drive an old Porsche than any new car for that price anyway!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Totally reliable AND fun

by Porsche convert from South Carolina on Sun Oct 28 2012

Best of all Porsches I've owned. Best of all other sport cars, including BMWs, Lotus, etc. The new body and engine are incredible, more spacious, easier to drive, more fun and faster. It still looks very current today, and this model looks the same for 4 model years after this one. Reliability has been great for me, with lots of miles. I get lots of attention nearly every time I'm out in it. The value is quite good, when you consider what you are driving and how it holds its value. If you like sports cars and haven't driven one, do. You will never look back. Enjoy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great buy!!!!

by gio from lancaster ca. on Sat Aug 10 2013

i just bought my 1999 porsche 911 996. i love it. the acceleration is amazing. if i have any complaints is that it isnt the most comfortable ride and you can hear and feel the motor loudly, but i personally like the sound and feel. the stereo is also very cheap. but i purchas the vehcle for performance and the name. it is a very good looking car. best performance car for your buck, for sure. it can handle a corner better than most cars and it is fast. im glad i traded my infiniti g35 for this 911.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First water cooled 911 is still AWESOME!

by Porschefan24 from PAWLEYS ISLAND, SC on Sun Jun 18 2017

1999 was first year the water cooled Porsche 911 Carrera appeared in the USA and was not initially appreciated by Porsche fans as it failed to maintain the unique air cooled history of the iconic 911, and its new appearance, too similar to the recently introduced water cooled, mid-engined Boxster, was perceived as a lesser Porsche to hardcore fans. Yet, its evolution from the original was still quite evident. Yes, it was larger, had a longer wheelbase, more passenger and cargo space, better fuel economy, higher performance characteristics, and, if you could ignore the naysayers, was a better all around sports car, ready for the PORSCHE Car Company to enter the 20th Century. I have owned a 911 Targa; then a Porsche 928S with its front V-8 engine, rear drive transaxle, unique styling; a wonderful 911 Carrera Cabriolet with the advanced G-51 transmission, but the 996 Carrera (1999) was a significant improvement, well suited to spirited driving and easily adapted for use as a daily driver. I have enjoyed every Porsche (I have had a total of five)and found each new iteration to be exactly what I expected and more, a truly joyful driving experience, whether taking the kids to school or traveling soccer team games, or coming home on Friday night in anticipation of the weekend. I have also owned a 2001 Boxster, which I found had it own unique driving characteristics, admirable in how it handled, and its lower acquisition cost offered opportunities for many folks to experience just how engaging the PORSCHE automobile can be. I recommend the 1999 Porsche 911 Carrera for anyone interested in exploring the unique spirited driving experience that only Porsche cars offer. I promise it will be truly rewarding to drivers who have never taken the wheel of this amazing car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1999 Porsche 911 Carrera

by Kaiser Chief from Charlotte NC on Wed Jul 24 2013

Having had the opportunity to thoroughly educate myself on the tiptronic v 6 speed with test drives of both vehicles and then with the real possibility that I have to choose the 6 speed just because I did not want to give up on my aging "racer" status just yet. I was surprised, very surprised that the tiptronic can do as well if not better than even the most swift footed testoroned male out in the real world and that being your average main street stop light. This 911 took of like a rocket and the poor Mustang owner who had the misfortune to pick a soon-to-be Porsche owner experiencing his first rip off the line, became a sad faced Ford person. But worse was to come for him, as, realizing that another stop light loomed, decided to bow out the contest by moving into my lane thus avoiding another embarrassing match up at the light. This car is blisteringly fast and will not disappoint. Best $28K that I have spent in quite some time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Look for asn old one and rebuild it

by scorpian from arizona on Mon Dec 22 2014

My first was a 356b. Tried to rebuild it right but money was a problem when I was young. Have been fortunate enough to have life catch up with my taste in cars. They are all really great, even ahd an auto(never again). I czan't work on them anymore and as I age money is becominmg a problem, but I have the memories and the photos. that said never buy a 928 NEVER, NEVER. The old one's are kinda like beetles, sort of,.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The legendary Porsche 911

by Markus from on Tue May 09 2017

The iconic and legendary Porsche 911 is the quintessential sports car with its timeless design. The 911 is race inspired both in form and function, and can be tracked with no modifications. The legendary flat 6 engine delivers a smooth powerband which provides phenomenal acceleration and always leaves a smile on the drivers face.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1999 Porsche 911

It's easy to see where Porsche spent most of its money a few years ago when the German sports car maker redid the 911.

The boys down in engineering walked away with most of the loot. The interior decorators apparently didn't have much to work with.

But that's OK.

I can point out plenty of reasons why the 911 is crude. But they are all wiped out by the fact that the car is terrific fun to drive.

Yes, it would be nice if the seats were more comfortable, if the radio were easier to operate, if any person, even a child, could fit in the back seat and if the ignition switch were on the proper side of the dash, not planted off to the left.

But as soon as the turbinelike whoosh of the engine... Read More