2003 Vue

Consumer Reviews

2003 Saturn Vue

$983 - $6,551  MSRP Range
2003 Saturn Vue

Review Score

3.6 out of 5 stars

3.6

52 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.6 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2003 Saturn Vue?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 52 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

6 of one, half a dozen of the other

by Simon from Louisville KY on Mon Feb 21 2011

Our Vue has a lot going for it. It's a 4 cylinder, 5-speed FWD. I've found the engine to be up to the task with decent acceleration from a stop and better than decent when accelerating above interstate cruising speed. The interior is attractive and comfortable and it can carry quite a bit with the rear seats down. The mileage, 25/30, is remarkable for a high profile vehicle. But here's the deal. Both front wheel bearings failed at 59,000. A Saturn dealer replaced them ($800). The replacements failed at 99,000 (another $650 at an independent garage) and the computer failed at 102,000 ($900 at the dealer - no choice but to use the dealer). Computers do fail, OK; but I've taken Japanese vehicles to as high as 220,000 miles without ever replacing the bearings. This was my reward for making the effort to buy American.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Watch out for the CVT

by Roadmaster from Michigan on Thu Aug 13 2009

I bought my Vue off lease. It drove extremely well until the CVT gave out at 70k miles. Thank God for extended warranties. The replacement ran $4,800 at a Saturn dealer. Stay away from the CVT!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Problematic at best

by Pete from GLENSIDE on Tue May 27 2014

2003 AWD VUE 6 CYLINDER. BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE OFF THE LOT. WE HAD PROBLEMS WITH IT IN THE FIRST 3 YEARS. ELECTRICAL WIRING FROM THE FIRE WALL INTO THE ENGINE WAS CONNECTED WITH A 16 PRONG CONNECTOR THAT CORRODED AND SENT THE CAR INTO LIMP MODE. THREE TIMES WE HAD IT WORKED ON AND THEY FINALLY RIPPED THE WIRING HARNESS OUT. WE ONLY HAVE 61000 MILES ON IT AND THERE IS A SUBSTANTIAL VALVE TAP, THE FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS WERE REPLACED AND NEED TO BE REPLACE AGAIN. GRANT IT IT IS AN 11 YEAR OLD CAR, BUT THE MILES DON'T WARRANT THE PROBLEMS WE HAVE DEALT WITH. OVERALL EVALUATION WOULD BE TO NOT TO BUY THIS CAR, IF I WERE YOU.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not happy

by sad mother of from Oregon on Tue Feb 05 2013

A year and 2 months ago. I bought this vehicle, 6 months later. The transmission stopped working in the middle of traffic. After $5k replaced transmission car started same issues less the 8 months later. Ran the car facts on the vehicle and transmission replace just 2 years before i purchased the suv. :( not easy for single mom of 3!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It's worth the money

by CARS from Ft. Myers on Thu Jan 20 2011

Excelent car, economic, very reliable, has all you need for your family and needs, spaceous and nice design.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It's a pretty tanky car

by Kennington from Denver, CO on Tue Aug 08 2017

Bought it used with a couple issues but once they got fixed and put under scheduled maintence it ran really well with little issues over the 5 years that I've had it. Great bang for the buck too! Parts was cheap, and some what easy to install once you get to know it. Really good first car for sure.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Deal

by I love cars.com from Cheyenne, wy on Mon Oct 07 2013

I recently purchased a 2003 Saturn Vue that I found on cars.com. This website is very reliable and accurate. It married my search by price, and I found what I was looking for. I traveled 70 miles. I met my vehicle in excellent condition. It was under 70,000 miles, which is excellent for the year. Prior owned had all of the records. I am very satisfied!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY THIS CAR EVER

by Stuck w/ a 2003 VUE :( from Fishers, IN on Sun Jan 13 2008

This car is on it's 4th transmission (130K mi) and needs more work done. Since I got it in 2003 it has been to the dealership 31 times for non-maintenance work. If it was possible for something to fall off or break on this car, it did. Saturn hates me, all I do is complain about their product. What's awful is that we have a 97 coupe that is at 200K mi and runs great. The 2003 VUE is TERRIBLE!!! Pick a different year and you'll be fine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Good SUV

by Diegacio from los angeles , ca on Thu Feb 02 2012

THIS IS A VERY GOOD SUV , I never had any problem , is very good on gas economy I have the 4 cylinder awd and have owned it for almost 3 years now. I put over 30k on it and still have had no problems what so ever. It has over 65k now and it's still running strong and still looks great too! It's fun to drive and very peppy."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

BEWARE

by Lemonade from Camden, SC on Mon Sep 10 2007

We bought a 2003 Vue new and after 4 years (and I will admit 140,000 miles) we have had the transmission replaced twice and it is in the shop again needing a new transmission. Saturn has not been helpful at all and although they say they stand behind thier product 100% they also say, "well you know you have 140,000 miles." So my question is do they only expect Saturn Vue's to last that long... even with 3 different transmissions. I would NOT reccomend a Saturn Vue or even doing business with this company.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6