1998 Subaru Legacy
1-10 of 14 reviews
Test drive review

Solid, Reliable Car

by from Ann Arbor, MI on August 12, 2010

We bought our '98 Legacy used in 2004. It's the Brighton model, the cheapest model, but it's almost exactly what we wanted. Fuel economy has always been great, it's easily roomy enough for our family ...
We bought our '98 Legacy used in 2004. It's the Brighton model, the cheapest model, but it's almost exactly what we wanted. Fuel economy has always been great, it's easily roomy enough for our family of four, and it's been rock solid reliable. We regularly haul a trailer with it, load up the roof rack with two tandem bikes, it has tremendous traction in all conditions, and we took it from Michigan to Fargo ND last year with no problems. Terrific car.
Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Great Car !!

by from Delaware on September 19, 2010

Owned a 97 Subaru Legacy GT2.5. Awesome looking car, Great gas mileage avg 24 MPG combined highway and city driving. Love this car during the snow day. So easy to drive making a deep snow road an easy...
Owned a 97 Subaru Legacy GT2.5. Awesome looking car, Great gas mileage avg 24 MPG combined highway and city driving. Love this car during the snow day. So easy to drive making a deep snow road an easy task to do :) Cheap maintenance but beware of the Blown Head in 2.5 Engine thru 98 or perhaps 99. New Model was out for 00 Model. Check the car for excessive oil leaks in engine compartment as well as if there s any coolant leak into the engine ... Big $$$ Replaced it with a volvo v70 ..i miss how cheap Subaru can be :(
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

205,000 miles and still like new.

by from Phila., Pa. on December 1, 2011

I love the way it looks. Real GT LIMITED. Nothing stops it.. I had it since 2002 w/ 98.000 routine maintenance. 2 timing belts,head gaskets, catalytic converters,2 CV joints, 1 rear wheel baring and a...
I love the way it looks. Real GT LIMITED. Nothing stops it.. I had it since 2002 w/ 98.000 routine maintenance. 2 timing belts,head gaskets, catalytic converters,2 CV joints, 1 rear wheel baring and a couple of other things. And I will continue to replace whatever it needs. Body is white and very shiny, tinted windows, High power stereo system All leather and the best thing is I don't have a car note. Thank You.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

This car will fail!

by from Berkeley, CA on January 14, 2008

Google "Subaru head gasket" before you join the head gasket gang like thousands of others who have had to pay thousands at around 80k.
Google "Subaru head gasket" before you join the head gasket gang like thousands of others who have had to pay thousands at around 80k.
Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Does not recommend this car

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

A cautionary tale

by from Stevens Point Wisconsin on May 14, 2014

A cautionaly tale...keep in mind I like Subaru's. This Legacy Outback is the second one we have owned. Unfortunately we got burned on this car by buying from a non-Subaru (Chevrolet) dealer used. The ...
A cautionaly tale...keep in mind I like Subaru's. This Legacy Outback is the second one we have owned. Unfortunately we got burned on this car by buying from a non-Subaru (Chevrolet) dealer used. The car supposedly had 98,000 on it, a trifle for a Subaru but... The first week we discovered the brake calipers were locking up and the discs worn beyond repair. It all had to be replaced. The next thing that happened was it kept eating O2 sensors. We found out in the process that that someone had installed a 2.2 liter engine. The last 2.2 model year was 1996. Oh, did I mention the windshield was leaking? Good money after bad we just kept coaxing money out of our wallets. The final straw was the timing belt self-destructed with a symphony of metal slamming into metal inside the hapless engine. The bottom line is Carfax doesn't disclose much that is useful. In Wisconsin lemon laws only apply to new not used cars and yes and the dealer disclosure is effectively useless. Moral of the story. Have YOUR mechanic check the vehicle BEFORE you take ANY dealers word and if they even blink WALK AWAY! Even a trusty reliable tough Subaru has the potential to be a nasty surprise. Never ever repeat EVER neglect to have that timing belt changed after 60,000 miles. At $600 it is a lot cheaper than $4500+ for a "new" engine. If it fails your engine is toast right then and there. The good part? Even in the throes of agony this beast still made it from point A to point B in a winter of record snow without blinking and until the final death rattle started like a shot at -30 below.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Safe yet stylish

by from Topeka, KS on January 6, 2009

Late-90s Legacies brought luxury to a spartan AWD mountain climber. Look for well-maintained GT LTDs.
Late-90s Legacies brought luxury to a spartan AWD mountain climber. Look for well-maintained GT LTDs.
Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

The best winter car out there!

by from Wisconsin on November 29, 2008

This is my 3rd Subaru and I'll buy a 4th when this one goes. Handles very comfortably in snow / ice / sleet conditions. Great performance all-around.
This is my 3rd Subaru and I'll buy a 4th when this one goes. Handles very comfortably in snow / ice / sleet conditions. Great performance all-around.
Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Second best car ever

by from Canada on May 25, 2016

Lasted me up to 268 723,7km... it did it's job. Just got a 2010 impreza, hope it will last as long. Best car ever, Subaru legacy station wagon 1992, 328 203km
Lasted me up to 268 723,7km... it did it's job. Just got a 2010 impreza, hope it will last as long. Best car ever, Subaru legacy station wagon 1992, 328 203km
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

So stable in snow

by from Denver,CO on April 21, 2008

I think the look of this year's GT are very unique. It handles nicely in mtn. corners and always starts up. It digs in and grips when you need to accelerate. Great on Gas to
I think the look of this year's GT are very unique. It handles nicely in mtn. corners and always starts up. It digs in and grips when you need to accelerate. Great on Gas to
Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Does recommend this car

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Still running perfectly

by from Missouri on May 21, 2007

After 120,000 miles, often over-loaded on Mexican roads, the only repair besides normal maintainence was $125 when the rear lights refused to turn off. That's it. Great in the snow and mud and rain.
After 120,000 miles, often over-loaded on Mexican roads, the only repair besides normal maintainence was $125 when the rear lights refused to turn off. That's it. Great in the snow and mud and rain.
Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Does recommend this car

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
See Model Details

Similar Models

Select up to three models to compare with the 1998 subaru legacy