2007 Forester

Consumer Reviews

2007 Subaru Forester

$2,758 - $11,022  MSRP Range
2007 Subaru Forester

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

32 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2007 Subaru Forester?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever!

by Subaru Lover from Vestal, NY on Mon Oct 01 2012

This is my second Subaru Forester and the first one (a 1997 model) is still running with over 200,000 miles. The 2007 model has lots of extra features plus a smoother ride and sleeker design. Great for the family and very comfortable on long trips. Love the heated seats and AWD in the wintertime. Best car ever!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best of many cars that I've owned!

by Beefbone from Portland, Oregon area on Sat Jan 27 2007

The 2007 Forester XT (turbo) is little-changed from the 2004 that I still own. When looking for a new car in 2003, I wanted a high-performance sports car, but really needed an SUV... room for occasional additional passengers, good ground clearance, and lots of cargo space. Other requirements: reliability, precise steering & handling, excellent visibility, good build quality, decent fuel mileage, reasonable cost... virtually impossible to find all these things in any one vehicle. There's no other SUV that has the performance that this offers, with the exception of the 450 horsepower Porsche Turbo Cayenne, which costs around $100,000, weighs twice as much, and isn't as much fun to toss around on the road. I would have liked an automatic, but - if you have a dynamic driving style - Subaru's auto is awful... sluggish, balky, unrewarding. With a good auto - such as in the Honda Accord - if you want a bit more scoot, gentle pressure will induce a smooth downshift. But this Subaru's auto resolutely refuses to downshift under pressure until you floor it. It thinks for a moment; then blasts off with the turbo in full song... not a graceful transition. The 5-speed manual is good, but needs one more gear. The turbo engine demands premium gas; my 2004 gets about 19 miles/gallon around town, 22-25 MPG on the open road. Some of the so-so mileage is due to the friction of the all-wheel drive, which I wouldn't want to give up. The capacity for maniacal acceleration is intoxicating. Torque is prodigious. Once I hit 5th gear on the interstate, there's no more shifting unless the road gets plugged up. Even passing on a long, steep uphill grade can be a 5th gear proposition. I have to force myself to drive "reasonably." The 2007 Forester has somewhat "taller" gears that minimally reduce acceleration, while improving fuel mileage a bit. The structure is tight. No rattles. The handling is a compromise; the car can be made to corner flatter, but then it wouldn't have the superb control that it has on rough roads. The strong structure, air bags and other design features make this the safest small car you can be in if you have to get into an accident. Its many other convenience items, reliability, and lack of pretence help make this the best vehicle (of many, including Mercedes and BMW) that I've ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I have owned

by Greywolf from Hickory, NC on Wed Mar 02 2016

Great car runs good, handles good, gets great gas mileage. Has good lines, interior in good shape for age. The price was very fair.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT FOR SNOW AND ICE

by SUBARU FAN from Pleasant Prairie, WISCONSIN on Sat Nov 18 2017

ALL-WHEEL DRIVE - SITS ON THE ROAD LIKE A JAGUAR OR THE BMW. GAS SAVER, NO ISSUES FOR TEN YEARS. EXCELLENT FOR LONG TRIPS.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value for the money I paid for this car!

by Subie Fan from PARAMUS on Sat May 05 2018

This is the most reliable vehicle I've had. I had Honda Accord, Camry, and a 4-Runner before. This car does what it supposed to on demand, acceleration is precise, starts every morning, performs great in icy and snowy condition that I trusted in all kinds of bad weather in northeast America. Took it for long trip and never failed. I did have head gasket replaced 3 years ago and I was told recently that it started leaking again but after checking out other luxury cars like BMW, Mercedes, I just can't part with this old friend because it gives me the best value for 180,000 miles and still going strong.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car, not much backseat leg room!

by Dan from Ellington, CT on Mon Dec 11 2017

Bought this car with 160,000 miles on it. Wanted something with AWD that was affordable. Car has been solid with just a few things needed here and there as would be expected with a car with this kind of mileage. It has a beige interior which always looks dirty. There is very little backseat leg room when the front seats are all the way back. It's great with adults in the front seat and no one (or small kids) in the back seat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable car.

by Vanessakp from Richmond Hill, NY on Wed Aug 02 2017

This vehicle is very reliable. It is good for a small family. One thing I especially liked was the fact that it was 4 wheel drive. As a mom who is always up and down with the kids, I found this feature to be very very useful especially when there is a lot of snow out. There is also plenty of cargo room.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun Car

by Airefuel from New Jersey on Sat Sep 16 2017

Has met my needs. Gets good gas mileage. Lots of room. Good all around AWD car. Getting 28 to 30 MPG.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Subaru saved my life

by Babuska from Upstate New York on Wed Jul 19 2017

I bought a 2007 Subaru Forester used. I only had it for 3 years and absolutely loved it. very much in control in all weather situations. I was in a collision Subaru was totaled, I came out with minor injuries. My next car will still be Subaru.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2.5 XT Limited is a powerful small suv!

by SUV driver from California on Tue Jan 08 2008

I read the 2 negative reviews, but they must be reporting on some other vehicle, the forrester is a very solid, dependable, comfortable car. I'm 6' 1", and i can actually stretch out, although barely, in our forrester. The only complaint I have is the road noise is worse than i expected, but only when we are on rough roads, on smooth roads it's quiet, but i expected it to be. However, the good news is i get better gas mileaage than rated, and i can use 89 octane, instead of the 91 octane Subaru recommends. They recommend it to give a power boost, but since i don't drive it hard the 89 works just fine, even in the mountains. The things to take from the negative reports is don't to be pressured into a sale, make sure you have really researched the new vehicle you are going to buy, test drive several, and then take some time off before you make that all important purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2007 Subaru Forester


When I was growing up in the '70s and '80s, my dad was what is now referred to as an "early adopter." It seemed like we always had the latest gadget or gizmo around the house; we had the first portable tape player and the first remote-control television on our block, and we also had one of the first Turbo Hoover vacuums. What was the Turbo Hoover, you ask? Well, it was an upright vacuum with a handle that had about an inch of give forward and backward. When pushed forward, the vacuum's turbo would kick in, propelling it ahead and, in the process, yanking my arm out of its socket. When pulled back, the Turbo Hoover would back over my toes at high speed. The Hoover's not-so-saving grace was a red button... Read More