2009 Boxster

Consumer Reviews

2009 Porsche Boxster

$15,855 - $34,339  MSRP Range
2009 Porsche Boxster

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

10 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2009 Porsche Boxster?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

you pay for the feeling

by lotuseras from West Palm Beach on Mon Jan 25 2010

One of he greatest cars in market today for the ones who care bout how good a car handles, sticks to road, right amount weighted controls, quality feel and practicality for a sports cars.. However go for the S version, basic version is a little not too powerful, especially when you are not revving the engine too much.. and S has better brakes, suspension, etc..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Porsche Boxster 2009 - Pleasure to Drive

by BKW from Pennsylvaia on Mon Jun 25 2012

Owned a TR3, MG, S2000 and all were great but the Boxster is the BEST! If you are thinking of getting a Porsche Boxster, go ahead and do so..... you won't regret it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A most practical sports car.

by geoff66 from montreal canada on Tue Oct 25 2011

Ok, you've probably read all the glowing reviews about the Boxster, how great it handles, the quality workmanship, the beautiful design. Yada yada yada. I don't need to reiterate all that. It is a wonderful car to drive and excels in all categories related to performance...brakes, steering, suspension, engine are all unsurpassed. I do admit, however, that I prefer the manual in my GTI to the Boxster's shifter which has a little more inherent 'notchiness'. One of the things that you may not appreciate is that this car is the most practical of its genre. I'm talkin' two trunks, no waitin'. I've put two sets of golf clubs in the back trunk...(there's a youtube video to show you how to do this)...and still had significant space left over in the front trunk for luggage for a week. So owning and using this car does not entail the sacrifices that some sports cars do. Very satisfied.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pure performance

by Ash from Fort Wayne Indiana on Sat Aug 03 2013

Ive owned the following roadsters: 1. BMW z3: this was my first and I loved it at the time. In retrospect, I would rate it lowest because it is a compromise. It doesn't excel in comfort, luxury or performance 2. Audi tt: my second. I liked the awd and the interior 3. Lexus is: exceptional comfort. No performance at all 4. Benz slk: my second fav. Possibly fav in many ways. Loved the hardtop. Ok for long trips. Performance is adequate but not exceptional w 350. 4. Boxster: my fav. Exceptional performance. Exceptional handling. Marginal comfort for 1 hr trips. Would not reccommeded at all for longer than that.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You've found the jackpot

by SleepEatDrive from Fort Myers, FL on Sun Sep 10 2017

I have currently owned a 987.2 Porsche Boxster for 4 months and have driven a total of 5,000 miles so far. As a convertible it has been a comfortable daily driver. Having both the trunk and the front trunk is a blessing as the Boxster eats up all my groceries. The only bad thing is that people think I'm putting food where they think my engine goes haha! Performance wise, well it's a Porsche, it's amazing. As the engine screams to redline, you get a sense of great joy, even only having 2.9 liters of displacement. Cornering, oh man the cornering, the Boxster hugs corners so well it will make every other car you drive feel like a land yacht. Weighing under 3,000lbs it's one of the lightest modern cars out there. Steering is sharp, it's weighed a little heavier than normal cars which is what you want on a sports car. PDK is telepathic, it's the benchmark for dual clutch transmissions. In normal mode it will comfortably drive you around town. Put it in sport mode and the car will stay in the powerband, giving you power as you demand. All professional reviews of this car are positive, and that's because it's like you've hit the jackpot with this car. The negatives of this car are if you buy a 987.1, you'll have to watch out for the IMS bearing. The other negative is that it's a Porsche, this means you'll pay bigger bucks at the dealership to maintain this car, compared to others. Luckily 987.2 cars and above are rock solid and will provide miles upon miles of smiles. Like I said before, you hit the jackpot!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car!

by Porsche Forever! from Lodi, Ca on Sun Dec 31 2017

Drives great and gets excellent miles per gallon. I travel to the ocean and enjoy the top down, letting the wind in my hair, while I listen to music, or enjoy a phone call.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Smiles per MIle!!!

by SC Porsche Driver from Lake Wylie, SC on Fri Jun 30 2017

What can I say it is a Porsche. High quality components and craftsmanship throughout. Buying a pre-owned Porsche is an excellent way to own a high performance sport car without the high entrance fee associated with buying a new car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Boxster Experience

by Johan Von Porsche from Capital Region, NY on Tue Feb 18 2014

Great handling and steering response, braking and acceleration are excellent. Wish there was a little more legroom but still very comfortable for a roadster. I Love this car....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely fun to drive.

by Robb17 from Los Angeles on Sat Aug 19 2017

Super performance. A little tight on space specially if you're over 6 ft. tall. But it's a sports car. This is my 2nd boxster. I absolutely love hitting the corners in this car. Super tight suspension gives you AMAZING handling. Would absolutely recommend it!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Boxster from owner

by White Mule from Knoxville, TN on Sat Feb 06 2010

This is my third Boxster: a 2000, 2005 and now this 2009. I am amazed that Porsche can continue to improve this car and keep it in the same price range. It's handling and feel on the road are exceeded only by the more ridged Cayman. If you are over 6'1" - it may not have enough legroom for you. I have the PDK transmission - it is very interesting - and very different from the old tiptronic - much better. After 6 months I am beginning to feel comfortable with it - I gave up trying to paddle shift it and just let it do it's thing. I find the car very quick and I would not opt for the S model. Fit and finish are are the best

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2009 Porsche Boxster

The Boxster is Porsche's most affordable model, and possibly its most fun. Unlike most convertibles, the two-seat Boxster came out years before its coupe sister model, the Cayman, and it's priced lower. What the two share is a class-exclusive mid-engine design that puts the six-cylinder, horizontally opposed engine behind the seats — and puts excellent dynamics in the hands of the driver. "Boxster" is a contraction of "boxer," another name for a horizontally opposed engine, and "roadster," which means two-seat convertible. "Cayman" is an archipelago in the Caribbean; I have no clue why they chose that.

The Boxster was upgraded for 2009 (compare it with the 2008 version here) with more power... Read More