2006 Forester

Consumer Reviews
2006 Subaru Forester

Change Vehicle
4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

21 Reviews
2006 Subaru Forester
4.1 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car - Hooray for CarTalk

by Trina from East Hampton, NY on January 17, 2010

I actually bought my Subaru BECAUSE of something I remembered from an old Cartalk radio show. The problem had to do with someone wanting to get a car that handled well in bad weather and was easy to get into and out of, for an elderly person with a hip replacement -- and for her lifting groeries in and out. I tucked that info away and decided, after 2 years of my beloved Toyota Camry sliding off the snowy back roads where I lived, that the Subaru might be a good change. After a lifetime of Toyotas (this was my 4th in 30-something years) I test drove and bought the Forrester and fell in love. Finally, I could see over my shoulder in all directions, because of the windows. It held well in ice and snow and rain. It was a cinch to put packages in the back and lift them out, without having to bend deep into a trunk. And still looks brand new, after 4 years ... I see the new Forresters look like true SUVs (mine looks like a "baby" SUV next to all the huge truck-like SUVs) so I don't know what I'll do, if I ever have to replace it...but with only 35,000 miles on it (driving it every day, mostly locally), I hope it lasts FOREVER.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great handling and reliability, not for families.

by Forester Driver from Columbus, Ohio on January 12, 2009

I've had my forester for a couple years now and have been very satisfied with the handling and reliability. The absolute best part about this car is the overall road handling. I don't really like driving bigger SUV's and this drives more like a car. The standard AWD and antilock breaks enables this car to tear it up even on snowy and wet roads. I usually find myself trying to manuever around other cars stuck on the road. I feel like this is truly a safe vehicle in any condition. Another selling point is that the gas milage is amazing. If I wanted to be picky, there are just a few things I don't care for: exterior still too box-like (but better than it used to be). Interior design seems thin and not durable. The seats stain too easily from water. Not a whole lot of features (my mazda has audio controls built into the wheel). Not confortable for long rides, very stiff. Unfortunetally, my wife is pregnant and I have to get rid of this car for a bigger SUV. I don't think there's enough room in the back for a child seat and everything else. A parent friend of mine who had this car also agreed and said that his son was too close to the back of the front seats. I with I could keep this car because of everything good I mentioned, but it's not big enough. My complaints are probably too cosmetic and you may not have a family. The things you really want in a car, like handling and reliability, are excellent in the forester.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I have every owned!

by Busy Mom from Fort Worth, TX on August 21, 2007

I have driven many different cars (Pontiac, VW, Honda, Kia, Mazda...), and hands down, this is the best car I have ever owned! I am completely sold on Subaru and will probably never own anything else. The 2006 Forrester is cute, spacious (enough for 2 parents, a preschooler, an infant and ALL of their stuff), comfortable, fuel efficient and, above all, safe. What more do you need? Trust me, there is a reason that Subaru is called the "best kept secret in the car industry!"

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It will do anything

by Auenv96 from Orlando, FL on May 4, 2009

Ive had my forester about 3 years. The only problem Ive had is with the gas door other than that the car has been flawless. Believe me when I say it will do anything. I've pulled an 18 ft pontoon boat out of a lake with out the benefit of a ramp...didn't spin at all; towed 1/2 pallets of sod; moved a 4 bedroom house; and I use it as a work vehicle taking it to constructions sites where I have to drive thru deep sand and ruts...the awd is a life saver. Who needs a gas guzzling truck?? Just get a Forester and an 8x4 utility trailer and go to it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Practical yet lots of fun to drive.

by mrkevin from New Jersey on February 13, 2009

I've had my had my '06 Forester xt for 3 years and have loved every minute of it. Having a 2 year old it has been practical for hauling strollers and such, yet the 230 horses in the turbo make it pretty quick off the line. The all wheel drive is great for the curvy roads and the New Jersey winters. The biggest problem I have is it is still a small car, or suv I should say. The back seat leg room is quite tight for an adult. But not too bad to live with. But for the money, it is an all-around great car to have.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

one for all uses with NO EXCEPTION

by dim from Athens Greece on November 23, 2006

with few words if the only thing u care of is show off dont buy it.if u care about a thrilling driving experience get the xt turbo.U will make a few porsche cayenne drivers run for cover while u will also be able to drive on almost every surface with maximum 4wd safety.i hated the car when i first saw it.i took it for a test drive and i bought it immediately!Speed?...breathtaking.Rain?...walk in the park.Tarmac?...Perfect!!!As for styling... ok it suffers big.Beleive me i used to own a mazda RX8!not only i havent regreted my choice i totally love it!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

LOVE This Car!

by JAVA LOVER from Appalachian's, Virginia on August 8, 2007

My friends teased me for buying a "soccer mom's car." The exterior styling CAN be vamped with the optional accessories Subaru offers. As for quality, SECOND TO NONE! For years I drove JEEPs due to the harsh winters of this area. I must say the all-wheel-drive impresses me. The transition into this car was effortless, I love the comfort and handling! I recommended this car to a friend who purchased her own and loves it. This car does not feel like a typical "family wagon."

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Amazing Car, Expensive Maintenance

by mountaindriver from on April 18, 2017

I absolutely love this car, but the cost of purely routine maintenance has been astounding. There have been very few 'freak' repairs (ie things breaking or going wrong), so in that way it has been thoroughly reliable. But what has also been reliable is the routine maintenance (every 15-25,000 miles) costs me an arm and a leg. This, as well as no longer needing two AWD cars led me to sell it. If you can afford the maintenance, it's an incredible vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Love My Subaru

by I Love My Subaru from MI on November 21, 2008

It's the best car I ever owned! The AWD is fantastic! I didn't mind driving it in the snow because I knew I'd get where I wanted to go. I love my Subaru!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Car

by Subaru Enthusiast from Chico, CA on November 25, 2006

Amazing pick-up, pulls your guts back if you really give it gas, 5/5 handling, town car to off-road 4WD, high clearance as well, perfect car for anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2006 Subaru Forester