2016 Model S

Consumer Reviews

2016 Tesla Model S

$48,551 - $84,399  MSRP Range
2016 Tesla Model S

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

24 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Tesla Model S?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car on the planet

by Tesladriver on Sat Jul 08 2017

I've owned many vehicles in my life, including my share of BMWs. My Tesla Model S is hands down the best car I've ever had the privilege to drive. The all-electric power train provides instant, addicting acceleration with 100% torque at any speed, and silently! The huge 17" center touchscreen is very intuitive and responsive when it comes to controlling almost every aspect of the vehicle and drive settings. Charging is a breeze at home using a 240V outlet and the thousands of Supercharging stations across the country for road trips. And lastly, it's simply a beautiful car to look at, inside and out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Funnest car I've owned

by stone from chicago, il on Sat Apr 08 2017

Super fast, a lot of fun all around..A very luxurious ride, super quiet. Seats are comfy but access is a little difficult since its so low

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most beautiful machine on the road today

by TeslaFan from Phoenix, AZ on Tue May 02 2017

Excellent vehicle, I enjoy driving it everyday. I love how it combines style, luxury, performance and eco-friendly in one package. Can be pricey, but is worth the investment for today and the future.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car EVER - a paradigm shift in driving

by CSR from NJ on Wed May 02 2018

This is the best car I have ever owned. So much I am buying my second one. The tesla electric car is truly a paradigm shift in driving experience. Its the way cars should have been all along.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The future is here!

by Veritas3 on Sat Aug 12 2017

This car got the highest Consumer Reports rating, and you can see and feel why. It's acceleration will beat supercars of 2x or 3x the price. I handles great or you can let it drive for you. It has great styling. Storage in front and in back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most amazing car I have ever owned

by spyderfan from Fredericksburg, VA on Thu Aug 31 2017

Technologically advanced, seamless performance, I have the P100D. Comfortable, quiet and has effortless acceleration.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent but expensive

by Oliverhg from Vancouver, Canada on Fri Apr 14 2017

Great car overall. Range not an issue and Superchargers are great. Great acceleration and no need to wait for downshift. Steering feel can be better. My major issue is factory support. Had an accident with the car and had to wait two and a half month for parts.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car!!

by VeganBrandy from Noblesville, IN on Sat Aug 12 2017

The Modle S is a fantastic car that is not matched by many others out there. It is super cheap to drive, it is awesome plugging while sleeping and waking up to a fully charged ready to go 200+ mile car! It is quiet, it handles well! It is great in the snow. If I have one complaint it is that the interior could have been a bit more functional. With things like map pockets in the doors. But overall you will not be disappointed!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Stranded on FIRST drive

by Sandy on Thu Nov 02 2017

The Tesla is a great car when new, but its runs for an insane amount of money given the quality and capability. The technology is just not ready for prime time. On my first test drive, in a friends borrowed vehicle, I got stuck at an overcrowded supercharging station and had to make an unplanned 12 hour stop due to the wait for a functioning charger. The computer, which is super nicely integrated, predicted a range that was wildly optimistic saying I could make the full round trip with 49 miles to spare. In reality, I got down to 19 miles range remaining when , THANKFULLY, I pulled into a supercharging station 60% though the total trip. The cool interactive nav map told me that 0 of 5 charging stations were available, but it was the only station on the way back so I had no choice but to wait in line. If you want an honest opinion of Tesla ownership, go to a supercharging station and talk to the people in line. Everyone of them had MAJOR buyers remorse, so that did it for me. The car also had two nuisance warnings pop up over and over. Tesla had to order parts for those, a month and counting on the fix. Quality wise, the exterior body panel gaps are just awful, going from very tight (no space) to a large marble needed to roll along it--the car looks like a 1960's American car in build quality. The interior was extremely lightly built and flimsy, probably to offset the whale-like curb weight. I did like the large touch screen, though it was testimony to massive over complexity in every way they could think of. Simple is better, Tesla. Internet connectivity was very slow. Motor power of this P85 was eye-watering, certainly the fastest car I've ever driven. Its definitively the best feature of the car. Problem is, one lead foot episode sheds range like you are being sued with punitive damages. And performance drops precipitously with charge level. In general, divide the range by 2 for a realistic range estimate, which will only get worse as the lithium battery ages. Prius's are now old enough to have flat batteries and are typically are selling in the $1000-$2000 range (for the complete car, which still runs on the gas 1.3L). My guess is that Teslas will lose 95-100% of their sticker value at 7-10 years old. Another major issue is there NO BATTERY WARRANTY WHATSOEVER, contrary to popular belief. I read the small print, the 8 year "unlimited" battery warranty only replaces your old battery with a used battery of the same degraded range, so that's not a fix for expected capacity fade, which is 10%+ per year for all Li batts--just look at your phone or laptop. Most automotive-grade lithium batteries are 100% flat in 5-10 years. Model S battery replacement cost is currently $35,000 reconditioned (I would not recommend that option) or $50,000 new. Yikes, enjoy the car and turn it over fast. This is a car to lease, NEVER to own.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I?ve ever owned

by Stevet59155 from Austin tx on Sat Mar 17 2018

Beautiful, reliable, excellent performance. I would buy again in a heartbeat. The only caveat is this: if this is the only car in your family (ie your spouse doesn?t have a car), this isn?t the car for you because of range limitations w respect to out of town travel. However, most families have two cars (wife has a car), so you can always take that one on road trips - or even rent a car once a year. But really, unless you?re a car-traveling salesman, the range limitation is waaay overblown. This is a great car. I?ve owned Porsche?s and BMWs, and in a real world respective (ie driving around town), this car beats the pants of them, and nothing (except other Tesla?s) beats me off the line. You just have to drive one to ?get? how much more responsive electric power is!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3