2018 WRX STI

Consumer Reviews

2018 Subaru WRX STI

$27,557 - $40,177  MSRP Range
2018 Subaru WRX STI

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

31 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Subaru WRX STI?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best overall bang for the buck

by Cadure on Fri Oct 06 2017

I test drove several cars in this class and overall this was the most fun. The Golf R is refined by terribly boring and given the continued reliability of this model I pulled it off my list. The Ford Focus RS was a performer and definitely not boring but the driving position was way too tall with a really tall front cushion. Just a bizarre and really uncomfortable driving position. The interior is also lacking quality with a ton of hard plastics. The rear seat room is laughable compared to the other two cars. Reliability has been suspect as well with cracked engine blocks affecting a lot of the 2016 and 2017 versions of the Focus RS. The STI is not the fastest of the three but it has the most room, the highest reliability record, full time AWD (the Golf R is a part time system and the Focus RS's system will sometimes shut off rendering it FWD only), and best aftermarket support.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Holy fun Batman

by reid-o from Memphis on Mon Apr 02 2018

Always wanted an STi and now I finally own one! Stupidly quick and begs you to push it harder and faster - only wish the bolsters were a little snugger. Cruises well on the highway and gets reasonable gas mileage considering it's an older drivetrain and mechanical AWD. Love the headlights and that they swivel when you turn. Trunk is well sized given the size of the car. All and all I'm very pleased with the purchase and have no second guesses or buyer's remorse

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

AWD? Really

by Flyingcesar from Seattle, wa on Wed Apr 11 2018

I got the feeling that subí wants to squeeze as much as it can out of the current wrx chassis. Not much has changed over the years. Over the short time I got to drive the car this is what I've noticed that improved. The brake feel so much better. There's lots more bite to them. Also the tires I think since they are 19 inch thinner side wall it turns in quicker. As for the interior all much the same. If you want a fun drive to work stress reliever this could make for a good ride

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun on a bun

by Disco katana from Indianapolis on Wed Mar 13 2019

Four doors and all wheel drive so I was able to justify this purchase to the wife. Super fun to drive. Gas mileage is not the greatest but if that's what you're into you're probably not looking for an sti.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome drive for a few thousand more.

by Ryan_OG from Thornton, CO on Fri Jun 29 2018

I initially went to the Subaru dealership looking at the upper-end WRX’s. As the title states, for a few thousand more I got the base model WRX STI, which has a 2.5 liter turbocharged engine and a lot of other upgrades the WRX doesn’t have. It has everything I need and nothing I don’t (I didn’t need/want a sunroof). The car is beautiful inside and out, reliable and incredibly fast. I couldn’t be happier with what I got and would recommend a Subaru if you’re looking for a dependable all-wheel drive vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wrx STI 2018

by jonnygvalle from asheville nc on Thu Aug 09 2018

I bought and WRX STI 2018 and I completely love it! it is so much fun to drive and that boxer engine sounds amazing! the only thing though is that is not that great on gas but who cares I bought it to have fun. I also bought some extra modifications like the performance exhaust and short sifter over all I highly recommend this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great bang for the buck!

by BacktoSubie from Tampa, FL on Wed Feb 07 2018

While there are some shortcomings (Infotainment), the car itself is the best value you are going to get at this price point. Sure go ahead and buy a used luxury sports vehicle....you will have missed out on the raw yet comfortable nature of the Subie! So happy with my purchase!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Sharks56 from Honolulu Hawaii on Sat Oct 27 2018

I own 2007 subaru wrx and I got the chance to test drive the 2018 and 2019 STI I love. If I was able to get approval for a new car loan I would definitely buy one of these newer models. Overall great experience

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car with plenty of bells and whistles

by JBrown87 from El Paso, TX on Mon Jan 14 2019

I recently made the switch from Audi and couldn’t be happier! The manual transmission makes the drive so much more personal and the complimentary maintenance package/warranty is bar none. I wasn’t a fan of the ostentatious wing, so I went with the wing delete. The options for personalization are endless, so you never have to settle for something that’s (subjectively) an eyesore. Overall a fun, reliable AWD car that keeps the driver satisfied rain, snow, or shine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just purchased 2018 ... LOVE IT !!!

by The Kid from Orlando, FL on Thu May 03 2018

This is the "one car solution" for those who need four doors, want back seats that fold down, all-wheel drive, and performance w/stick shift. No other car on the market did for me what this car does, and it does it all incredibly. Sure, MPG isn't that great but I bought the car to drive and enjoy. From the morning commute to the grocery store to the weekend track day, I love what this car can do. Add on the STI exhaust, short-throw shifter, upgraded sound system and you'll fall in love. Not to mention how well the STI holds its value. For years I have held off on buying one because they are so expensive used until finally, I caved and bought one new. This is the only car I want, the last car I ever wish to own. LOVE IT !!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2018 Subaru WRX STI

The verdict:

The Subaru WRX STI’s rally pedigree still shines through, but the car’s performance chops don’t overcome the car’s roughness.

 

Versus the competition:

The freshened 2018 WRX STI needs a more comprehensive update and a better interior to catch up with other compact performance cars.

 

For fans of performance cars, the last couple of years have been a breath of fresh air. Sure, we lost the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution to the scrap heap of history, but we gained the Ford Focus RS in 2016, and the Honda Civic Type R finally made its U.S. debut as a 2018 model. Those two, along with the Volkswagen Golf R, are a strong set of competitors (compare them here) that really give the WRX STI a run for its money.

The Focus RS is the most performance-driven, the Type R is incredibly fun and agile, and the Golf R combines interior quality with everyday livability and good performance credentials of its own. So where does that leave the 2018 STI?

Changes for 2018

The 2018 WRX STI gets a slew of... Read More