1998 Boxster

Consumer Reviews

1998 Porsche Boxster

1998 Porsche Boxster

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

15 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Porsche Boxster?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Absolutely a blast to drive!!

by Porsche Head from TN on Tue May 18 2010

This is one of the most exciting cars to drive that I have ever owned. It is not the most powerful, or high speed car by any means, however, for a car that gets driven by the average person on average roads this car is amazing. The mid-engine makes the car hug the road and gives it unmatched cornering capabilities. The Boxster's light weight and dual-overhead cam engine gives it great HP at high RPM's which makes for a fun drive on back roads. The styling is a classic Porsche design which cannot be mistaken anywhere and gives this car a very elegant and exotic look. Top notch car especially for the price!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

boxter heaven

by C-180 pilot from nothern minnesota on Sun Feb 06 2011

number one- pay a little more and buy low miles, you get what you pay for. Other than that these cars are great! you cannot beat a mid engine sports car, handling is unmatched for the price. It looks better than a 911 cabrio , every where it is parked I catch by- standers looking at it. It's fast ,feels very solid,wonderful brakes, shifts great, feels like it's on rails, the engine starts to sing at about 5000 rpm it is hard not to floor it every time, it is the sound of music. love this car but it is not for every one, it is best used as a second car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Porsche Maintenance

by Maaspro from Canada on Thu Nov 14 2013

If buying used make sure the intermediate shaft bearing is updated if not invest the $2,500 or face catastrophic engine failure at a cost of $10-$18,000

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1999 Boxster 37K miles - No substitute!

by RWB from St. George, Utah on Wed Jun 04 2014

This car is great fun to drive. Performance and handling are excellent as this card hugs the road at any speed. Has many safety and maintenance features as you can check oil etc. from the dash. Not for taller people. About 6'2" is it for comfort. Also expect some sticker shock for repairs/oil changes, etc. Reading the owners manual is a must as there are features that are not obvious and controls do not work exactly as most american cars. Only negative on this purchase experience was the usual sales 101 pitch and info from the salesman that we consumers have come to expect. I purchased from another state and had it delivered. I was told they did a "thorough" xxx point inspection so I could purchase with confidence and the car was in "excellent" shape. It cost $4500 to bring it to excellent shape. Bottom line is now I have an excellent, fun to drive, convertible - it just cost me more than I expected.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

As Promised

by Porsche Want To Be from Dalton, MA on Tue Aug 13 2013

Car was exactly as promised and expected. Make sure you get the ISB replaced upon purchase so that you do not have a bigger issue later on. That is what I did and have comfort the engine will last for years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Strongest car I've ever owned.

by JCT from KCMO on Thu Mar 02 2017

Owned 14 years and driven 165k miles by me. Still looks great, with original paint, engine, transmission and clutch! Great balance at speed; feels like is won't get you in trouble unless you do something really stupid. With the sport exhaust, going through the gears sounds like music! A great stress reliever after a days work, even in rush hour traffic.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

advanced road machine

by fourcylinder from Santa Fe, NM on Mon Nov 14 2011

Plenty of pep and styling make this car an experience of being completely in touch with the road, acceleration, and the enviroment. Never had a car respond like this one to a drivers demands.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good fun weekend car

by car lover from California on Wed Jun 05 2013

I'm a Chevy power person but I was impressed whit the power my bosxter have I like it so much it has come to be my replacement for my muscle car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Red Porsche

by Red Porsche from knoxville,TN on Tue Oct 02 2012

Just purchased this vehicle but so far extremely happy with it. Has plenty opf power once RPM's are up and handles great. Bought for weekend use only....fun car...

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

a great car

by Intrused driver from Boston, MA on Sat Oct 14 2006

This is such a wonderful car. I wanted a 911 but i am glad I got one of these. The value for the money to performance is amazing. It really is a great car. COuld use a couple more interior features not much to do rather than listen to radio. But if you are looking for a cheper Porsche definetly get this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2