Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2000 Legacy

Consumer Reviews

2000 Subaru Legacy

$878 - $6,434  MSRP Range
2000 Subaru Legacy

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

8 Reviews
75% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Subaru Legacy?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Solid

by NighthawkNathan from Denver, CO on Mon Sep 26 2011

My FWD Honda would always slide out and crash when going up the snow covered dirt roads to visit my parents near Twin Lake, Colorado. How let me be the first to say that AWD DOES NOT work on ice but if a little traction goes a LONG way on this car. Plus with a 5 Speed it is fun to drive. You take care of the Subbie and she will take care of you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value, Reliable Car

by Legacy Owner by Chance from Pennsylvania on Wed Oct 06 2010

I bought my Legacy when I was low on funds and without a vehicle. Have owned it for almost two years now. I've had no problems with the car at all. It gets great gas mileage for an AWD vehicle, and is built pretty solid. It may not be the most stylish car out there but certainly a great bang for your buck. Good performance in the snow too. Might not be your dream car, but is definately worth considering if you're looking for something reliable with good features and is easy on the budget.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VERY GREAT CAR

by Derrick from Accident MD on Tue Sep 20 2011

Hello, if you are like me and have drove a lot of cars/trucks but wanted a good reliable car, with AWD for snow so you aren't the poor person on the side of the road freezing to death. Then this is the car for you, what I love about the car is it have a good sized engine, comes in manual, AWD, and because of that unlike other cars with RWD/FWD that have to much power and want to slide out from under itself, the Subaru has good power, the engine is lower along with AWD so it "hugs the pavement", it has amazing handling and control. The Exterior Design isn't the best so I got a body kit for it, but the Interior is GREAT, don't get my wrong its no leather high end sports car seating, but it is very comfortable (even the hump in the back). Everything inside works great and is very nice, and easy to figure out. This is the most reliable I have ever owned, we have a 94 legacy and nothing broke on it, it just got so rusted because of all the salt damage (we get 250-300' of snow a year) that it rusted out the body so badly we couldn't tell if the seats would just fall though. Bottom line, if you want an affordable car that will last forever and AWD, with some power to it, GET A SUBARU!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, but reliability hasn't been good

by Ike from Raleigh, NC on Sun Apr 09 2017

I drove a 5 spd Legacy GT wagon for 14 years after owning a series of AWD Toyota wagons. I love the concept of the car: It is just the right size, has sharp handling, decent power, and good gas mileage. The AWD system is phenomenal: I've driven right around AWD SUVs stuck in snow and ice. The cargo capacity is great for a vehicle this size. If manufacturers still made economically priced sport wagons in this format, I'd buy one in a heartbeat. My primary complaint about the car is the amount of engine and transmission maintenance required over the years. This vintage of Subaru is notorious for head gasket problems and, at 200k miles, the car is now in need of a second set head gaskets (the first was at 120k miles). The center differential was also rebuilt around 140k miles and the manual transmission started exhibiting gear noise at 190k miles. Given the prevalence of the head gasket issue, Subaru should have covered the first set of head gaskets (they did, but only for cars with less than 100k miles - most failed shortly after that). In my opinion, they don't stand behind their product. For a more recent example, Google for the problems with oil control rings and the related class-action lawsuit. I wouldn't recommend the car to a friend unless they were comfortable with the high maintenance requirement and die-hard Subaru fans. I believe the engines in the 2005-2009 cars are much more reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned

by Mary C from PA on Sat Mar 25 2017

Bought it new and now it's 17 years old with 130,000 miles. It never broke down and I've only done maintenance repairs. It's been in a few fender benders over the years but has very little rust. I am thinking about buying a new subaru but this one runs perfectly!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great First Car

by Mommy-type 20-something from North Bay Area, CA on Sun Oct 06 2013

Got help financing my first car, I have no problems. The car handles wonderfully on the rural roads where I live, and in the town. Great gas economy for the type of car and the qualities available in the vehicle. I can't wait to go camping with my dog and my friends!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

nice car

by suburu fan from on Mon Sep 13 2010

i would recommend this car. it is a great car, especially in winter weather. its sporty, but still practical.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Better off with a new Subaru

by SubaruLover from Kent, WA on Wed Aug 25 2010

I've purchased a 2000 Subaru Legacy and a 1996 Accord and have driven each from the day I drove them off of the lot. Subaru has made significant design enhancements and improvements in overall reliability over the earlier motors. The Honda has only had routine maintenace but the 2000 Subaru has proven to be a rattle trap as well as a repair nightmare. The subaru suffers from poor motor design and frequently blows head gaskets and leaks both oil and transmission fluid due to low quality sealant products. A few years ago I had the windshield wiper motor go out as well as washer fluid pump - all a necessity in the northwest. As far as the interior, this model you sit very low, similar to that of Chevy automobiles that makes the vehicle difficult to drive and somewhat akward to view your blindspots. Electrical and rust issues are also more frequent than I would expect. At 150,000 you are best to get rid of the car and put your money into a new car and avoid the repair costs. On the plus side, the all-wheel-drive is fantastic in all weather conditions and aside from muddled handling, this vehice performs well in acceleration and braking (ABS) and gets decent gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2000 Subaru Legacy

The Subaru Legacy, always a sturdy compact but somewhat lacking in sex appeal, now comes as an attractive, sporting little sedan that loses some of that dowdy Birkenstock flavor but gains mainstream appeal.

The stylish GT Limited test car was jazzy enough to garner many favorable comments and covetous glances, a far cry from some of the clunky Subarus of the past.

Slightly larger than the last Legacy, with a more distinctive "face" and profile, the new GT is designed to convey a sporty image that it, fortunately, delivers as well.

The best part of the Legacy GT is what it has in common with all Subarus: standard all-wheel drive. Subaru has been the champion of all-wheel-drive (AWD) automobiles... Read More