Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2000 9-5

Consumer Reviews

2000 Saab 9-5

$2,305 - $3,809  MSRP Range
2000 Saab 9-5

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

17 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Saab 9-5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great wagon, fully loaded

by Rigo from Alexandria, VA on Sat Nov 20 2010

Is a fantastic value, keep the oil change and other minimal service requirments and will go way over 200K, much bettre than Audi and better price, I own one and will drive it for the next 100K with no monthly payments of new cars !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I liked it so much a bought another one.

by Picky Car Guy from Bridgewater NJ on Mon Nov 12 2007

Style, Luxury, Performance, Economy and Safety. I know of no other car that does it better than the 9-5 AERO. I used to own a 900S convertible that was just OK. I tested a 9-3 and it was no better than a 900. I tried a 9-5 AREO just for fun and WOW - it was night a day from the 9-3. This rivals my 928 for acceleration and has the comfort that Porsche only dreams of. I'm 6'6 and the Saab is my car of choice for long trips. You want to drive this car everywhere! The FWD and winter traction control make it great in the winters as well. Costs to fix are no greater than any euro car and it needs far less attention than any American car or my Audi Quattro. I wish the LED and cup holder were better made but thats about it. After 5 years of happy motoring I upgraded to a newer AREO. It was a no-brainer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2000 saab 9-5 turbo wagon

by vladko from chicago on Thu May 06 2010

Good car to drive everywhere. Love winter mode feature. Nice interior design,safety features, build in child seat, huge trunk space. Good fuel economy with 2.3 turbo engine. Smooth transmission. I enjoy driving it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Aero Sedan - WOW

by Eurodriver from KC, MO on Sat Jul 07 2007

OK, to start with, if you're going to buy a luxury type car get ready for more costly repairs than a Chevy. Having said that, this car has everything. Comfortable, stylish and high performance. The 40 - 80 passing acceleration of the Aero is simply unbelievable - there are few cars on the road that can touch it. The classy interior, heated/cooled seats, outstanding sound system, sport/winter automatic shift and numerous other cool features makes this the neatest car I've owned, including the Mercedes. And did I mention my average 22 mpg? Go ahead, buy one. You'll smile all the way to work every day.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I like EVERYTHING about this car.

by Jeppie1 from Jeppie1 on Mon Jan 21 2008

Keep the car away from stealership repairs and do the maintenance on time and these v6 engines will run FOREVER......FOREVER!!! This is the most comfortable travel car that I am aware of. Far more exciting to drive than any rice burner or cheap American junk I have ever driven, and I have played with, worked on & driven many cars over the past 35 years. If you want the best car for the money, these pretty much beat anything else. I have 3 other Saab's, they are all impressive but the 9-5 v6 turbo is amazing. All get rave reviews from whomever rides with me. Most don't even know what they are. Sad......

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Saab

by Renault5 from Kensington, Maryland on Tue Apr 26 2011

From 2002 until a week ago, I owned a 2000 9-5 Areo wagon, 5-speed manual. Very useful car for a family and a parent who likes a safe but fun car to drive. I've owned five Saabs over the last 25 years, and this one has been very reliable, even better than my first, a 1969 Saab 96.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2000 Saab 9-5

by Big AZ from Auburn, WA on Sat Aug 20 2011

Great car! Commute, camping, coaching, everything it's even the date car! Parts are a bit pricey which is the only bummer! I hope to put another 100K on it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Discreet, handles well, nice touches in cabin

by Family Guy from New York, NY on Thu Jul 06 2006

Handles well, love the Sports mode, Cruise controls are easy to reach on left of steering wheel, great trip and diagnosis computer that warns in case of problems, some small nice touches like 2 sun shades each for both driver and passenger

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great used car!

by JettaRed from Maryland on Mon Sep 18 2006

The Saab 9-5 is an incredible value as a used car. Late model, low mileage cars can be found for 1/2 to 1/3 the original MSRP. While they are priced competitively new at around $40,000, getting a 2 year old car with low miles make it a bargain at under $20,000. The Aero is FAST and the comfort features are top-fo-the-line.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Wagon

by Robiac from San Francisco, CA on Thu Aug 10 2006

Very reliable, tons of standard features. Lots of cargo space, great A/C system and traction control. Lots of bang for the buck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2000 Saab 9-5

Suddenly, station wagons are cool. Not the big, beefy Ranch Wagons, Custom Cruisers and Roadmasters that once hogged the highways before being displaced by minivans and sport-utility vehicles, but a new generation of trim, even sporty four-door wagons, mainly from Europe.

Volvo wagons have been transformed from boxy haulers into svelte fashion statements. Audi wagons are renowned for their refined road manners. Even haughty BMW has a couple of "Touring" wagons for the horsy set.

There's Subaru, which managed to carve out an entire new niche with its Outback series of all-wheel-drive wagons; another wagon is being introduced for Saturn's new midsize LS car; and Ford continues to... Read More