2002 Legacy

Consumer Reviews

2002 Subaru Legacy

$1,459 - $7,527  MSRP Range
2002 Subaru Legacy

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

13 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2002 Subaru Legacy?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

SWEEET

by CAR GUY from LEHIGH VALLEY , PA on Wed Jun 01 2011

GREAT DEPENDABLE AND COMFORTABLE CAR THATS GOOD ON GAS AND HANDLES LIKE A DREAM! I HAVE ALREDY RECOMENDED IT TO MY FREINDS!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW

by Hoenig from Fort Madison, Ia on Mon Apr 30 2012

This is an amazing car, great acceleration, comfort, styling inside and out. VERY reliable. never had anything wrong. Just change the oil and she goes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One with the Subie

by JJAMES from Calgary Canada on Thu May 28 2015

This 2002 GT is my first car, bought 2014 January with 165,000 KM cost $5900 CAD. First impression it handled like a go-kart in a good way, fast and cuts corners like butter. I'm also 6' 3" but can still drive comfortably 4 months ago I had all head gaskets, water pump, and timing belt changed because my gaskets were blown so now the car feels faster and way smoother. ALSO 2 weeks ago I started using Premium Octane and my car has been wicked fast and even smoother! IF YOU OWN A SUBARU WITH TURBO, SPRING FOR PREMIUM I also Love the styling of the outside, its OG

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Shake... and Bake!

by Speed Daddy from Toronto ON. on Wed Jul 11 2007

I bought this car last year (2006) beautiful comfortable interior fun to drive with quite a bit a spunk thanks to the boxster engine. It handles better then any other sedan I've ever driven due to the sport suspension but mostly due to it's full time all wheel drive. The first time I booted it down a curvy on ramp in the rain I kept waiting for it to slide... didn't happen! The winter package is real useful in Canadian winters (nothing like a hot tushy) and it is pretty well equipped although electric seat ajustments on the passenger side would be nice. Starting a new family I was looking for a safe, roomy, sporty yet fuel efficient car. Ok Ok it's not that fuel efficient but still better the an SUV or a Minivan and way more fun to drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Do you want sporty, or all-around great?

by Lover of all cars from Winooski, VT on Sun Dec 12 2010

This is my second Legacy, and I can tell you it's a fine car. It's comfortable, but not luxurious. It's got plenty of torque, but it's not "fast". And it's been very, very reliable - including NEVER being stuck in the snow. I wish I'd got the Limited (leather), but it has some of my favorite cloth seats of any car. And I wish it had a turbo, but instead it has a large 4 cylinder engine which is more than fine for most. If you need a winter vehicle that doesn't cost you an arm and a leg, this will definitely do it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

granny car

by lark from on Sat Apr 28 2012

lov the car its a all around fun and exciting auto to drive very firm and supportive seats bland granny styling but handles like a sports car dont much care for the cruise control setup althouth it works just fine i bought this car for my wife and she loves it (girl car) i have 132,000 miles on it and it should go another 100,000 they last forever!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Rather dissapointing.

by zombienaut67 from Kansas City, Mo. on Sun Jan 11 2009

This was our third Subaru, and our least favorite.We needed a wagon, and bought the Legacy because the one we were looking at was a demo, and cheaper than the new Outbacks. Our wagon suffered from faulty speakers, and intermittent electrical problems it's whole life.The hvac motor went bad at 47,ooo miles and the sunroof had a whistle. It was a nice handling car and it served it's purpose, but I do not miss it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Pretty car, big let-down...

by Fatherandson from Southern Indiana on Wed Dec 22 2010

I bought this car for my wife to drive. She has gone back to school to get her masters. We had to sell her 2010 M-B GLK to afford school. We have to have all-wheel-drive to get in and out of our driveway in the winter. Always heard great things about the Subaru line-up. I've never been big on a car that feels cramped, nor was my wife, but we were trying to make sacrifices for the future. We thought we would "get used to it". We never could. It is the cheapest feeling car I've ever owed. Very small and it felt very small and dangerous when you were behind the wheel or in any of the passenger seats. No thought put into interior design of storage. Very loud with wind noise and road noise. Ours was a very loaded, one-owner, well taken care of, Legacy GT wagon. Very good mileage. Dependable. Everything worked. But at best it is basic, cheap transportation. After six months of trying to get used to it and we both hated to take it anywhere, we sold it. Good decision I think.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Ugly, loud, slow, small, absolutely the worst car

by Volvo lover from Seymour, In. on Sat Oct 16 2010

I was going back to college to get my masters and got this. It is loud, poorly designed, the windows do not have anything around them. I would never recomend it to a friend. It has no space and andvery small. Do not get this car. The o2 sensor went out on me multiple times.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent value! Low miles.

by Subaru fan on Mon Dec 11 2017

This vehicle is excellent on gas, and is very reliable. Great condition. No accidents. Very low miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2002 Subaru Legacy

We kept checking the Farmer's Almanac and the skies, hoping that a big snowstorm would help us evaluate the 2002 Subaru Legacy Outback H6-3.0 all-wheel-drive sedan. No snow, but black ice coating the roads drove the point home about this Japanese-designed, American-built car.

Unfortunately, it doesn't live up to its billing. This new edition of the Legacy Outback is basically a cheaper, stripped-down version of last year's model -- minus the vehicle dynamics control system, a feature we sorely missed on slippery roads. Lack of VDC would have been more palatable had we felt our $28,520 test car was a solid value. But next to competitors like the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord, it's only... Read More