Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2000 911

Consumer Reviews

2000 Porsche 911

$8,254 - $35,038  MSRP Range
2000 Porsche 911

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

24 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Porsche 911?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

What a THRILLING RIDE!

by Gilby from Folsom, CA on Wed Aug 23 2006

Hug the corners, enjoy the ride, top over 70 mph and feel the control as the rear spoiler rises adding to the look and the performance. Relish in the attention from friends, family and onlookers. Join an elite group of owners and have your own Porsche, even join the local Porsche club for some awesome rides with other enthusiasts. Beautiful blue color that changes with the reflection of the sun. Excellent condition, thrilling ride!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best irrational buy ever

by New Porschefile from DeLand, FL on Wed Nov 08 2006

Purchased this car several years ago on a whim after becoming tired of the basic sedans and the frequent dealership visits for repairs on them. I never expected to have so much fun and reliability out of this thing. All my qualms disappeared after the first few days of ownership. Well worth the extra cost no matter how pragmatic I am. Initial plan was to make it a garage queen, but to my surprise it has become my daily driver. It has only required basic maintenance service. There are a couple serious reported problems with some 996's but I run this hard and have not seen any and most will not. My only disappointment is limited seating as the long trips don't work for a family of five. My youngest kids are now starting to outgrow the back seats which is a shame because they all love to ride in it. Gas mileage is decent at 18/23 actual. There are more powerful cars out there but none as versatile. It does very well on public roads and on the track without any mods. I have gone to several dealerships looking at trading for a BMW, Corvette, Maserati, GTO, and Vette engined Cadillac. Lovely brand new cars but my wife said I could never trade-in my Porsche and made me sleep on it each time. She was right for once. I can't explain its staying power, as before this I never really thought much of Porsches and thought them unreliable. The dealership and Porsche NA have also been a level above the oher companies that I have have dealt with as well. I only hope it will remain that way.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fits like a glove and built like a masterpiece

by Future Cayman Owner from Los Angeles, CA on Sat Oct 13 2007

Extremely reliable and fun car to drive every day - even ALL day. I've driven it across the country several times and even at sustained speeds over 90 MPH for several hours it never complains. The car is actually happiest driving fast.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

There really is no substitute!

by Porsche Lover from Maryland on Mon Jan 09 2012

Love the car, the performance and styling is everything that you would expect from the legendary 911. Reliability is exceptional, as long as you keep up the required maintenance, oil changes, brake fluid changes, etc.etc....Actually alot cheaper to maintain then my other vehicles. The interior design is excellent, but I cant give it a five star rating because it doesnt have cup holders.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best 911 Ive owned so far

by Car NUT from NY on Sat Dec 18 2010

Ive gone through about a dozen Audis, Porsches and this is the best so far, super reliable and still built like a tank like the cars form the eighties. Performance is good with sprints to 60 around 5 seconds and a top speed of 175+!!! Very comfortable ride, this car just does what its asked to do. One of the best cars Ive owned so far, and with todays market they are a steal for what they are, you get reliability, looks and speed for the price of a japanese economy car!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

3rd Porsche in 40 years

by moondoggy from Lake Anna, VA on Mon Mar 28 2011

Had 356 and 914 in 60s and 70s. Just bought the 2000 C2 cab w/hard top/40k miles from TX used car dealer. Found excellent independent inspector. Car performs fantastically and with hard top on, has best looks over coupe and cab. Only option is hard top. No glove box, onboard computer, elec seats, multi disc player, etc., but, all overlooked while driving and participating at PCA events. Have docs for maint plus new belt. I live in central VA (celebrating recent VCU win). Amazing to think that while driving at interstate speeds of 70 mph, have 105 more on speedo. Room for grandsons in rear seats. Wife loves it, too. Only drawback is very expensive extended warranty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dependable

by car buff from Dallas, texas on Thu Mar 31 2011

Suspention is great. The re-sale value is also very good.no major toubles at all. I would recomend this for all ages.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One look and one drive and you will buy it.

by Surferjohn54 from Memphis, Tn. on Mon May 14 2018

The 911 is the ultimate sports car. It has that type of ride but it will almost pin you to the seat in any gear or speed. The manual shows it topping out at 178. I took It to Midtown Motorwerks and they went through it and everything has been taken care of, all fluids flushed. Too much to list. If you want a 911 you truly won't need to do anything for a while, this is it. Great car I just got another one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Sports Car Ever!

by sports car lover from South East on Sun Oct 28 2012

I've owned lots of fast cars, and, overall this is the best by far. So much more refined than earlier Porsches, more reliable than other sport cars, great looking and soooo much fun to drive. I was worried about the rear main seal issues, but as I've talked to other owners and repair shops, turns out its not really common. And for the price of a used sport sedan, the value is incredible.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

PORSCHE Enthusiasts

by PORSCHES FOREVER from JERSEY SHORE on Tue Oct 01 2013

Great car at a great price from a great dealership.I highly recommend Project One dealership a great inventory of pre owned luxury sports cars with a casual atmosphere and no high pressure sales.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2000 Porsche 911

Some cars are theater. Their use requires proper staging. Such is the case with the new Porsche 911 Carrera 4.

This is no ordinary car; nor is it an ordinary Porsche. It comes with four-wheel drive and two rear seats that actually are usable, at least for small people.

Equipped with a two-in-one Tiptronic S transmission--an automatic that doubles as a manual--it can be driven as a daily urban commuter or as a long-distance runner. And should you and your insurer think it wise, you can take it to the local racetrack for a thrilling spin.

But that is not what I mean by staging. Porsches in general, and the 911 Carrera 4 in particular, are works of art. They are four-wheeled dance, high-powered music... Read More