2015 Model S

Consumer Reviews

2015 Tesla Model S

$39,611 - $66,663  MSRP Range
2015 Tesla Model S

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

35 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2015 Tesla Model S?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Run silent, run deep, run fast

by CoJo from Prospect, Ky on Sun Sep 04 2016

2014/2015, P85. Bought in August of 2015. One of the last British Racing Green (sorta) w/ grey Napa leather interior, tech package, premium sound system rear wheel drive Model S's manufactured. It was a Baltimore, Md Tesla service/sales center "halo" car. Bought and delivered through the Cincinnati, Oh Tesla service center via internet and email negotiations ... things have really, really changed. Just returned from a trip to Niagara Falls and, in the rated areas, it performed flawlessly. Stopped at all 5 of the Supercharger's identified on the Interstate route selected by Google Maps displayed on the 17" information/computer screen and Garmin turn-by-turn instructions on the dash - should have, needed to only use two. It was a very comfortable ride, love the seats and all the cabin, trunk space. Summon capability is great - especially getting in and out of tight parking situations. Adaptive cruise control and Autopilot capabilities worked very well and as advertised ... as long as you kept you hands on the wheel and pay attention to what your doing, i.e., DRIVING a car. Otherwise, especially with high performance cars - and it is one, you'll loose control and serious negative consequences will be the result. Nonetheless, for the money it cost, there are three areas that should be improved: Parallel/perpendicular parking function is too slow and requires too much space to navigate on crowded, busy streets; HVAC system vents and control need modification - vents should be larger and controls should provide an interior temperature reading they do not (and a more accurate outside temperature reading); Wheel hubs are made from base carbon steel that oxidize's (rust's) and look cheap, not inexpensive, cheap - a service ranger spray painting them silver once a year is not the answer. Fix it. Run silent = Besides road noise and a philharmonic music system- it is as quite as advertised. Run deep = 85,000 Watts of electrical power driving a 350 Watt AC (470 hp/430 lb ft of torque equivalent) motor for 265 trip miles or 240 local commuter miles, at 70 mph driving speed average (87 mpg equivalent) per 100%/90% charge respectively, via a state-of-the-art hyper-sophisticated computer system; Run fast = 0-60 in less than 4 seconds without using ludicrous mode and 155 mph max in a heart beat. Good car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safest Car Made!

by Long-term owner from Northern California on Wed Nov 25 2015

Had the car for almost 3 years now. Very reliable and has never stranded me. Taken on many long trips too. Super safe, rated better than any other vehicle, since there is no engine in front to slam into the cabin in the event of a crash. Handles great and very comfortable. Only issue is now I hate to drive in any ICE car. It really spoils you that much!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Car!!!

by Car Lover from Rockford, IL on Thu Sep 10 2015

This car is totally amazing!! It is a classic example of luxury. The large screen inside the car gives you control of everything, as well as the Tesla app. The car runs smooth, so smooth in fact, that it feels like you're going 20 mph when in reality you're going 55 mph. The range available on the 85D battery removes the worry of gas prices. There are two trunks, including one where the engine would be on a motorized car. An additional two seats can be factory- installed to add up to 7 seats total. This car is the definition of comfort and luxury. This is a car I'd recommend to anybody!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car in the World

by Tesla Driver from Phoenix on Tue May 16 2017

What's not to love? Very, very fast, smooth beyond anything you've ever driven, stellar maintenance support, and an 8-year, infinite-mile warranty on the expensive parts (battery and powertrain).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greatest Full Sized Luxury Sedan Ever Driven

by fadetoblack5 from Norristown on Wed Sep 27 2017

I have been excited by the look and technology in this car since the model was first released. I can see why Road and Track gave it a perfect rating. Not only is it beautiful but FAST. For a sedan that weighs 4,469 to 4,941 lbs it drives like a freight train but feels like a butterfly. It is an abnormal feeling the weight but not driving like it. It might be the drivetrain, 1 speed automatic or it might be the electric motor, giving the driver, quite literally, instant gratification. There is no gears to change, no compression, gas fuel getting in-between you and the (-gas) pedal. It is an amazing feeling. With all that tech and amazing, comes the price tag. When I test drive the 90d it came out to almost $100,000 for a car with the options I wanted! Not only that but the insurance doubles and the required annual maintenance is $700 about 6 times what a normal car costs. If you take into account gas vs electric (100 mile trip will cost 1/2), free supercharging (with a referral code), $7500 Federal Rebate and State Rebates you save about 10%. The price of a 75d is more reasonable, but still around $85k before intensives. If you want the best, you gotta pay.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Most Amazing Car I Have Ever Driven

by DenWal from Lenexa, KS on Fri Apr 28 2017

This Tesla is simply breath-taking. It is an amazing piece of machinery, a joy to ride in and to drive. The acceleration is out of this world, and you can tell that Tesla paid attention to every detail when they designed and built this car. WOW.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2 Years driving a Tesla S P85+

by Fab from FRANCE Paris on Fri Jan 22 2016

It s been 2 years now since i received my Tesla in France. At first you are afraid to be left on the side of the road with no battery. Then you start enjoying the amazing power under the hood and to understand that long journeys are not an issue . You finally use your Tesla as you were using any other cars before with the difference that dont pollute , you dont make any noises at night cruising in quiet places were people are sleeping. A complete fantastic experience luxury, design, class and extremely reliable. As soon as something happen you call Tesla they will give you the best customer service i have ever seen in this industry. Try it but be aware you won't be able to go back to anyhting else . And for the first comment on this site i do plug my iPhone to my Tesla every day and it does charge . False testimony obviously a a very old one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Excellent idea, with no company backing

by Previous Tesla lover from Orlando, FL on Thu Feb 11 2016

This is new technology, so there will be bumps in the road, but after you spend $100,000 + for a car, to have the company offer you $43,500 to trade it in for the new model in only two years! And you want the newest model hoping it wont have as many bugs as the one you have! I have owned a model S for 17 months and it has been in the shop SIX times. The local service center is TERRIBLE for two reasons: the man running it is incompetent and they are over run with issues because the Model S is issue prone. They take care of it 100%, but they just keep popping up. What do you think happens after 50k miles when the warranty runs out? It's too bad because I love the car and the way it drives. but to lose $60,000 in Value in 24 months means I am spending $2500 a month to drive it. Oh but Tesla wants to say I spent no money on GAS!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

14 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Most Amazing Car I Have Ever Driven

by DenWal from Lenexa, KS on Fri Apr 28 2017

This Tesla is simply breath-taking. It is an amazing piece of machinery, a joy to ride in and to drive. The acceleration is out of this world, and you can tell that Tesla paid attention to every detail when they designed and built this car. WOW.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Poor electric capibilties

by Disgruntled Owner from on Fri Nov 20 2015

for an eletric vehicle, it does not utilize it like desired. i plugged my ipod into it and hit the gas expecting my ipod to charge. the only thing that happened is the engine revved. i couldnt even access my microsoft word documents. overall it was a poor electric experience.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 52 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4