2017 BRZ

Consumer Reviews

2017 Subaru BRZ

$25,495 - $29,695  MSRP Range
2017 Subaru BRZ

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

20 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2017 Subaru BRZ?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

if your 5.8 or shorter

by the night shift from San Jose, CA on Tue May 16 2017

I'm 5' 10" - I didn't notice at first - but this car is designed for a slightly shorter driver. overall, I rate the very good. well balanced and fun to drive. I find it a little under powered, not by much but a noticible (fuel efficent) start off, sporty - and for sure - we all look at each others 86/BRZ as we notice each other - it's Subie Fan Club your buying into.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic all around sorts coupe

by rallycat on Fri Jul 28 2017

No, it's not a torque monster, super fast car. It is a quick, responsive, absolute hoot to drive in great little package. Comfortable for two people for long trips. Just an all around fun car to own. This is the second BRZ that I have owned and the 8th Subaru. Both BRZ's have been reliable and trouble free cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Funniest car I've owned

by Subaru brz/imprezza from pefferlaw on Fri May 26 2017

I had spent a year researching what sports car I wanted as my 3rd vehicle. It's fun, lightweight and great for the country roads where i live. I would not recommend this car as a city driver just because it's no fun going stop light to stop light. Also I would not recommend as a only vechile because it is small and the back seats can't be used by normal sized humans.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun driving car

by Big Al from Clearwater Fl. on Fri Jun 29 2018

Great car. It comes with thr performance package. A good upgrade for the price. You get keyless entry. You just place you hand in the handle and it unlocks even on the passenger side. Auto climate with dual zones. All lighting is bright LEDs. I am 6.3 feet tall and fit. A helmet will just brush the roof. The tachometer is in the right spot with redline at the top with adjustable shift light and tone. Not a perfect car but close enough. Good gas mileage about 24 in town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just a fun car

by Racecar from on Mon Mar 27 2017

It's a great car to get around and is fun to drive. Definitely not a practical family car, but gets good gas mileage when you want to, and can be thrown into corners for oodles of fun. Also appreciate more options being offered over the 86.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun, sleek and great ride

by Carafun from Chattanooga, TN on Fri Jul 28 2017

I absolutely love my BRZ, its a sleek and excellent handling sports car and it didn't break the bank. The car handles well, great turn radius, comfortable and smooth ride. Sounds good and the sport button gives the car a kick when wanted or needed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely love my brz!

by @Tony_brz15 from Westminster, Colorado. on Fri May 12 2017

This is the most fun to drive car for the money on the market. The performance package comes with brembo brakes (incredible), upgraded struts and a few other goodies that make it feel like a true sports car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My fun daily driver

by RachelBrz from Orlando, FL on Sun Dec 31 2017

I love it. I just got it. The car handles well, has great pickup & go, the trunk is a nice size at the sacrifice of the back seats, (which is fine by me) it’s beautiful inside & out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best feeling interior as if it was a cockpit

by Bradley on Tue Oct 24 2017

This car handles amazingly but lacks in hp which is known from the beginning but represents a comfortable sporty attitude and feels as if it could fly but won’t get you a huge ticket. Haha.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not bad, not great.

by brzowner from Rochester Hills, MI on Tue Mar 20 2018

I realize this vehicle is economically priced but I feel it could be better in a few different ares; Horsepower, Engine Noise, Stereo, Navigation, etc...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2017 Subaru BRZ

The verdict:

Changes to the BRZ's suspension make it sharper and composed at the limit, but the engine doesn’t live up to the promise of the rest of the package and the car lacks the convenience and safety features expected in new cars.

Versus the competition:

Compared with its twin, the Toyota 86, the BRZ is now the sharper of the two and offers a more spirited drive.

The 2017 Subaru BRZ is still an outlier in Subaru's otherwise all-wheel-drive lineup, but I'm glad; the market for affordable rear-wheel-drive performance cars is already too thin.

For the new model year, the BRZ gets a long list of updates both styling and mechanical in nature. It's the biggest set of changes for the BRZ since its inception in 2014. To compare the new BRZ with the 2016 version, click here. It's sold in two trim levels, Premium and Limited.

The Subaru BRZ was developed alongside the Scion FR-S, which is now sold as the Toyota 86 (the Scion brand has been discontinued). The two had a lot in common, sharing the same engine and wheelbase, and for 2017 the... Read More