1998 Legacy

Consumer Reviews
1998 Subaru Legacy

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

17 Reviews
4.1 out of 5 starsComfort
3.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.1 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Solid, Reliable Car

by KJMCLark from Ann Arbor, MI on August 12, 2010

We bought our '98 Legacy used in 2004. It's the Brighton model, the cheapest model, but it's almost exactly what we wanted. Fuel economy has always been great, it's easily roomy enough for our family of four, and it's been rock solid reliable. We regularly haul a trailer with it, load up the roof rack with two tandem bikes, it has tremendous traction in all conditions, and we took it from Michigan to Fargo ND last year with no problems. Terrific car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

205,000 miles and still like new.

by hooked on Subaru from Phila., Pa. on December 1, 2011

I love the way it looks. Real GT LIMITED. Nothing stops it.. I had it since 2002 w/ 98.000 routine maintenance. 2 timing belts,head gaskets, catalytic converters,2 CV joints, 1 rear wheel baring and a couple of other things. And I will continue to replace whatever it needs. Body is white and very shiny, tinted windows, High power stereo system All leather and the best thing is I don't have a car note. Thank You.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A cautionary tale

by snowboy from Stevens Point Wisconsin on May 14, 2014

A cautionaly tale...keep in mind I like Subaru's. This Legacy Outback is the second one we have owned. Unfortunately we got burned on this car by buying from a non-Subaru (Chevrolet) dealer used. The car supposedly had 98,000 on it, a trifle for a Subaru but... The first week we discovered the brake calipers were locking up and the discs worn beyond repair. It all had to be replaced. The next thing that happened was it kept eating O2 sensors. We found out in the process that that someone had installed a 2.2 liter engine. The last 2.2 model year was 1996. Oh, did I mention the windshield was leaking? Good money after bad we just kept coaxing money out of our wallets. The final straw was the timing belt self-destructed with a symphony of metal slamming into metal inside the hapless engine. The bottom line is Carfax doesn't disclose much that is useful. In Wisconsin lemon laws only apply to new not used cars and yes and the dealer disclosure is effectively useless. Moral of the story. Have YOUR mechanic check the vehicle BEFORE you take ANY dealers word and if they even blink WALK AWAY! Even a trusty reliable tough Subaru has the potential to be a nasty surprise. Never ever repeat EVER neglect to have that timing belt changed after 60,000 miles. At $600 it is a lot cheaper than $4500+ for a "new" engine. If it fails your engine is toast right then and there. The good part? Even in the throes of agony this beast still made it from point A to point B in a winter of record snow without blinking and until the final death rattle started like a shot at -30 below.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safe yet stylish

by 3 Burus Owned from Topeka, KS on January 6, 2009

Late-90s Legacies brought luxury to a spartan AWD mountain climber. Look for well-maintained GT LTDs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still running perfectly

by Anthropologist from Missouri on May 21, 2007

After 120,000 miles, often over-loaded on Mexican roads, the only repair besides normal maintainence was $125 when the rear lights refused to turn off. That's it. Great in the snow and mud and rain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So stable in snow

by Subluva from Denver,CO on April 21, 2008

I think the look of this year's GT are very unique. It handles nicely in mtn. corners and always starts up. It digs in and grips when you need to accelerate. Great on Gas to

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best winter car out there!

by Anne from Wisconsin on November 29, 2008

This is my 3rd Subaru and I'll buy a 4th when this one goes. Handles very comfortably in snow / ice / sleet conditions. Great performance all-around.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second best car ever

by Kloi0510 from Canada on May 25, 2016

Lasted me up to 268 723,7km... it did it's job. Just got a 2010 impreza, hope it will last as long. Best car ever, Subaru legacy station wagon 1992, 328 203km

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car !!

by V70Cub from Delaware on September 19, 2010

Owned a 97 Subaru Legacy GT2.5. Awesome looking car, Great gas mileage avg 24 MPG combined highway and city driving. Love this car during the snow day. So easy to drive making a deep snow road an easy task to do :) Cheap maintenance but beware of the Blown Head in 2.5 Engine thru 98 or perhaps 99. New Model was out for 00 Model. Check the car for excessive oil leaks in engine compartment as well as if there s any coolant leak into the engine ... Big $$$ Replaced it with a volvo v70 ..i miss how cheap Subaru can be :(

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

love is not cheap

by Saint from Cleve Oh on July 30, 2010

I recently bought this year and model for my son for winter driving. It is extremely great for snow, but the joy did not last long. The car lasted 6 months, It is now heading to the scrap yard. DO NOT BUY any 97-98 subaru w/ out knowing for sure that the head gasket has been replaced w/ the newer style gasket. The overheating from the blown gasket has warped the heads and sprung oil leaks all over. My only option is a new motor, radiator and more... Shame, my 16 year old really loved this car a lot I only wish I did my homework better and the dealer had a heart. I suspect they will occupy the chair next to lawyers in the afterlife...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2