2014 FR-S

Consumer Reviews

2014 Scion FR-S

$11,943 - $24,199  MSRP Range
2014 Scion FR-S

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

22 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 Scion FR-S?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My FR-S

by YoungbasedFRS from Miami on Sun Jan 12 2014

After a bit of extensive research for my second car, I finally decided on the Scion FR-S. As a huge car geek, it took a lot of time and weighing pros and cons to reach a final decision. The FR-S has rear wheel drive, a brand new 2.0 liter Subaru-engineered boxer engine with Toyota's D-45 direct injection, and your choice of a six-speed manual or automatic transmission. The car also features some amazingly supportive sport bucket seats and a Torsen limited slip differential. My car specifically has the six-speeds manual which, paired with the Torsen diff, is the ultimate tire-wrecking fun combo in the industry. Now, if you're used to fast cars, and I don't say that loosely (I mean 400+ horsepower cars) the car isn't going to blow your mind in a straight line. But, and here's the big but, this is the most rewarding car you can toss into a corner south of a hundred thousand dollars. Even in that price range, the competition better watch its heels. The FR-S is also pretty fuel efficient and the interior is a very pleasant place to be. The trunk fits a few golf bags and whatnot. But none of that is why you buy this car. This car is solely for those who want a rewarding, fun to drive, sporty coupe. I do have some gripes with car, however. The back seat is nonexistent and the sound system (minus the navigation, which is pretty decent) is subpar. The ride is also a tad bit stiff for those accustomed to economy car suspension, largely due to its McPherson shocks and struts and it's featherweight 2,750 pound curb weight. It's definitely bearable though, no biggie. Bottom-line, this car was everything I hoped for and more. If you're looking for something sporty and fun, or even a base for a project car without breaking the back, look no further.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The funest/good looking car under 60k

by Country Crusier Workacholic from OHIO on Fri Apr 17 2015

I purchessed a 2014 asphalt monogram series Scion FR-S. I keep loving this car more and more. It has decent power (200hp) and it is super light weight along with RWD this baby can get moving! Acceleration is not quite as good as the v6 mustang but it is very comparable (FR-S is way better looking). Gas miliage is great! and I have been driving it everywhere! It defiantly turns heads when I cruise thru town. I have been averageing 30MPG and I have not been babying it either! Love this car, what is not to like? Need more HP? Plenty of bolt-on/tunable superchargers out there for it (I plan on doing that soon).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by Giddy first-time car buyer from Cupertino, CA on Mon Jan 06 2014

I've been driving this car for about a month now, and I just adore it. It's just so gorgeous! It's totally normal to kiss the steering wheel of your car before getting out, right? If you don't want to offer rides to groups of friends, this car is perfect because the back seats look painfully cramped (:

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Nimble Car I've, ember owned.ttl

by Harley bikerdude from Roseville, Calif on Tue May 06 2014

This little "sports car" has a motor that literally jumps to life at 4000 ,rpm And then you better hang onto your hat ! The scenery begins to change rather quickly ! Cornering is nothing short of phenominal,.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

simply awesome

by Wraith from Alberta, CDA on Sat Dec 20 2014

This is my work commuter and puts a smile on my face after a hard day of work! It isn't a supercar but for the money it is the next best thing! Currently enjoying driving it in the winter! Super fun for drifting and e-brake slides on the snowy roads amd parking lots!! But good traction when needed. So far no reliability issues - had it for 7 months. Its also wife-approved because I can fit kids in the back seat when needed!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great little car

by Monchichi from Long Beach, Ca on Mon May 15 2017

Car is great, looks great. Not super fast but in the 4000 rom range moves. Car handeling is excellent, well balanced. Not a lotta room, but thars onvious.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I've ever owned

by Hykko from Boston, MA on Mon May 22 2017

I was skeptical about these cars before buying one, but I can say that it is hands down the best car I've owned. Not a fast car, but it eats up corners unlike anything I've driven before. The handling dynamics are amazing, and it's a surprisingly comfortable cruiser (though I wouldn't take it cross country). I commute to work on the train every day, so this car is the perfect toy for the weekend. I would buy another in a heartbeat

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A car that really looks and drives good!

by OrlandoRealtor from Orlando on Mon Jun 23 2014

Have had our 2014 Frs Auto for 4 months now. My wife mainly drives it and really likes the car. She wanted a sporty car and this one fit the bill Looks like her old 240z except with modern features. Handling is great and people do stare when you go by because of it's amazing body style. Not a real powerful car but plenty enough speed for us. Would recommend this car to anyone looking for a sports car at an affordable price that will win you over!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A lot of Fun

by cmmiller from Greenville, SC on Tue May 02 2017

I have a 2014 Scion FR-S and I absolutely love this car. I love the driving experience and it gets me where I want to go with no problems at all. I would recommend this car to anyone who is looking for a fun enjoyable driving experience.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive and affordable

by A L from So Cal on Fri Apr 28 2017

This is a great fun to drive drivers car. Really a 2 seater because there is no room at all in the back except for the smallest of children. Could be a bit quicker, but corners great due to low center of gravity. Very good value for the price just missing a few things that would make it great like a bit more power, push button start, auto locking and unlocking doors when put into drive, and maybe a bit more room in the back and trunk. With a few refinements it would be 5 stars across the board.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2014 Scion FR-S

Editor's note: This review was written in April 2012 about the 2013 Scion FR-S. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2014, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

To begin what would eventually become the 2013 Scion FR-S, Toyota President Akio Toyoda asked himself, "Where is the passion in our lineup?" Passion and sports cars go hand in hand; both have been missing from Toyota's lineup in recent years. To fill that absence, Toyota partnered with Subaru to co-develop a rear-wheel-drive sports car. Toyota's Scion youth division receives the fruits of the partnership's labor in the FR-S, while the Subaru calls its car the BRZ.

After... Read More