1998 SC

Consumer Reviews

1998 Saturn SC

$1,233 - $2,157  MSRP Range
1998 Saturn SC

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

8 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1998 Saturn SC?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Ok Vechicle

by ph03nix42 from Plano, TX on Tue Jul 25 2006

Have had this car for 8 yrs and has held on quite well. Easy to repair on own rather than taking to shop.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safest Car I ever Owned

by Echo from Darien, NY on Mon Sep 08 2008

It was the safety features of this car that saved my 11 day old baby in a frontal crash. It was a great car from start to finish. The only problems I had with this car was the window washer switch. Other than that what a Great Car!! KC

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good transportation

by badjmro from Phoenix AZ on Sat Jul 21 2012

Good Inexpensive transportation. Easy to fix, cheap to repair, good on gas. overall nice daily drive.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This great car saved my life!

by Bicyclist from New York on Thu Feb 24 2011

I would have preferred the power window buttons to be on the door as in other cars. I'm not sure why they put them in the middle. You get used to them being there, though. I got hit from the side and I was fine, not even a scratch. They had to pull off the car door to get me out, but I walked out. I have had 3 Saturns and love them!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

tough car

by bung from canada on Mon Mar 18 2013

been in the ditch many mANY times. been rolled twice still going strong and only replaced windshield. good power as well. has been passed down through the family

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Really reliable car

by that1whiteguy from palm springs, ca on Wed Oct 30 2013

had this car for only 8 months. bought it with 105,xxx miles on it. great gas mileage. couple basic problems . but nothing that wasn't under 20 bucks to fix. definitely the most reliable car i have owned

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still rolling

by Brenda from Wisconsin on Sun Nov 30 2014

16 1/2 years.Only true cost is oil change. On average less than $200 a year to maintain. No rust because exterior is plastic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great little car..

by Saturn Guy from Wilmington,NC on Sun Apr 17 2011

a consumers report best buy...its sporty and economical..just needs TLC now and then..you could do far worse!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1998 Saturn SC

While Saturn waits for the development of next year's mid-size sedan, it continues to refine the current product. Changes to its coupe, sedan and station wagon for 1998 range from reduced-force airbags to quieter engines, new colors and redesigned optional alloy wheels.

Saturn engineers made several structural improvements to the engine block and transmission case to reduce noise and vibration as well as to enhance durability. These changes are impressive. I noticed them after only a few miles behind the wheel of a light gold SC1 coupe from the company's press fleet. Extraneous mechanical noise has been muted and now the pleasant exhaust note is the main thing you hear.

The 1.9-liter... Read More