NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 WRX

Consumer Reviews

2019 Subaru WRX

$27,195 - $31,795  MSRP Range
2019 Subaru WRX

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

24 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Subaru WRX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Most bang for the buck

by William from Detroit, MI on Fri Oct 19 2018

I bought the standard WRX (not STI) with the performance package so I have nicer wheels, sporty red brakes and Recaro racing seats. The turbo lags a bit which is cool if you like to plan ahead, however on the freeway in 5th or 6th gear I easily take over any car because the turbo is spooling up. Its a sporty car so you do feel the road which is great for a car with the handling prowess of it. Overall I am very satisfied because this car can be as sporty, tame or down right eco as you want. It truly is the a well rounded sports sedan.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive car that is better than a hot hatch

by Ponch92 from Orlando, Florida on Mon Jan 07 2019

I was looking to get something more sensible, but I found the WRX and was instantly attracted to it. It has enough room for adults in the back seat, 4 doors, a nice full trunk with fold down seats, and one heck of a fun ride. It is sensible and fun to drive, imagine that. One of the down sides (depending on who you are) is the gas mileage for the size of the car. Topping out at 29mpg, you're probably going to average around 25/26 using required premium fuel. The second down side is the ride. It is a bit stiffer than one might expect and noisy. I don't mind this at all since I prefer the "driver" feel, but if you're looking for some more comfort, perhaps look to the Honda Civic Si or the GTI from VW. I think the WRX is a great long term fun car for the money. Subaru is difficult at best to work on price with, but the value is there. I believe the WRX is better than any of the hot hatches out there, and a better value.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fun, stylish, and great performance.

by david from el paso, tx on Thu Oct 11 2018

the car is is perfect. the rims were powder coated a nice bronze/gold color which complements the silver color of the car. interior is done well. seats are comfortable, handling is spot on, dash has a lot you can customize with. performance is well awesome!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fastest Car I've Owned

by Gage Furukawa from Joliet, Il. on Thu Nov 08 2018

It's a very sporty car. I like the gear shifter with the short shift accessory and the metallic gray looks really good and matches the rims perfectly.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most enjoyable car I’ve owned

by Cody9521 from Racine, Wi on Tue Mar 19 2019

This is by far the most enjoyable car I’ve owned. I have wanted one since the first variation was released in 2015. The styling and performance are great. I can’t speak of the reliability just yet as it is brand new, but with this being the 4th running of this body style WRX with no major recalls/problems I’d say it’s pretty good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a great looking and driving car.

by PQH from Aptos, Ca. on Mon Dec 10 2018

Great ride, handles like a dream, lots of power, room for whole family, everyone gives me a thumbs up when they go by! Great buy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car overall

by Pleaseletmeknow on Wed May 29 2019

I’ve owned mine for six months and I am having a lot of fun with it. The only problems I am having can probably easily be fixed. Does anyone else have a drop in acceleration/power after hitting 4.5k to 5.5k rpm, then the acceleration picks back up after 5.5k? I can’t seem to find out why. Also the base in the speakers make the doors rattle. Aside from that I am very satisfied. Please let me know if anyone has any ideas

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Purchased for all weather interstate

by BrattyVT from Burl,VT on Thu Nov 08 2018

I live NE USA and have been driving SUVs for many past years and decided to purchase for reliable transportation interstate driving in all weather as I was kinda sick of being blown all around with my SUV. Even still during the breakin period taking it easy it's quite fast and smooth and fits my needs exactly. Asides I have always wanted one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car Buy!

by JamesMD from Edgewater, MD on Mon Mar 18 2019

Love this car blast to drive and has a lot of advance features found on much pricier models. If you haven't driven a Subaru you definitely should.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better than expected!

by John G from Santa Barbara, CA on Thu May 30 2019

This car hits every important point: style, performance, reliability, value for the money. I bought a six speed manual, Limited addition. It is absolutely awesome, this will not be my last WRX.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2019 Subaru WRX

The verdict:

The 2018 Subaru WRX has performance chops but could stand a trip to polishing school.

 

Versus the competition:

The WRX isn’t the most refined or sophisticated car, but it does have horsepower — a lot of it.

 

The 2018 Subaru WRX isn’t an immediately likable compact sports sedan. It took me a few days of thrashing on a World Rally Blue Pearl WRX Premium to scale the car’s learning curve, but once I started meshing with it, it was clear there are few cars in the $30,000 price range that combine no-drama acceleration and slot-car handling like the WRX.

For 2018, the Subaru WRX is mildly updated, with revised tuning to the suspension, power steering, manual transmission shifter and clutch. There’s also a new Performance Package with upgraded brake rotors and more aggressive front seats. These changes take the WRX further away from its roots as the 2012 Subaru Impreza, which was a practical but... Read More