2008 ForTwo

Consumer Reviews

2008 smart ForTwo

$2,856 - $8,164  MSRP Range
2008 smart ForTwo

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

56 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 smart ForTwo?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 56 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive, Great MPG

by Old SGM from Richmond, VA on Wed Jul 29 2009

I drive my Passion Coupe to work and shopping, I have accumilated about 11,000 Smart mile with an average of 40 MPG and have made as high as 44 MPG. Think about this; 70 HP from 60 CU (1.0L), that gives the car the same HP per cube as a Corvette, it just doesn't have as many cubes as the Vette. About the transmission, it has a pause to shift, just like someone needs to pause between gears on any stick shift car. If something happens to mine, I will buy another in a NY minute. It is a love or hate car, it is in a class all by it's self. Freedom of choice, if we all drove the same car, what a boring place this would be!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Little Trooper!

by J.J. Binx from Chicago, IL on Sat Aug 08 2009

I have had my smart for about a year now. Comfort- Superb, you sit up high, and visibility is great! Performance- 71 hp is deffinatly enough to make this car zippy in the city, or on the highway! Handling- "Think Go-cart." Love it! Styling and Design- Only the best! This car is Art on wheels! Features- Panoramic roof, heated seats! Value- A brand new car for under 13,000.00.. that come standard with this many safety features is always worth the money. You can't put a price on life. Reliability- Never any problems.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I've ever owned!

by Smart Car Lover from Grove, OK on Thu Apr 19 2012

Despite it's small exterior size this little gem is big on the interior. Only when you step out of it do you realize you're in a small car. It handles well on the freeway just as it does in two-lane traffic. It's reliable, well built and a real attention getter! It easily handles a weeks worth of groceries for the two of us. Changing the oil is a piece of cake. (I'm a lady, by the way.) Should I ever hit the lottery, my first purchase would a second Smart Car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

reliable fun to own car that's good on gas

by no cookie cutter type of guy from Sarasota, FL on Sat May 09 2009

No serious issues. Reliable with 11,000 miles on it. Most used car in our household. I save the big car for schlepping others around. It's safe to drive and it has many safety features that the competition doesn't even offer.It's a little speed demon and with a quick zero to 30 will keep anyone at bay in heavy traffic, at 90 mph the mileage drops for sure and the car settles down to a good 75mph on its own As for a head turning reaction... it's better than driving a Maserati or some other exotic vehicle for a fraction of the cost. Highway speeds are easily attained and it will stay in it's lane as asked. It's not meant for highway driving as much as it is for urban or suburban needs. Yet I wouldn't hesitate driving long distances e.g., 100's of miles. As for truck's and wind, well it's a small car and up to now big rigs never caused the smart to involuntarily change lanes yet. Suffice it to say that the smart driver needs a bit more input into the steering wheel than a large Chevy would. It covers well over a 300 miles distance on a 8.7 gallon tank. My complaints are... only 2 year warranty and no spare tire included. It has a NASCAR type safety cage that has proven to keep the occupants safe when merging with a larger car and the end result dumbfounds the police and fire fighters when they reach the scene of an accident. The smart may sometimes have less damage than the other vehicle. The outside plastic panels are made from recycled material and can be changed to another color within 2 1/2 hours by any dealer. How many other cars can claim this...?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned

by RED MAN from Bremerton, WA on Mon Apr 18 2011

Great little commuter car with over 40 MPG. Plenty of room and lots of fun to drive. And looks, yeah you get lots of looks in it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2008 smart for two

by bhavn kid from cary,NC on Sat Jan 31 2009

I have been familiar with the Smart car since it was called the Swatch car- it is a proven platform in Europe and was only reluctantly configured for the States. I have an "orphan" - which I only drive in manual mode - which is fun-it gets great gas mileage and is agile enough to move in and out of traffic. The interior is acceptable- the 6 CD changer is nice and the speakers operate very good for such a small car. The car does not travel well on rough roads - over bumps - with the short wheelbase it is difficult to ride smooth ---however it is tolerable- noise level is o.k. - but also tolerable. Overall - it is a fun car to drive - ad has enough space to bring home the groceries and run the errands and unbelievably easy to park!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most fun I have ever had driving

by Car Buff from Chicago, IL on Thu Jun 23 2011

Want heads to turn? Want to have fun driving? Want to park almost anywhere? What reliability? Want great gas mileage? Want a car priced below $15,000. Consider the Smart Car by Mercedes Benz

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car, unbelievable gas mileage, comfortable

by Rosie's Dad from Branson, MO on Fri Aug 28 2015

Love it, love it. Just bought it used with 29,000 miles. Very roomy inside, gorgeous red interior, comfortable seats, great styling. 6 disc stereo, power windows, locks. I have always wanted one, don't drive far, don't need a hulking excessive car .... 95% drive alone but this ForTwo is good on highway ... a bit loud but no more than a Mirage or Accent. I love the transmission, if you drive in the city and do not floor the accelerator, then it shifts smoothly, and has plenty of power. I live in a mountain area and it has plenty of power and torque. 42 mpg so far and the style and build quality are great. I WILL get another one, maybe the convertible next. The 2016 will be a bit larger with larger tires and more room, but I prefer this body and interior. It's a city car so drive it as such and you will love it too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it, love it, love it

by Smarter than the average bear from Mooresville, NC on Thu Oct 20 2011

This is the car I have wanted since I saw one in France in 2005. Now I have a yellow convertible and I could not be happier with it. I added wood tone skins to the dash, etc. and they really dress it up. It really is an eye-catcher and I get stopped all the time for information on it. I highly recommend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car, I & everyone else loves it.

by Smart Lady from Gap, PA on Tue Jan 18 2011

Feel of dramatic shifting takes some getting used to, car is not very good in snow/ice, obviously, otherwise super fun to drive, good pick up for speed when needed, unbeatable turning radius, park virtually anywhere. I love this car. I have the Smart For Two, Passion Cabriolet & recommend it to anyone who questons me about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2008 smart ForTwo

When the Smart ForTwo hits showrooms in January 2008, there won't be anything quite like it on the market. It's nearly one-third shorter, bumper-to-bumper, than the next smallest car around, the Mini Cooper, and it comes nicely equipped for around $13,500. For people with extra cash to burn, it could very well become a hot impulse purchase.

Before you rush out to buy one, consider some inherent limitations. The ForTwo is no substitute for a subcompact Toyota or Hyundai — it's a two-seat runabout that's groomed for urban driving, and in the city it should stay. U.S. testing agencies haven't yet conducted crash tests, and the mid-30s gas mileage estimate carries an asterisk: Smart recommends premium... Read More