2005 911

Consumer Reviews
2005 Porsche 911

Change Vehicle
5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

20 Reviews
2005 Porsche 911
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.9 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Porsche 911 (997) Carrera Cabriolet

by emptymotte from Rhode Island on December 27, 2012

The Porsche 911 Carrera has always been a fun car. I owned a 1996 911 (993-series), which was the last of the air-cooled models. That was fast, fun... but a little hair-raising at its limits, especially in wet weather. The 997 series, which was introduced in 2005 and ran through 2012, is absolutely superb in almost every respect. True, the vehicles are expensive to buy, but compared to other "super cars," they represent superlative value for money. Mine is a rear-drive, 6-speed manual Cabriolet with 40,000 miles. It runs flawlessly, handles better than any car I've ever owned (28 of them altogether), accelerates like a rocket, has a slick 6-speed shifter and has proved to be as reliable as a Rolex. I recommend the 997-series Carerra (Coupe, Cabriolet or Targa) to anyone seeking the thrills of a beautfully balanced and exquisitely made driver's car, with the solidity and reliabililty of a any ol' regular German sedan. It truly is an impressive machine and is a wonderful sports car that can be driven almost every day... I only avoid driving it in the snow and ice. That would be tempting fate and I couldn't bear for its Arctic Silver Metallic paintwork to be marred by grit and salt. Every time I drive it, I smile like a total goon. EVERY TIME!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Sports Car Enthusiast from Orlando, FL on February 20, 2007

I've owned Porsche since 1988. This has been the most thrilling, best handling Porsche yet. The 911 Carrera lives up to it's reputation in every respect. I found it to be comfortable and secure especially at higher speeds. It fits like a glove and puts a smile on your face.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best sports car- Porsche 997

by Porsche enthusiast from OH on December 7, 2011

I will buy another Porsche in the future! I have owned a 911 for a few years now and just recently upgraded to 997. This is the kind of car that retains its beauty as it gets older. That is why the 911 styling is iconic. When one sees that car on the road whether it is old or new model it will continue attract attention on the roads! There is only one 911- past, present or future.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Check one more off the bucket list

by Porsche Fan from Los Angeles Ca on April 3, 2014

Owned a 2000 Boxster for the last 12 years and thought it was the greatest handling car I would ever own. 14 years old and only 21,000 miles. Never outside of a garage at night ever. But I decided it was time to get rid of the convertible and found this pristine 2005 S from a cars.com ad. The moment I saw it I was in love. Seal gray with Sand Beige interior. . Fast, Smooth, easier to drive than the Boxster. When I wake up in he middle of the night I scoot downstairs and peek to make sure it isn't a dream. Vroooom

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Carrera S by Techart

by Gerard Durand from Marlton NJ 08053 on December 23, 2017

Extremely fun to drive, inexpensive to own,and enjoyable to show in every car show.Upgrade nicely done by TECHART got me lots winning trophies.a 150,000 look for a fraction of the price get me plenty of attention.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Car

by San Antonio DDS from San Antonio, Texas on April 1, 2014

I bought this car with 32,000 miles on it, and it is in pristine condition. It is very fun to drive. I will add a blue and IPhone connector as it does not come standard with year. Great value for the money I spent. Porsche make excellent cars.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The original, best sports car ever made!

by CoreyC2S from Vernon, CT on July 6, 2017

This is easily the best car I've ever owned, and I've owned nearly 30 sports cars over the past 15 years. I always admired Porsche from afar but never saw myself in one and never quite understood the hype. Then I got one, and it turned my standards for a perfect sports car upside down! There is no other car out there that has the overall package like a 911; near-supercar performance, razor-sharp handling, head-turning good looks, versatility, comfort and reliability. You can dress it up or down; it's classy or casual when you want it to be. It can go on long road trips or tear up twisty backroads. It is still modern-car fast even though it's nearly 13 years old. It's quiet until you mash the throttle. The ergonomics are virtually perfect and the no-nonsense cabin has just enough amenities to satisfy luxury car buyer and track rat alike. It's achingly good looks will never grow old. It's dog-gone reliable, in fact, the most reliable car I've owned in recent memory. And for under forty grand for all of this, you'd be insane not to buy one, at least for a little while! I honestly can't think of enough good things to say about the car. Go drive one, DRIVE ONE!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most reliable and fun car I have ever owned!

by PorscheFan from Los Angeles, CA on May 3, 2017

The best handling sports car on the market. Timeless design that looks as good today as the first day it was driven off the lot. Very high quality craftsmanship and very reliable / inexpensive to maintain (for a car of this performance level).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Porsche 911 -- A True Sports Car Defined

by 997S owner from Chapel Hill, NC on May 4, 2009

In the past I've owned an '01 Boxster S and an '03 911. Both were excellent cars, but the '05 911S (997) is a major leap forward from the '01 Boxster S and the'03 911. The '05 911S interior is much more updated and modern than the 996 and the exterior is more aerodynamic yet still retains that familiar 911 shape. It is very responsive and powerful and can slice through curves with ease, yet it is quite civilized and easy to drive. Porsche built its first 911 in 1963 and they have continued to improve it ever since then. No other sports car can match the 911's combination of reliability, performance, handling, price, value, quality, good looks and great sound. I've driven the 911 and 911S (997 models) on the track and it is truly amazing how well they perform. The '05 911S is an exceptionally-well engineered driving machine and offers plenty of driving excitement as a daily driver, second car or track car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Porsche 911 Carrera is a dreamed car

by Art from FL from Miami, FL on July 29, 2010

You might find more expensive high-performance cars and with certainly more Horsepower; but you will not find a sports car with better overall balance than the Porsche 911, and you will not find a true high-performance machine that is easier to live with as daily transportation. And on top of that, cost of maintenance is very reasonable. The most satisfying car I ever had and I bought it used. I was in the market for a nice car considering BMW, Mercedez, Lexus and Acura; but after a careful research I decided for a used Porsche 911 Carrera and I love it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2005 Porsche 911