2004 Boxster

Consumer Reviews

2004 Porsche Boxster

$5,354 - $23,430  MSRP Range
2004 Porsche Boxster

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

16 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Porsche Boxster?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A Rocket On Wheels

by Porsche Enthusiast from California to Colorado on Sat Nov 13 2010

The 2004 Porsche Boxster "S" model engine has a very deep growl and has boosted horse power (258 HP) vs. the non-S model. With the variable camshaft control (dual cam) you can feel the surge of power most noticeable in 2nd and/or 3rd gears on the model that I drove. From a stop, you have a quick shift to 2nd and staying in 2nd, you are at 60mph in just over 5 seconds without red-lining. It's a 6 speed vehicle, so top speed of 168mph is understandable and fun to imagine, but you would want to take it to a track or other controlled site to test that high speed. Traction and stability is excellent with proper tires. Michelin Pilot "Sport" tires came with this car from the factory in Stuttgart.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good value compared to competition

by BoxsterGuy from Central Florida on Mon Jun 11 2012

We bought our Boxster S with 41,000 miles and ten months left on a bumper-to-bumper warranty. It has the Tiptronic transmission. We enjoy the Tiptronic because the car is often driven in city traffic. Besides, we also have a Lotus to drive when we want to do our own shifting. The car has been generally reliable, although there have been a surprising number of non-critical issue that had to be addressed, particularly considering that we had a full pre-purchase inspection done by a Porsche dealer prior to purchase. In the past four months the alternator has been replaced, a transmission valve was replaced, and O2 sensor went bad and a leaking emissions seal had to be replaced. None except the alternator were critical to operation of the vehicle but we did have them all fixed. Parts were very expensive. Total repairs cost was $3600, with the warranty covering all but about $800. Regardless, we love the car. Handling is great, fuel economy is OK for this car class, and the car has excellent storage in both the boot and the trunk for weekend trips.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most fun car to drive I have ever owned

by Porsche Guy from Charlotte, NC on Wed Jun 29 2011

Great car, fun to drive. What more do I need to say, it's a Porsche!!!! You are never too old to enjoy one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best sports car I've Owned

by Jack from Davidson, NC on Thu Jan 29 2009

Handles great and a joy to drive. It has been very reliable, when in for service for the first time last week, and that was for the key remote.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and best performance car i have ever

by PeaM from florida on Mon Jan 10 2011

excellent braking system-has saved my life several times. excellent acceleration-best buy for the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

04 550 SPYDER ANNIVERSARY EDITION

by 04 BOXSTER SE from New Jersey on Tue Dec 18 2012

Awesome car. The special edition has all Boxster has to offer for 2004. What great styling, and details... Right down to the painted special edition wheels, and the GT Silver paint. Great performance from the special tuned exhaust makes this the fastest Boxster to date. If you can find one of these, it will make you feel special......Love the special interior accents and full leather, in cocoa brown. Wish I would have known about this vehicle earlier.... Born to drive!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love to drive again

by Sexy cil from Granite Bay, California on Wed Apr 17 2013

I love to drive again, just to get in and go to work is a treat. My husband bought it for me. He is the best! We went on a few road trips down the road, and I would just drive when I needed a pick up...... :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Porsche Yet

by RobInBayVillage from Bay Village, Ohio on Mon Sep 10 2012

This is my third Porsche. Nearly 90,000 miles on the odo now. Great track and street car. My wife's flight bag fits the front trunk, leaving room for six bottles of wine. My flight bag fits neatly in the rear trunk allowing room for our Bose portable player, my computer bag and laundry. Gr8 fuel mileage and tons of power. I owned the 911 and 914 in the past. This is my fav by far. Trips to NJ, PA, IN, MO and FL this year alone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GOOGLE REVIEW

by TAMELA from JACKSONVILLE FL on Thu Feb 23 2017

ALL THE STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL WITH TRYING TO COMPLETE THE DEAL. THEY HAVE VERY NICE CARS ON THE LOT. GO CHECK THEM OUT EVERYTHING YOU NEED IS HERE!!! HAPPY CUSTOMER

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 Porsche Boxster S

by Boxster S from Chatsworth, CA on Sat Nov 11 2017

a lot of car for little money, Power, performance & handling. Power to easy to use, heated seats keep you warm,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2004 Porsche Boxster

Sports car earns respect

Boxster S is the performance version of Porsche's entry-level roadster.

Porsche's entry-level sports cars get no respect. From the little 914 of the 1970s, through the front-engine 924 and 944, to today's Boxster, the pecking order ranks them as something less than a real Porsche.

In other words, not up to the standards of a racy 911.

That's too bad, really, especially for the Boxster. Here's a sharp little roadster with the looks and performance of a real thoroughbred. Among midprice, two-seat imports, including Audi TT, BMW Z4, Honda S2000, Mercedes-Benz SLK and Nissan 350Z, Boxster is the undisputed class act. Throw in Chevrolet Corvette, and you might get... Read More