Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1996 Legacy

Consumer Reviews

1996 Subaru Legacy

$529 - $4,729  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

13 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Subaru Legacy?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Superb

by Surfer Drew from northeast Indiana on Sun Dec 28 2008

I bought mine (Brighton Wagon/manual/AWD) new and it's proved itself. I'm almost to 190k (Dec 2008) and have no plans to switch. Mine is pretty bare-bones (no electric windows or locks, etc), but that just means less things to go wrong :) My main requirements were: 1) enough room to haul my windsurfing gear or my music gear 2) enough room to sleep comfortably (laying down) 3) fun to drive and good in snow 4) reliable I have had to put some money into repairs over the years (just replaced the fuel pump this year, but it was very easy), but nothing out of the ordinary. I've driven it across the country twice and through lots of snowdrifts :) I'd buy another if I needed to!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Wagon

by Small budget Big Expectations Shopper from Palm Springs, CA on Thu Apr 19 2007

In this age of SUV's this is a great alternative. Great gas mileage considering its AWD. Less valve noise than the old Sub's. Extra head room for taller people. Very utilitarian but comfortable at the same time. Gets better gas mileage than my 91 Accord. Over all thumbs up.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Good Second Car

by Subie Nut from West Coast, Canada on Thu May 29 2008

Bought a '96 Outback in Jan 08. Replaced oil/filter, water pump and cam seals. Otherwise a rock solid, reliable car. Very comfortable and versatile. Not too many 12 year old cars can attest to it! Nice addition to our '08 Forester.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Built to Last

by Joe in PA from Central PA on Tue Aug 11 2015

1996 Outback with 2.2 engine and 5 speed manual. Bought at 156,000 miles. Just retired it at 263,000 miles. Still has life left in it, but needs several minor to moderate repairs and I decided to let it go for $400 rather than fix it. Parts replaced in the 9 years I've owned it: ac compressor, alternator, brake calipers, wheel bearings, some exhaust parts, clutch, and timing belt. Considering the high mileage, I'd say this car has been very reliable. It's never left me stranded. Take note that I got the 2.2 because this engine does NOT have head gasket problems. I got 24-25 mpg in mixed driving. Highly recommended.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great all-around vehicle

by Guicho from DC Suburbs on Wed Aug 22 2007

Does everything - from weekend trips cycling, camping, kayaking to hauling around the kids and groceries.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by Jeremy The Subie Guy from Traverse City on Tue Jan 16 2018

Reliable, well taken care of. It got me from point “A” to point “B” and made a great vehicle for delivery driving for my job.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the best car to have in mn in the winter

by ajay from mn on Sun Jun 10 2012

i pay $1000and spend another $500 in parts and i got almost 50,000 mile out of her. 1996 subaru legacy L sedan

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car helped shape who i am!

by i only have eyes for subaru from on Wed Apr 01 2009

for me this car was more than a car. it was a lifestyle. for all the years and all the hundreds of thousands of miles i put on her, she was SOLID! from mountain back-roads to urban gridlock, she was my girl. she had her quirks, but i loved her so much i can't even bring myself to reveal her adorable flaws. she had 220000 mi on her and was ready for another 100000 when she reached the end of her life in a no-fault accident. i know i will never find a car that can compare to this one (though, as you can probably tell, a lot of her value was sentimental). i would recommend this car to anyone and EVERYONE!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very relibale

by sligophil from meridian idaho on Sun Jun 24 2018

great in the snow and great on gas also low on maintenance and easy to get parts for and has low maintenance costs and always starts

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A war horse with wheels

by Seasalt14 from Westchester NY on Tue Nov 28 2017

When my step-dad passed away I got his old Subaru . It had taken a beating between him and my mom. It was my first car and at $1. It was great. For the number of years on the road this Subaru was a trooper. I traded it in 5 years now and got $1000. For a 21 years old car? That is great! I wish they made sexy looking cars. I would buy a Subaru.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1996 Subaru Legacy

For those want the flexibility of a four-wheel-drive vehicle without losing the handling and economy of a compact car, the Subaru Outback offers a go-anywhere compromise.

Basically a jacked-up all-wheel-drive Legacy wagon with some muscular body cladding and oversized wheels and tires, the Outback has the adventurous look so desired by sports-utility drivers without the size or gas-hog expense.

Subaru has a well-nurtured reputation as a quirky, Granola-munchin' kind of automaker, and the Outback engenders some of that appeal (for those who find that appealing).

The Outback is certainly individualistic, and sets its driver apart on highways crowded with Explorers and 4Runners.

Subaru is... Read More