Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 Aura

Consumer Reviews

2008 Saturn Aura

$2,006 - $9,162  MSRP Range
2008 Saturn Aura

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

42 Reviews
81% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Saturn Aura?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 42 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Better than the imports

by 38 is great from WA on Sat Jun 07 2008

My wife and I have had this car for almost a year... We love it. The XR model provides the power and performance we desired. The interior is clean, well appointed, and makes sense. We looked at Accord and Camry but they seemed like yesterday's news. The Aura is a car that will look and feel modern for the next few years. Only negative I can think of right now is the car's turn radius. Other than that, it is a great car for someone desiring something different than the vanilla imports.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

still going strong

by wisconsin cheesehead from wisconsin farm area on Wed Sep 28 2011

bought new in may 2008 now has 76,000 miles and still drives great as the first day.Quiet interior makes going places, nice size trunk for trips. Overall still happy wish gm still made them.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely Impressed!

by Justin from Michigan on Wed Jan 02 2008

Picked up a 2008 Aura XE V6 for my wife to replace her Grand Prix GT, and wow am I impressed. GM made a very smart decision relying on Opel to engineer their midsize sedan platform. Compared to the L Series this vehicle this replaces and other GM sedans (old Malibu, Impala, Grand Prix, ect.), this car is a serious step up in styling, performance, and quality. I also considered the Ford Fusion, Chevy Impala, and new Chevy Malibu, but everything about this car just felt right. Anyone considering the Malibu should look at this car! They are basically the same vehicle, but the Saturn is at a better price point. Hopefully Detroit can continue to produce vehicles like this one, and build them in America too!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

proud owner

by saturn believer from Buffalo NY on Sat Jun 07 2008

I have the xe aura with the3.5 engine. car drives and handles perfectly. with leather and power sun roof its a great looking car inside and out. Now if i would ease off onthe gas petal im sure i would get the e.p.a. gas mileage claimed for the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by proud owner from Illinois on Wed Aug 10 2011

I own a 2008 Aura. This car is a great car for traveling to work and taking trips. The cars interior has held up and looks as good as when we purchased the car. It is a great car for families and kids. The car is comfortable to ride in. There is sufficient room in the back. The price is fantastic for a roomy sedan. The storage in the trunk is very roomy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by FS from Massillon, Ohio on Sat Sep 23 2017

My daughter absolutely loves this car!!! We bought it used and have no complaints at all! Its been a perfect car for her!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by love it from marlboro,nj on Sun May 04 2008

wow what a car. solid, fast, comfortable a really nice ride. thoroughly modern and well built i love driving this car (xr).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned

by Tracey68 from Pensacola on Sat Sep 16 2017

The design of this car is like an high end car with a reasonable price. Gas mileage is great and very comfortable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

From worst to best

by Jack from NH on Thu Oct 28 2010

I recently traded a 2006 Mercury Montego for a 2008 Saturn Aura. I've owned vehicles for 65 years, and this one is by far, the best, with the Mercury being very close to the worst. In addition to excellent handling characteristics, and plenty of get up and go, the instrument cluster is one of the best I've seen, with excellent day and night visibility.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

High End Car for Standard Car Price

by Bring Back Saturn from Fort Wayne, IN on Wed Jan 23 2013

Third Saturn that we have owned. The first was a great buy and each one has been better than the last. You have to drive the Aura to "get it", this is a great car with a great look. All Saturns allow you to pile up the miles with very little maintenance cost. Very reliable and inexpensive to own. Easy to maintain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2008 Saturn Aura

Editor's note: This review was written in October 2006 about the XE and XR versions of the 2007 Saturn Aura. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what details are different this year, check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Serving as a replacement for the forgettable L-Series, the new Saturn Aura marks a renewed attempt by the brand to establish itself in the midsize sedan market. The car impresses on a few fronts. Its handling performance is above average for the segment, and its two available V-6 engines are capable performers. Where it struggles is on the inside, with an interior that has too many problems to be considered among the best in the segment.

Exterior... Read More