2017 1500

Consumer Reviews

$21,592 - $41,632  MSRP Range
2017 RAM 1500

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

481 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 RAM 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 481 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Nest vehicle I've owned

by Bigwes from LAWRENCEVILLE on Thu May 17 2018

I get the ruggedness of a truck with the comfort of a luxury car. The look of this truck is awesome and handles well, it has a speed pickup that is unbelievable. Over all I'm quite satisfied with my purchase

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A lot of truck for the money

by Handyman from Jensen Beach, Florida on Wed Aug 22 2018

I use this truck for my personal and Handyman business. I love it, and it’s comfort and performance meet all my needs. I like it so much I talked my son into buying one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by New Ram owner from SEMINOLE, florida on Fri Nov 16 2018

Great truck. 400hp hemi and has almost all the bells and whistles I needed. Huge back seat all leather and the center console is cavernous. The shifter knob takes some getting used to but no more stuck steering wheels.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck on the market and the Hemi sound is wow

by Jeffshauling24 from PARRISH on Mon Jan 06 2020

Gets 22 MPG on the highway and runs like a beast ! The sound will make you very happy. Smooth fast and great. My favorite truck and we have owned many other makes and models known have been as reliable and incredible as the Ram. The fit and finish is beautiful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable

by Jwitvoet from Ponoka AB on Wed Oct 31 2018

This truck is awesome, great on fuel, comfortable, love the heated steering wheel and seats. Has great style and very good performance. Very nice smooth plush suspension

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Deceivingly spacious

by SoCal Medic from Glendora, CA on Tue Jul 30 2019

At 6’6”, finding a truck, let alone ANY vehicle, I fit in is a challenge. Previous vehicles were a suburban and 2 F250 Super Duty pickups. I first drove a Ram in Maui and was thoroughly impressed. Plenty of head AND leg room. I don’t feel like I’m driving a go kart. The dial shifter takes some getting used to, but isn’t a big deal. The center console/arm rest/jump seat feels big and spacious. This truck is super easy to drive, almost like a car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

RAM does it right.

by John from Whitby, Ontario on Fri May 10 2019

V8 Hemi has more than enough power. Fit and finish of vehicle is excellent. Interior cabin very roomy and comfortable. Ride is similar to a luxury SUV, very quiet and smooth. First truck I have owned and no regrets.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck, great ride.

by Michael H from Arlington on Mon Apr 17 2017

The 5.7 liter engine is super powerful. Much more fun than the V6 that other companies offer. Interior is definitely a cut above Ford or Chevy for comparable $$

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent truck

by Happy Man from Surprise, AZ on Mon Jun 03 2019

This is my second Ram 1500 I have owned and my other was a 2005 and while I lived the other one, everything about this is better and it drives like a fast Cadillac.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Power horse with a hint of luxury

by Smithjbx from Grimes,Iowa on Mon Jun 24 2019

Great vehicle. Nice rigid look with comfort on the inside. Never had a problem with performance and does everything you would expect a 1500 to do.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 49

Our Take on the 2017 RAM 1500

The verdict:


Three years since significant drivetrain and chassis upgrades made it a standout, the Ram 1500 full-size half-ton pickup truck has lost ground to more recently redesigned competitors, but it remains a satisfying truck in many ways.

Versus the competition:


It's not the right choice for the pickup shopper who wants the latest active-safety features or must haul or tow the absolute heaviest loads, but otherwise the 2016 Ram 1500 belies its age.

Editor’s note: This review was written in May 2016 about the 2016 Ram 1500. Little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The 2016 model year sees the introduction of a new top trim level, the Laramie Limited, which shares an updated grille design introduced by the Rebel trim last year and incorporates Argento wood and premium leather inside. See 2015 and 2016 model specifications compared side-by-side here.

Exterior & Styling

Like the other domestic full-size pickups, the Ram 1500 comes in different cab styles, most with a choice of wheelbase and bed length. The... Read More