2001 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2001 Toyota 4Runner

$671 - $11,435  MSRP Range
2001 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

23 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Top quality truck

by JOHN from scranton,pa on Sun Sep 26 2010

I have a 2001 with 117,000 with no problems and never heard of any other owners with ones either. just make sure you have the rear axle breather vents checked so there not blocked. mine were and forced the rear axle seals to leak and my back drum brakes were sticking. the job to replace the seals and new back shoes was almost 500 dollars and could have been avoided if i knew to have the vents checked and replaced the vents for 50 dollars

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Does very well what it is designed to do

by Superdad from NW British Columbia on Sat Oct 06 2007

We bought this vehicle used - 35,000 km. The odometer now reads 125,000. I have never had a problem with the vehicle and, besides normal maintenance, has not seen a mechanics wrench. Handles inclement weather very well with the stability contol and all wheel drive features. Excellent off-roader, stable towing platform. A secure, safe, fun to drive vehicle.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 4Runner

by MM from Missouri on Sun Mar 11 2018

This is a great vehicle just purchased with 170,000 miles runs and drives great look awesome would highly recommend don’t let the miles scare you these things will last

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2001 Toyota 4Runner

by MTToyota from Mesa, AZ on Tue Feb 22 2011

Fantastic vehicle. 2001 4Runner Limited. Only knock (for some) is a pretty rough ride...but if you like 4Runners you're used to a tight suspension. Very rugged. V-6 is a little underpowered in some highway situations, but is extremely reliable. Limited package is fantastic. Toyota leather interior is great. Very tough and easy to clean....but looks great. Found exactly what I was looking for on Cars.com.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car/SUV I have ever owned

by HARSHA from Houston on Thu May 17 2012

I rated only 4 Stars for comfort since the ride quality is truck-like (of course it has the truck chassis). Apart from that this is undoubtedly the most reliable car/SUV I ever owned. I heard that 2001 was the last Japan-assembled model. All you would need to do is to change engine oil regularly. In one of the 4runner forums I found a guy driving this at 300,000+ miles without a single problem. Very reliable vehicle if you can put up with slightly rough ride.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

this one

by Steve from Arnold, MD on Sun Feb 18 2007

Great truck! I couldn't be happier. I bought used and have owned for 1 year. Am getting better gas milage than claimed. Decent power and wonderful offroad.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Buy

by CC from Jacksonville, Fl on Sat Dec 18 2010

I bought used with 85K miles and now has 131K. Still runs great. No problems. If you do the normal maintenance, this car will run like a champ.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyotas best car the 2001 4runner

by 4runner from LA on Sun Dec 23 2012

I feel the 4 runner peaked with overall quality c the 2001 4 runner mechanically and cosmetically. Its the most reliable and fun to drive suv available. Especially the LIMITED

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4runner

by gasdog from otis or on Tue Nov 08 2011

I bought a great low mile 01 4runner (43000 miles) it is proving to be everything I hoped it would be. Absolutely reliable,good gas milage(20+), quite, comfortable, good power, tows my 1200 pound boat with no problems. The more I drive this truck the more things Ilike about it. I find this vehical to be a great value for the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This will be my 3rd forerunner.

by Yanks 15 from Medford, N.Y. on Mon Jan 29 2018

I have been very satisfied with the trucks that I have had in the past, and I am sure that this one will also be a great investment. I am very comfortable and have a great loyalty to the 4runners dependability, performance and value. My previous 4runner OF 14 yrs. And 300ths.miles never left ME stranded, nor failed ME. TO get my money's worth out of the vehicle would BE a under statement.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2001 Toyota 4Runner

"Sometimes you feel like a truck, sometimes you don't."

That's how Toyota division general manager Don Esmond explains why the Highlander sport-utility vehicle joins the 4Runner in the lineup for 2001.

4Runner is built off a pickup platform and as such acts more truck-like with firm ride and handling. Highlander is built off the Camry platform and behaves more like a sedan in terms of road manners.

"For those with a bias toward rugged use, we have 4Runner; for those demanding the image and versatility of an SUV but who prioritize the ride, handling and comfort of a sedan, we have Highlander," Esmond said.

With Highlander, the Toyota lineup expands to include the compact RAV4... Read More