2014 ProMaster 2500

Consumer Reviews

2014 RAM ProMaster 2500

$11,968 - $32,188  MSRP Range
2014 RAM ProMaster 2500

Review Score

2.4 out of 5 stars

2.4

10 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
2.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
1.9 out of 5 stars Performance
3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2014 RAM ProMaster 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

1 out of 5 stars

Not designed to go over 200,000 miles... is what t

by Redstone from Grand Rapids on Tue Jan 24 2017

My 2014 Ram ProMaster 2500 has a long long list and many thousands of dollars of repairs that has had to be done. A strut $800,a wheel bearing $700, a brake caliper, $600, 17 headlight bulbs, rear door lock $400, the Heat blows cold on passenger side and warm on driver side $750,cylinder number 2 quit working $1200,both cats need to be replaced and possibly all four sensors $700, the alternator had to be replaced$900, And the radiator that leaked when I bought it new with only a hundred miles on it. this FIAT van leaks power steering fluid$200, has failed to start on several occasions,needs the top end of the engine needs to be replaced $2000.. new lifters,cam,..you know the normal stuff for a 2 1/2 year-old vehicle. Poorly built and poorly designed this vehicle will go down in the history of automotive failures I would imagine in the same category as the Ford Edsel I am working with RAM/FIAT to try to get some monetary relief from them for the $12,000 of repairs that I have had to put into this vehicle in 2-1/2 years..

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

41 out of 41 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great Van, Just Hope it Doesn't Break

by Dylan from Al's Oil from Shrewsbury, MA on Mon May 04 2015

A little over a year ago, we bought our new Promaster 2500 and gave it to our senior service tech, who has a history with filling past vans to the point where there is no other room in the back. Up until a few months ago, we didn't have any qualms with the van. There were a few recalls that Chrystler did, but those were minor and the dealer had them squared away rather quickly. That changed after it was t-boned by a driver in Worcester. The van was out for just over two months, and not because of damage. The body shop couldn't get the new doors or other parts because they were all on back order. So, at the end of winter, we get the van back and all looked good until the front end started making a clunking noise. The cause of which was traced back by our mechanic to the strut mount on the same side the van had been hit; the mount had failed and the strut was no longer secure. The time to get that rubber block? Two months. Now, don't get me wrong, when that van has been on the road it's been a veritable tank. It carries more and goes farther than our GM or Ford vans, and is a bit better in the snow to boot. But as anyone in the heating business (or who drives for a living) will tell you, everything wears out and/or breaks. And if we can't field a van safely for two months because we can't get a rubber block, then why bother with the van to begin with? Until Chrystler gets those parts supply issues dealt with, I'd have to say don't even bother buying one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

My Promaster

by Mike from Burnsville,MN on Mon Mar 17 2014

My van is now at shop for work yet again. So far Ram keeps saying normal/no problems found Update of problems, most happened in 1st 2 weeks of ownership 1) 2 no starts. Jumped and started. 2nd time immediately turned off and unhooked jump. It restarted. 2) Heated mirrors don't heat 3) Backup camera doesn't always come on until going forward 4) Backup camera was stuck on for 2 days 5) Seat belt warning chimed for 1 and 1/2 days 6) Wiper blade broke 7) Slider door is too hard 8) Quit going forward from a stop light after 2 miles on road. Started forward after a few seconds. I did nothing like it was in nuetral 9) Brakes squeal so loud it's ridiculous. Now have a growl sound and pulls to left 10)Mode button doesn't do what manual says it will 11) Missing cargo net from convenience package 12) Delivered with rock chips in windshield and hood 12) Can't program keys through radio like manual says 13) Key fobs would not open all doors with one button but now does with me doing nothing and now back again 14) Sometimes dings at me key is in ignition when the are not 16) Clunks over bumps 17) Now after 2300 miles transmission down shifts going down hill( same hill I drive everyday) and engine revs to 3300-3500 rpm when coasting 18) Keys stick in ignition 19) Central power lock button only works with keys in ignition and turned on 20) Water gets behind back doors at lower hinge corner and freezes on and behind door seal. Have to bang and scrape off to close doors 21) Squeak in back suspension 22) Radio blacked out for 1/2 Day. Used screen button but did nothing. Is this really a current 5.0 radio?

