2001 Boxster

Consumer Reviews

2001 Porsche Boxster

$5,582 - $16,914  MSRP Range
2001 Porsche Boxster

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

38 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Porsche Boxster?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 38 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car - with an asterik

by Passion for Cars from Michigan on Thu Oct 28 2010

2001 Porsche Boxster Base - Automatic The Good: Timeless styling. Can get with Automatic or manual transmission. Superb brakes, as close to perfect as they come. Razor sharp handling. Very good acceleration. Could always be faster. Certainly quick enough. Good ride on crummy Northern roads with standard suspension, considering this is a 2 seat Sports Car. "S" Model suspension can be trying. Two trunks. Top down motoring at its best. It's a Porsche! The Bad: Maintenance is expensive if taken to the Dealer. Secret is to use an Independent Porsche mechanic. Buy parts online. Be religious about maintenance. Do what your Indie says, not what Porsche recommends. The asterik: Potential for engine failure (1997-2008) due to intermediate shaft bearing breakdown, with no regard to mileage or use. Engine failure is bad and very expensive. New engine is likely. Precaution is to have bearing and seals changed with better bearing and seals, and do this every 50,000 miles. Also, change oil and filter every 3-5,000 miles. Bottom Line: The above potential problem does not stop people from buying these cars, because they are awesome to drive and enjoy. Used Boxsters are a great used car value and should always be considered when shopping for a used Sports Car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Forewarned is Forearmed

by BlazerBoy from Boston, MA on Mon Jun 16 2014

My buddy talked me into buying his 2001 Boxster with manual trans and 49.0k miles. So I sold my 2001 Saab 9.3 convertible - a total pocket rocket - with about the same mileage. Granted, there's no comparison and the Boxster is by far the faster, more fun, better handling, and cooler looking car. So now I've put 5.0k more miles on it and except for a few bulbs it's been a perfect drive. The trouble is, and an earlier reviewer here mentioned it, there's a time bomb ticking in the boot - the engine - that at some point will render itself a total and unrepairable piece of junk, and will probably do bad things to the transmission and other mechanical parts when it finally goes. So now along with the exhilaration I feel every time I drive the car, I live in fear this could be its last trip. The one and only solution is to be proactive and replace the IMS bearing...to the tune of $3,500. Yep, that much. Forewarned is forearmed and I post this not to dampen your enthusiasm, but to help balance your brain with your heart, and go into the deal with eyes wide open.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Boxster Will Cure a Mid-life Crisis

by First-time Porsche owner from Charlotte, NC on Thu Jul 26 2007

I purchased a Boxster S with a 6-speed manual transmission to head off a mid-life crisis and am so glad I did. Driving a Boxster is almost like driving a large and refined go-kart. It handles exceptionally well with its wide rear tires and mid-engine design. When you "put the hammer down" you will take off quickly. Braking is solid. The gearbox is somewhat tight, so shifting gears should be done firmly. The Boxster is a thrill to drive! Boxsters are actually a great value when you consider they are made by Porsche, the same company that has won numerous races with incredible cars like the 917. You can purchase a nice used Boxster for about half the price of a comparable Porsche 911. The Boxster is a great choice as a second car for someone who wants to own a Porsche without spending too much money.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR

by JB RTP from Research Triangle Park NC on Tue Apr 23 2013

SHOPPED FOR A BOXTER FOR 4 MONTHS. PURCHASED PRIVATELY THROUGH LISTING ON CARS DOT COM. A lot of fun. Careful shopping online allows you to purchase worn interior items - i.e. armrests etc. My car is a manual - if there is a slight incline, I pull away from a stop in 2nd gear because 1st is a fast stump puller gear. Brakes are very strong. Previous owner had replaced convertible top - purchased a book from amazon that talked about boxster chop to extend life of rear window in the car. Better fuel economy than I expected and car does great on midgrade rather than premium. Clutch is heavy so be prepared.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Fun Car I Have Ever Owned

by PorscheBoy from Louisville, KY on Mon Nov 02 2009

Driving in Tiptronic on a sunny day with the top down listening to the engine roar is next to heaven

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun little car

by Autotuningstore from Oakley, CA on Mon Jun 11 2012

I purchased this 01 Boxster S to replace my old but true 89 325i vert. It has earned its rest with quarter million miles. I have never owned a Porsche but always wanted to. The Boxster was not my original choice, that being the 911 but I knew I couldn't afford that. I have been pleasantly surprised at the performance of the car. It has plenty of go and I find myself speeding all the time which doesn't help my gas mileage. I am using the car as my daily driver and so far, knock on wood, have had nothing but good times.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Driving is fun again

by Boxster Fun from California on Sun Sep 02 2012

Most fun I've had driving a car in years. It handles exceptionally well. There is nothing like driving down the California coast with the top down!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Porsche Boxster

by Shane Marrion from cambridge, mass on Sat Jul 22 2006

These cars are the best value on the road in terms of performance and price. Buying a used Boxster is an excellent choice. Instead of calling it Boxster they should call it riding on rails. The torqued up engine and interior is such a unique feel. Everyone enjoys riding in a porsche because it is so out of the norm. Don't recommend it as an every day car because it is simply not designed for it but appreciate it for what it is and that is why it makes an excellent used car purchase for those that have a bug for something out of the ordinary that is just fun!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Backroad Rocket

by Second Childhood from Louisville, KY on Wed Dec 19 2012

My Porsche Boxter S is an absolute hoot in the twisties, with handling unmatched by anything I've owned -- and I've had a few of them. The car has less wind noise in a convertable I've ever seen, although you do get a bit of road noise and engine noise. Your sitting right in front of the motor, but it still is remarkably quiet and comfortable. The ride is taught and controlled, the brakes are fantastic and the car sticks to the road like flypaper. It could use a little more legroom for my overweight frame and I'm getting a little old for getting in and out gracefully, but that's a small price to pay for such a wonderful toy.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Sports Car

by Big Greek from South Carolina on Sat Feb 14 2009

Excellent handling- like driving a confortable go cart with the curves it takes. Stops on a dime, and power pluhe "S" model. I love this car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4