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

It is great for mechanics

by Guido G from New york on Wed May 17 2017

It is the worst ! Don't buy it. I put money in it all the time repairing The brake system. The lights have to be replaced all the time The fuel consumption is out of control. It is not Cost efficient and it is the worst commercial vehicle I have ever Operated

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Most unreliable van I never owned.

by Chris2fer from Natalia TX on Sat Oct 21 2017

This thing has put me out of business. The transmission fell out while driving down the freeway. I'm hoping Chrysler lives up to the warranty. Still waiting to hear back. I will update when resolved.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Stay away from don't buy

by Rod from Atlanta GA on Tue Jun 05 2018

I own two stays in the shop, I only owned for two years the engine need replacing, number 5 misfires on both vans. The vans smoke. Had an oil leak from the oil filter housing on both vans.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

JUNK DO NOT BUY

by ThomasJ from Worcester on Thu Jul 26 2018

A lot of recalls, which wasn't bad however all the recalls were for small things. I too have had a radiator leak since day one, even after it was replaced, it also took over 4 months to get it. It strips tires like no other vehical I've ever seen, all rear bushings have been replaced, the slide door and back doors never worked correctly even after it was in the dealer at least 5 times and they still occasionally act up. 3 struts, the entire top half of engine, lic. plate light harness, countless headlights, and now the tranny is gone after 115,000 this truck was never overloaded, I'm the only driver and i babied this truck. I still have a little less than 2 years of payments on this thing, what a pit in my stomach right now. if there was ever a recall for an entire vehicle this would be it. Don't make the same mistake i and evidently a lot of other people have; DO NOT BUY

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

200,000 in 2years

by Redstone from Gr,mi on Wed Jun 29 2016

My 2500 ProMaster is almost 2 years old it has 209000 miles on it miles on it and I'm about to have to replace the engine it taps and knocks very loudly, it's way underpowered, has hard time climbing any hills. I get terrible mileage about 14 mpg, apparently it's running on 5 cylinders with cylinder number 2 just barely operating. just keeping up with highway traffic when it has a load is too much for the engine. I absolutely cannot stand the automatic engine braking every Hill that I go down it shifts out of overdrive into drive, spins the motor at 3000 RPMs or more and sometimes up in the mountains it shifts again into 4th and the motor spins at 5000 RPM and that might be what destroys the engine

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

33 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Great van but still a Chrysler product

by artie43 from Lake arrowhead, ca on Fri Jun 23 2017

Bought new in 2015 was a 2014 window van silver. 2500 259" wb high cab model. Had it customized and insulated. walls and ceilings only. Painted all black surfaces silver. Added running boards and trailer hitch. I liked driving the van, very comfortable seats, fwd in great in the show. Averaged 12-13 mixed driving. could get 18 on the highway. There is only one dealer in our area that services Promasters. The other ram dealers do not. One of the reasons i bought the Promaster was because i thought there were many servicing dealers....wrong on that one. Dealer replaced brakes due to squealing, doors rattled so replaced the locking mechanism;...this took a year to get in. When the warranty ran out,,,36K i though that the powertrain warranty would pickup any major problems. Wrong again. The oil filter sender unit came on yellow. I was told by the dealer that i had to use specific oil filters and the charge was prox $500 to repair this item. I noticed that almost all jeep/ram products have this warning light on their dash for the same reason. You must use Ram special oil fillters. I sole the van with 44k on the odo because : 1. I was worried about FCA's reliability record which is the worst in the industry. 2. terrible extended warranty once the 36k arrives. Incredibly bad parts service. Seems like every thing is special order and that takes forever.. 3. Servicing dealers are as rare as Mercedes dealers. 4. i moved to the mountains and needed a 4wd vehicle due to chain ordinance laws. If a more reputable company built this van and supported it, I might consider another one but no product build by FCA ever again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It like brand new

by Joey from Saint Charles on Thu May 18 2017

It been great. I would own another one in the future. It reliable. It got plenty of space. Has tow support in it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1